Skip to main content
Villa von der Heydt
© wikimedia, Foto: Manfred Brueckels (CCBY SA3-0)

We keep you informed during the Corona crises:

 

About the current situation in Berlin

 

Guidelines in view of the corona epidemic in Germany

 

On our emergency page you will find all important information and updates on the current situation in Berlin. We have compiled the addresses and telephone numbers of embassies, consulates, train stations, airports and hospitals for you.

EMERGENCY SITE

Our Service Center can provide you with more information

+49 (0) 30 25 00 25

Villa von der Heydt

A hidden jewel with a turbulent history

An idyllically located Neo-Renaissance building by the Landwehrkanal – the Villa von der Heydt, whose past is anything but idyllic.

The man who built it could never have dreamt that one day his house would be used for eating shark fin soup, for illegal gambling or for making sweets. The inconspicuous villa on Reichpietschufer has an interesting and varied story to tell.

The history of the villa

One of the last remaining villas in the Tiergarten was built between 1860 and 1862 as a private residence for Baron August von der Heydt. The Neo-Renaissance building was also designed for representative purposes, with the gardens designed by the famous landscaper Peter Joseph Lenné. Later a minister under Bismarck, von der Heydt lived in his idyllically located villa until his death in 1874.

Von der Heydt’s son Eduard rented the villa to China’s first envoy to the German Empire. Once Liu Xihong moved in, opium and tobacco smoke soon rose from the villa by the Landwehrkanal. He turned the villa into a guest house, serving exotic dishes and delicacies such as dried duck, ham and shark fins.

In 1890 the property returned to the von der Heydt family. August’s great-nephew Karl was a banker and art collector. He threw wild parties and established the house as a salon for Berlin’s high society. Many poets, including Rainer Maria Rilke, were frequent visitors. After the First World War, the villa was bought by the “Allgemeiner deutscher Sportverein e.V.” (German Sports Club). The name was misleading, however, because it was really an exclusive club for illegal card games such as poker and baccarat. A raid in 1933 put a stop to the illicit shenanigans.

Destroyed and rebuilt

After the bombing of the Second World War, all that was left of the house was its basement, which was used for a time as an illegal schnapps still. Later, chocolates and sweets were made there. In 1966 the Villa von der Heydt was declared a historic building and its recovery from the troubles of the previous decades could begin. In 1971, planning began on rebuilding the upper floors and renovating the basement vaults, and the villa was restored between 1976 and 1980. Since then, it has been the official seat of the President of the Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation.

The villa is situated in the Calandrelli complex in the shade of tall old trees – the best place to view it is over a leisurely coffee in the cafeteria of the neighbouring Bauhaus archive.

Direkt zum Inhalt

Villa von der Heydt

Unscheinbares Kleinod mit turbulenter Geschichte

Ein idyllisch gelegenes Gebäude der Neorenaissance am Landwehrkanal – das ist die Villa von der Heydt, deren Vergangenheit alles andere als idyllisch war.

Der Erbauer hätte wohl selbst nicht im Traum damit gerechnet, dass in seinem Haus später Haifischflossen vertilgt, illegale Spiele gezockt und Bonbons produziert werden. Die unscheinbare Villa am Reichpietschufer hat Ihnen eine interessante und abwechslungsreiche Vergangenheit zu erzählen.

Die Geschichte der Villa

Eine der letzten erhaltenden Villen des Tiergartens erbaut sich August Freiherr von der Heydt 1860 bis 1862 als privaten Wohnsitz. Das Gebäude im Stil der Neorenaissance ist auch für repräsentative Zwecke ausgelegt. Der bekannte Gartenkünstler Lenné gestaltet hier die Grünflächen. Der spätere Minister Bismarcks von der Heydt lebt bis zu seinem Tod im Jahre 1874 in seiner idyllisch gelegenen Villa.

Von der Heydt’s Sohn Eduard vermietet die Villa an den ersten chinesischen Gesandten des Kaiserreiches. Mit Liu Xihong ziehen die Rauchschwaden von Opium und Tabak in die Villa am Landwehrkanal ein. Er macht aus der Villa einen Gasthof, in dem exotische Speisen und Delikatessen wie getrocknete Ente, Kugelschinken und Haifischflossen serviert werden.

Ab 1890 gelangt das Anwesen wieder in den Besitz der Familie von der Heydt. Der Großneffe Augusts ist Bankier und Kunstsammler Karl. Er veranstaltet rauschende Feste und etabliert das Haus zu einem Salon der Berliner Gesellschaft. Viele Dichter, darunter Rainer Maria Rilke, gehen ein und aus. Nach dem ersten Weltkrieg erwirbt der Allgemeine deutsche Sportverein e.V. die Villa. Der Name trügt, denn dahinter verbirgt sich ein exklusiver Club. Illegale Glücksspiele – Poker und Bakkarat – werden in den Räumlichkeiten gespielt. 1933 beendet eine Razzia die unerlaubten Machenschaften.

Zerstörung und Wiederaufbau

Das Haus wird im Zweiten Weltkrieg durch Bomben bis auf das Kellergeschoss zerstört. In den Nachkriegsjahren zieht hier eine geheime Schwarzbrennerei ein. Später werden hier Pralinen und Bonbons hergestellt. 1966 bekommt die Villa von der Heydt den Denkmalschutz verliehen – nun kann sich das Anwesen von den Strapazen der vergangenen Jahrzehnte erholen. 1971 beginnen die Planungen für den Wiederaufbau der oberen Etagen und die Sanierung des Kellergewölbes. Von 1976 bis 1980 wird die Villa rekonstruiert. Seitdem ist das Anwesen der Amtssitz des Präsidenten der Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz.

Die Villa liegt in der Calandrelli-Anlage, im Schatten hoher, alter Bäume – setzen sie sich am Besten in die Cafeteria des benachbarten Bauhausarchivs und betrachten Sie das Gebäude in Ruhe bei einer Tasse Kaffee.