Skip to main content
Stadtbad Oderberger
Stadtbad Oderberger Straße © GLS Campus Berlin/Stadtbad Oderberger

Stadtbad Oderberger Straße

Hygiene for everyone

At the beginning of the 20th century, swimming pools were not just for swimming. Visitors went to wash and shower.

Bathrooms were a luxury in times of the German Empire. In 1910, only ten percent of Berliners were able to shower or bath in their own homes, which was not only a lack of comfort, but also a danger to hygiene.

Ludwig Hoffmann, head of the municipal planning and building control office of Berlin, provided an answer to the rapidly growing population of the imperial capital with the construction of four municipal baths. Between 1899 and 1902, one of them was built in Oderberger Straße in Prenzlauer Berg.

Hoffmann's design was characterised by a rational organisation of the building. Right behind the entrance area, bathers would find cash desk and waiting areas for washing facilities on both sides. Separate stairwells led to the ladies' and men's changing rooms. The 63 showers and bathtubs were located in the side wings. Here, too, Hoffmann paid attention to state-of-the-art technology: the partition walls between the washing cubicles ended three centimetres above the floor – this facilitated ventilation and cleaning.

The largest part of the municipal baths was taken up by the indoor swimming pool, extending over three floors. Here, too, the building was well thought-out: instead of skylights, highlights on the side walls ensured pleasant lighting. The roof construction also prevented moisture on the ceiling.

The swimming pool itself, on the other hand, still reveals to this day that swimming in the municipal baths was only one possibility besides bathing and showering: measuring just 20 by 12 metres, not a great many visitors can be active in the pool at the same time.

Functionality in a wasteful outer shell

The fact that the Prenzlauer Berg municipal baths are purposefully designed only becomes apparent to the observer at second glance, as numerous decorative elements take attention away from this. Ludwig Hoffmann, who chose an Italian Renaissance façade for the Kreuzberg municipal baths, lent the building on Oderberger Strasse the appearance of a German Renaissance palace. High saddle roofs and roof superstructures with gables reinforce this historic design approach.

The Renaissance-style entrance is also reminiscent of historic town hall portals. Only a relief above the portal points out the actual significance of the building: water nixies bathing a bear.

The historicist stylistic elements are also continued inside. Here Hoffmann opted for a church look: a vault arches over the three-storey indoor swimming pool, while galleries and arcades adorn the sides of the hall. Arched windows frame the highlights and heighten the sacred feel.

The sculptor Otto Lessing provided both the façade and the interior spaces with numerous sculptures dedicated to the theme of water.

"Yes, yes, Hoffmann, we have all done him a disservice!"1 This is what the architect Ludwig Mies van der Rohe is alleged to have said about Ludwig Hoffmann in 1956, who at that time had almost been forgotten.

For 28 years – from 1896 to 1924 – Hoffmann was head of the municipal planning and building control office of Berlin and oversaw the construction of a total of 300 public buildings during this time. Among the most famous are the Märkisches Museum and the Virchow Hospital. But the young Modernist architects did not hold Hoffmann in high regard. They criticised his traditionalist style and were relieved when Martin Wagner, a progressive urban planner, became the head of the office in 1926.

Hoffmann's construction survived the Second World War. The roof and windows were broken, but the building was spared any worse damage. In the GDR, swimmers used the indoor swimming pool once more. However, in 1986 cracks in the pool became noticeable and the authorities closed the municipal baths.

The bathing facility on Oderberger Straße had been closed for three decades. Only in 2016 did this change. Private operators renovated the indoor swimming pool in line with its listed status and today run the building as Hotel Oderberger. The Berlin Landesdenkmalamt (State Monument Office) awarded them the Ferdinand-von-Quast Medal 2017.

Our tips for nearby the Prenzlauer Berg municipal baths

The Prenzlauer Berg municipal baths are open to external visitors. The opening hours can be found on the website of the Hotel Oderberger. Not far away are the extensive grounds of the Kulturbrauerei, the former Schultheiss brewery, with six courtyards and more than 20 buildings, which have been listed since 1974. This impressive industrial architectural monument with a red brick façade was built at the end of the 19th century and today houses among other things a cinema, restaurants, clubs, a theatre and a museum.

Practical information from visitBerlin

The Prenzlauer Berg municipal baths can be reached by taking U-Bahn line 2 to the Eberswalder Straße stop. To explore the city, we recommend the Berlin WelcomeCard for public transport.

Find further information here

Direkt zum Inhalt
Stadtbad Oderberger
Stadtbad Oderberger Straße © GLS Campus Berlin/Stadtbad Oderberger

Stadtbad Oderberger Straße

Schwimmhalle & Hotel

Zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts sind Schwimmbäder nicht nur zum Schwimmen da. Die Besucher kommen, um sich zu waschen und zu duschen.

Im Kaiserreich sind Badezimmer ein Luxusgut. 1910 können nur zehn Prozent der Berliner in ihrer eigenen Wohnung duschen oder baden, und das ist nicht nur ein Mangel an Komfort, sondern auch eine Gefahr für die Hygiene.
Eine Antwort auf die rasant wachsende Bevölkerung der Reichshauptstadt gibt Berlins Stadtbaurat Ludwig Hoffmann mit dem Bau von vier Stadtbädern. Zwischen 1899 und 1902 wird eines davon in der Oderberger Straße in Prenzlauer Berg errichtet.

