Skip to main content

with Brandon Keith Brown and Wallis Giunta

What actually makes folk music folk music? - this question is symphonically explored by the Orchestra of the Komische Oper Berlin under the direction of Brandon Keith Brown: George Walker's Lyric for strings has real earworm qualities with its vocal lines and is one of the most important components of the American concert tradition.

Wallis Giunta
Wallis Giunta Jan Windszus Photography

Luciano Berio took recordings and traditions of folk songs from all over the world as a model for his Folk Songs and processed them into an exciting and colorful cycle. Louis Andriessen's Workers Union, which opens the concert, forms a massive monophonic timbre out of 20 instrumentalists without limiting individual freedom.

Gustav Mahler's folk-infused 1st Symphony closes the concert: here one hears everything the "Volxmusikherz" desires - from nature lute painting to Austrian Ländler to the minor-key "Bruder Jakob" canon.

Works performed:

  • Louis Andriessen [1939-2021] Workers Union
  • George Walker [1922-2018] Lyric for strings
  • Luciano Berio [1925-2003] Folk Songs for mezzo-soprano and orchestra
  • Gustav Mahler [1860-1911] Symphony No. 1 in D major
Additional information
Participating artists
Brandon Keith Brown (Dirigent)
Wallis Giunta (Solisitin, Mezzosopran)
Es spielt das Orchester der Komischen Oper Berlin.
Events
Datum
Komische Oper Berlin

Direkt zum Inhalt

Sinfoniekonzert mit Brandon Keith Brown und Wallis Giunta

Was macht Volksmusik eigentlich zu Volksmusik? – dieser Frage spürt das Orchester der Komischen Oper Berlin unter der Leitung von Brandon Keith Brown sinfonisch nach: George Walkers Lyric for strings hat mit seinen gesanglichen Linien echte Ohrwurmqualitäten und gehört zu den wichtigsten Bestandteilen der amerikanischen Konzerttradition.

Wallis Giunta
Wallis Giunta © Jan Windszus Photography

Luciano Berio nahm sich für seine Folk Songs Aufnahmen und Überlieferungen von Volksliedern aus aller Welt als Vorlage und verarbeitete sie zu einem spannungs­geladenen und farbenreichen Zyklus. Louis Andriessens Workers Union, das das Konzert eröffnet, formt aus 20 Instrumentalist:innen eine massive einstimmige Klangfarbe, ohne dabei die individuelle Freiheit zu beschränken.

Den Abschluss bildet Gustav Mahlers mit Volksmusik durchzogene 1. Sinfonie: Hier hört man alles, was das »Volxmusikherz« begehrt – von der Naturlaut­malerei über öster­reichischen Ländler bis hin zum mollgetränkten »Bruder Jakob«-Kanon.

Aufgeführte Werke:

  • Louis Andriessen [1939–2021] Workers Union
  • George Walker [1922–2018] Lyric for strings
  • Luciano Berio [1925–2003] Folk Songs für Mezzosopran und Orchester
  • Gustav Mahler [1860–1911] Sinfonie Nr. 1 D-Dur
Zusätzliche Informationen
Teilnehmende Künstler
Brandon Keith Brown (Dirigent)
Wallis Giunta (Solisitin, Mezzosopran)
Termine
Datum
Komische Oper Berlin