Skip to main content
PalaisPopulaire in Berlin
© Foto: Mathias Schormann

PalaisPopulaire

Deutsche Bank's showcase for Art, Culture, and Sport

The PalaisPopulaire is a modern exhibition space for contemporary art. This gallery In the centre of Berlin offers visitors an exciting mixture of art, culture and sport.

The PalaisPopulaire on the boulevard Unter den Linden is far more than a museum or an art gallery. Since 1997, Deutsche Bank has dedicated itself to contemporary art and offers a platform for all those who think in an interdisciplinary way about culture. The exhibitions, which vary several times a year, combine tradition and future, and also aim to create openness for new positions in the global art scene.

750 square metres of cutting edge contemporary art

Located in the heart of Berlin, the PalaisPopulaire combines tradition and future, local and global culture. It represents the fundamental goals that Deutsche Bank has been pursuing with its cultural commitment for decades: To create access for all, to recognize and promote talent. The bank offers a broad program that brings together the most diverse aspects of contemporary culture under one roof. This includes art, literature, music, sports, performance, and dance.
The heart of the institution is the 750 square metre gallery area. Four exhibitions focusing on contemporary art are shown here every year. In addition to partner projects with international museums such as the Tate London or the MAXXI in Rome, special attention is paid to presentations from the Deutsche Bank Collection and the series "Artist of the Year. This series presents young, international talents in a solo show in Berlin.
Concerts, readings, workshops, talks, and lectures can be experienced in the Forum and in the studio of the house, accompanied by a comprehensive educational program for every age group.

Gallery highlights

  • Exhibitions by some of the world's leading contemporary artists
  • free admission
  • Tailor-made family activities on request, such as creative workshops
  • The shop Populaire with souvenirs, editions and designer unique pieces
  • LePopulaire has a modern kitchen and homemade patisserie

Nearby places of interest: Schinkel Pavillon, State Opera and the National Gallery

The Schinkel Pavillon, the State Opera and the Barenboim-Said Academy are very nearby the PalaisPopulaire. Afterwards you can enjoy a good view from the dome of the Berlin Cathedral. Also very close by is the Alte Nationalgalerie, in the old town, which houses classics of German painting including works by Adolf Menzel, Caspar David Friedrich and Johann Gottfried Schadow.

Our tips for visiting

The easiest way to get to the Palais is by the number 100 or 200 bus to the Staatsoper station, which is just 250 metres from the Kunsthalle, on the corner of Unter den Linden and Charlottenstrasse. Alternatively, take the U6 underground line to Unter den Linden which is 300 metres from the Palais. Entry to the gallery is free every Monday.

Information for families and children

Children under the age of 18 and organised school parties are admitted to the gallery free of charge. Regular children's and family workshops run in the gallery. Full information is on the PalaisPopulaire website.

 

Opening hours

Monday 11:00 – 18:00
Tuesday closed
Wednesday 11:00 – 18:00
Thursday 11:00 – 21:00
Friday 11:00 – 18:00
Saturday 11:00 – 18:00
Sunday 11:00 – 18:00

Direkt zum Inhalt
PalaisPopulaire in Berlin
PalaisPopulaire Außenansicht © Foto: Mathias Schormann

PalaisPopulaire

ein Forum für die Vielfalt der Gegenwartskultur

Das PalaisPopulaire bietet seinen Besucherinnen und Besuchern eine spannende Mischung aus Kunst, Kultur und Sport.

Das PalaisPopulaire am Boulevard Unter den Linden ist weit mehr als ein Museum oder eine Kunsthalle. Es ist ein weltweit vernetztes Forum für alle, die Kultur interdisziplinär denken. Seit 1997 widmet sich das Haus der Deutschen Bank der Gegenwartskunst und verbindet Tradition mit Zukunft. Die mehrmals im Jahr wechselnden Ausstellungen wollen Offenheit für neue Positionen in der globalen Kunstszene schaffen.

Hotspot der Gegenwartskunst auf über 750 Quadratmetern

Mitten im Herzen Berlins gelegen, verbindet das PalaisPopulaire Tradition und Zukunft, lokale und globale Kultur. Es repräsentiert die grundlegenden Ziele, welche die Deutsche Bank mit ihrem kulturellen Engagement seit Jahrzehnten verfolgt: Zugang für alle zu schaffen, Talente zu erkennen und zu fördern. Dabei bietet das Haus ein breit gefächertes Programm, das die unterschiedlichsten Aspekte der Gegenwartskultur unter einem Dach zusammenbringt. Dazu gehören ebenso Kunst, wie auch Literatur, Musik, Sport, Performance oder Tanz.

Herzstück der Institution ist die 750 Quadratmeter große Galeriefläche. Gezeigt werden hier jährlich vier Ausstellungen mit Fokus auf zeitgenössischer Kunst. Neben Partnerprojekten mit internationalen Museen wie z.B. der Tate London oder dem MAXXI in Rom liegt ein besonderes Augenmerk auf den Präsentationen aus der Sammlung Deutsche Bank und der Reihe "Artist of the Year“. Diese stellt junge, internationale Talente in einer Einzelschau in Berlin vor.
Im Forum und im Atelier des Hauses sind Konzerte, Lesungen, Workshops, Talks oder Vorträge ein breit gefächertes Programm zu erleben begleitet durch ein umfassendes Vermittlungsprogramm für jede Altergruppe.

Höhepunkte

  • Einzelausstellung vom jeweiligen Künstler des Jahres
  • freier Eintritt
  • maßgeschneiderte Familienprogramme auf Anfrage, beispielsweise kreative Workshops
  • Der Shop Populaire mit Souvenirs, Editionen und Designer-Einzelstücken
  • Im LePopulaire gibt es moderne Küche und hausgemachte Patisserie

Sehenswertes in der Nähe: Schinkel Pavillon, Staatsoper und Nationalgalerie

Ganz in der Nähe des PalaisPopulaire befinden sich der Schinkel Pavillon, die Staatsoper und die Barenboim-Said Akademie. Einen guten Ausblick haben Sie von der Kuppel des Berliner Dom. Nur wenige Schritte entfernt, können Sie sich in der Alten Nationalgalerie auf einen Rundgang durch die Sammlung mit Meisterwerken der Romantik, des Realismus und des Impressionismus machen. Mit dabei: Meister wie Caspar David Friedrich, Paul Cèzanne, Lovis Corinth, Karl Friedrich Schinkel oder Adolph Menzel.

Unsere Tipps für Ihren Besuch

Am einfachsten erreichen Sie das PalaisPopulaire mit den Bussen 100 oder 200. Steigen Sie an der Station Staatsoper aus. Von hier trennen Sie nur 250 Meter von dem Ausstellungsgebäude. Alternativ können Sie die U-Bahn U6 zur Station Unter den Linden nehmen. 

Infos für Familien und Kinder

Schulklassen sind PalaisPopulaire willkommen. Regelmäßig bietet das PalaisPopulaire Kinder- und Familienworkshops an. Die genauen Termine entnehmen Sie dem Veranstaltungskalender des Hauses.

 

Öffnungszeiten

Montag 11:00 – 18:00
Dienstag geschlossen
Mittwoch 11:00 – 18:00
Donnerstag 11:00 – 21:00
Freitag 11:00 – 18:00
Samstag 11:00 – 18:00
Sonntag 11:00 – 18:00