Hoffmanns Entwurf zeichnet sich durch eine rationale Organisation des Gebäudes aus. Gleich hinter dem Eingangsbereich finden die Badegäste auf beiden Seiten Kassen- und Warteräume für die Waschgelegenheiten. Getrennte Treppenhäuser führen zu den Damen- und Herren-Umkleiden. Die jeweils 63 Duschen und Wannenbäder befinden sich in den Seitentrakten. Auch hier achtet Hoffmann auf modernste Technik: Die Trennwände zwischen den Waschzellen enden drei Zentimeter über dem Boden – dies erleichtert Lüftung und Reinigung.

Den größten Teil des Stadtbades nimmt die Schwimmhalle ein, die sich über drei Geschosse erstreckt. Auch hier ist das Gebäude durchdacht: Statt Oberlichtern sorgen Hochlichter an den Seitenwänden für eine angenehme Beleuchtung. Die Dachkonstruktion beugt zudem Feuchtigkeit an der Decke vor.
Das Schwimmbecken selbst verrät hingegen noch heute, dass Schwimmen im Stadtbad nur eine Möglichkeit neben dem Baden und Duschen ist: Auf 20 mal 12 Metern können nicht allzu viele Besucher gleichzeitig sportlich aktiv sein.

Stadtbad Oderberger
Stadtbad Oderberger Straße © GLS Campus Berlin/Stadtbad Oderberger

Stadtbad Oderberger

Funktionalität im verschwenderischen Gewand

Dass das heutige Stadtbad Oderberger Straße zweckmäßig gestaltet ist, nimmt der Betrachter erst auf den zweiten Blick wahr, zahlreiche Schmuckelemente lenken davon ab. Ludwig Hoffmann, der für das Stadtbad Kreuzberg eine Fassade im Stil der italienischen Renaissance gewählt hat, verleiht dem Gebäude an der Oderberger Straße das Aussehen eines deutschen Renaissance-Palastes. Hohe Satteldächer und Dachaufbauten mit Giebeln verstärken diesen historisierenden Gestaltungsansatz.
Im Stil der Renaissance ist auch der Eingang gehalten, der an historische Rathausportale erinnert. Auf die eigentliche Bedeutung des Gebäudes weist nur ein Relief über dem Portal hin: Wassernixen baden einen Bären.

Auch im Innern setzen sich die historistischen Stilelemente fort. Hier wählt Hoffmann die Optik einer Kirche: Ein Gewölbe überdeckt die dreigeschossige Schwimmhalle, Galerien und Arkaden zieren die Seiten des Raums. Rundbogenfenster rahmen die Hochlichter ein und verstärken den sakralen Eindruck.
Der Bildhauer Otto Lessing versieht sowohl die Fassade als auch die Innenräume mit zahlreichen Skulpturen, die sich dem Thema Wasser widmen.
„Ja, ja, der Hoffmann, dem haben wir alle unrecht getan!“ So soll sich der Architekt Ludwig Mies van der Rohe 1956 über Ludwig Hoffmann geäußert haben, der zu diesem Zeitpunkt schon fast vergessen ist.

Dabei ist Hoffmann 28 Jahre lang – von 1896 bis 1924 – Berliner Stadtbaurat und lässt in dieser Zeit insgesamt 300 öffentliche Gebäude errichten. Zu den berühmtesten gehören das Märkische Museum und das Virchow-Krankenhaus. Doch die jungen Architekten der Moderne schätzten Hoffmann nicht. Sie kritisieren seinen traditionalistischen Stil und sind erleichtert, als mit Martin Wagner 1926 ein progressiver Stadtplaner Berliner Stadtbaurat wird.
Hoffmanns Bauwerk überdauert den Zweiten Weltkrieg. Das Dach und die Fenster gehen zu Bruch, doch schlimmere Zerstörungen bleiben dem Gebäude erspart. In der DDR nutzen Badegäste wieder die Schwimmhalle. 1986 machten sich Risse im Becken bemerkbar und die Behörden schließen das Stadtbad.
Für drei Jahrzehnte ruht der Badebetrieb an der Oderberger Straße. Erst 2016 ändert sich das. Private Betreiber sanieren die Schwimmhalle denkmalgerecht und betreiben das Gebäude heute als Hotel Oderberger. Das Berliner Landesdenkmalamt verleiht ihnen dafür die Ferdinand-von-Quast-Medaille 2017.

Unsere Tipps rund um das Stadtbad

Das Stadtbad Oderberger Straße ist für externe Gäste geöffnet. Die Öffnungszeiten entnehmen Sie bitte der Webseite des Hotels Oderberger. Nicht weit entfernt befindet sich das seit 1974 denkmalgeschützte weitläufige Gelände der Kulturbrauerei, der früheren Schultheiss-Brauerei, mit sechs Innenhöfen und mehr als 20 Gebäuden. Das eindrucksvolle Industriearchitekturdenkmal mit der roten Klinkerfassade entstand Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts und beherbergt heute unter anderem ein Kino, Restaurants, Clubs, ein Theater und ein Museum.

Praktische Infos von visitBerlin

Das Stadtbad Prenzlauer Berg erreichen Sie mit der U-Bahn-Linie 2 an der Haltestelle Eberswalder Straße. Um die Stadt zu erkunden, empfehlen wir für den öffentlichen Nahverkehr die Berlin Welcome Card.