Skip to main content
Top Event
The event you were looking for has already taken place. Find many more events, tips and recommendations in Berlin's biggest event calendar on visitBerlin.com.

A Special Exhibition of the National Gallery - Staatliche Museen zu Berlin

Pauline Curnier Jardin is the winner of the National Gallery Prize 2019. In her solo exhibition "Fat to Ashes" at the Hamburger Bahnhof - Museum für Gegenwart - Berlin, she shows the visual richness and narrative diversity of her artistic practice in expansive works.

Pauline Curnier Jardin, Peaux de Dame in the Hot Flashes Forest + Qu’un Sang Impur, Detail, 2019, Ausstellungsansicht Hamburger Bahnhof, 2019, Courtesy the artist and Ellende Brujine Projects
Pauline Curnier Jardin, Peaux de Dame in the Hot Flashes Forest + Qu’un Sang Impur, Detail, 2019, Ausstellungsansicht Hamburger Bahnhof, 2019, Courtesy the artist and Ellende Brujine Projects © Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Nationalgalerie / Mathias Völzke

The exhibition will be shown from the reopening of the Berlin museums until 19 September 2021.

Jardin’s filmic and installational language often references ancient, myth-like stories, which she then pierces and deconstructs, opening up a perception of the world that leaves us at once overwhelmed and unsettled.

Flesh, skin, wax, confetti, blood, guts, scents, senses, smoke, ritual, alcohol, excess, touch, song, fat and ashes: these are the soft, rough, gentle, coarse materials with which artist Pauline Curnier Jardin handles in her work.

"Fat to Ashes" combines three cinematic snapshots: a religious festival in honour of St Agatha, the slaughter of a pig and the Cologne carnival.

The exhibition title refers to a week of debauchery from so-called "Fat Thursday", or "giovedì grasso", or Weiberfastnacht or Fettdonnerstag in German, to Ash Wednesday as a day of disillusionment and the beginning of Lent according to the Christian calendar year.

Jardin shows these three spaces of action as places of transgression and transformation, in which a social function of encounter, performative display and exalted detachment from valid norms is continued from cultic customs to the present.

The Preis der Nationalgalerie is awarded every two years and recognises the work of artists under 40 who live and work in Germany. BMW has been sponsoring the National Gallery Prize as an exclusive partner for 15 years.

Please book your time slot ticket in advance and bring along your mask.

Buy ticket

Additional information
Price info: Hamburger Bahnhof + temporaray exhibitions. Admission free from 16:00 to 20:00 on the first Thursday of every month.

Price: €14.00

Reduced price: €7.00

Direkt zum Inhalt
Top-Veranstaltung

Eine Sonderausstellung der Nationalgalerie – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin

Pauline Curnier Jardin ist Gewinnerin des Preis der Nationalgalerie 2019. In ihrer Einzelausstellung„Fat to Ashes“ im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin, zeigt sie den visuellen Reichtum und die narrative Vielfalt ihrer künstlerischen Praxis in raumgreifenden Arbeiten.

Pauline Curnier Jardin, Peaux de Dame in the Hot Flashes Forest + Qu’un Sang Impur, Detail, 2019, Ausstellungsansicht Hamburger Bahnhof, 2019, Courtesy the artist and Ellende Brujine Projects
Pauline Curnier Jardin, Peaux de Dame in the Hot Flashes Forest + Qu’un Sang Impur, Detail, 2019, Ausstellungsansicht Hamburger Bahnhof, 2019, Courtesy the artist and Ellende Brujine Projects © Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Nationalgalerie / Mathias Völzke

Gezeigt wird die Ausstellung ab der Wiedereröffnung der Berliner Museen bis zum 19. September 2021.

Jardins filmische und installative Sprache greift oftmals altertümliche, mythenhafte Erzählungen auf, die sie aber dekonstruiert und durchbricht. Es eröffnet sich ein Wahrnehmen der Welt, das vereinnahmt wie verunsichert.

Fleisch, Haut, Wachs, Konfetti, Blut, Gedärme, Düfte, Sinne, Rauch, Ritus, Alkohol, Exzess, Berührung, Gesang, Fett und Asche: Das sind mitunter die weichen, rauen, sanften, derben Materialien, mit denen die Künstlerin Pauline Curnier Jardin in ihrer Arbeit hantiert.

"Fat to Ashes“ verbindet drei filmische Momentaufnahmen: ein religiöses Fest zu  Ehren der heiligen Agatha, die Schlachtung eines Schweins und den Kölner Karneval.

Der Ausstellungstitel verweist auf eine Woche der Ausschweifung vom sogenannten „Fat Thursday“, oder „giovedì grasso“, bzw. Weiberfastnacht oder Fettdonnerstag im Deutschen, bis zum Aschermittwoch als Tag der Ernüchterung und Beginn der Fastenzeit nach christlichem Kalenderjahr.

Jardin zeigt diese drei Handlungsräume als Orte der Transgression und der Verwandlung, in denen aus kultischen Bräuchen bis in die Gegenwart eine gesellschaftliche Funktion des Zusammentreffens, der performativen Zurschaustellung und der exaltierten Loslösung geltender Normen fortgeführt wird.

Der Preis der Nationalgalerie wird alle zwei Jahre vergeben und ist eine museale Ehrung für Künstler*innen unter 40, die in Deutschland leben und arbeiten. BMW fördert den Preis der Nationalgalerie seit 15 Jahren als exklusiver Partner.

Bitte buchen Sie vorab Ihr Zeitfensterticket und denken Sie an an Ihren Mund-Nasenschutz.

Ticket kaufen

Zusätzliche Informationen
Preisinformationen: Hamburger Bahnhof mit Sonderausstellungen. An jedem 1. Donnerstag im Monat von 16:00 bis 20:00 Uhr Eintritt frei.

Preis: 14,00 €

Ermäßigter Preis: 7,00 €
Termine
Datum
Hamburger Bahnhof - Museum für Gegenwart
Datum
Hamburger Bahnhof - Museum für Gegenwart