Skip to main content

Every first Sunday of the month in almost all Berlin museums

Berlin is getting an admission-free Museum Sunday: from July 4, almost all Berlin museums will be inviting visitors to visit them free of charge on the first Sunday of every month and will be offering a diverse program.

MuseumsSonntag Pressebild
MuseumsSonntag Pressebild © Jan Kapitän

With around 60 institutions, the admission-free Museum Sunday covers the entire diversity of Berlin's museum landscape and thus a rich range of topics from culture, art, design, religion, history, nature, everyday culture and technology.

Museum Sunday is an initiative of the Senate Department for Culture and Europe in cooperation with the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media and the Berlin State Association of Museums.

The aim is to strengthen cultural participation and to open up cultural institutions to the entire society.
With low-threshold offers, an improved quality of stay and a welcoming culture, the museums want to attract non-visitors and thus actively shape social participation..

Anne Frank Zentrum; Berlinische Galerie; BröhanMuseum; BrückeMuseum; Deutsches Historisches Museum; Deutsche Kinemathek; Deutsches Technikmuseum; Domäne Dahlem; FHXB FriedrichshainKreuzberg Museum; Georg Kolbe Museum; Gotisches Haus; Gründerzeitmuseum Mahlsdorf; Haus am Waldsee; Heimatmuseum Zehlendorf; Jugend Museum; Jewish Museum Berlin; KätheKollwitzMuseum; Kindermuseum unterm Dach; KINDL - Center for Contemporary Art; Kunsthaus Dahlem; KW Institute for Contemporary Art; Museum CharlottenburgWilmersdorf in the Villa Oppenheim; Museum für Kommunikation Berlin; Museum Köpenick; Museum Lichtenberg im Stadthaus; Museum of Natural History; Museum Neukölln; Museum Pankow; Museum Reinickendorf; Museum Treptow; Museum of Musical Instruments; New Synagogue Berlin - Centrum Judaicum; PalaisPopulaire; Schöneberg Museum; Science Center Spectrum; Gay Museum; National Museums in Berlin (Alte Nationalgalerie, Altes Museum, BodeMuseum, Friedrichswerdersche Kirche, Gemäldegalerie, Hamburger Bahnhof - Museum für Gegenwart - Berlin, Haus Bastian; JamesSimonGalerie, Kunstbibliothek, Kunstgewerbemuseum, Kupferstichkabinett, Museum Berggruen, Museum Europäischer Kulturen, Museum für Fotografie, Neue Nationalgalerie, Neues Museum, Pergamonmuseum, Pergamonmuseum. The Panorama, Collection ScharfGerstenberg, Köpenick Palace); Stadtmuseum Berlin (Märkisches Museum, Museum Nikolaikirche, Museum EphraimPalais, Museum Knoblauchhaus, Museumsdorf Düppel); Steglitz Museum; Tempelhof Museum; Werkbundarchiv - Museum der Dinge; Zitadelle Spandau

For more information on the participating museums and the program, please visit the website www.museumssonntag.berlin.

Here, visitors* can book free time slots and register for programs as needed.

This central guest management system was implemented by the Museumsdienst Berlin in cooperation with visitBerlin.
In addition, the Museum Service of Kulturprojekte Berlin also provides advice on the program or support in organizing the museum visit via its hotline: 030 247 49 878.More information at#museumssunday #museumsunday
Museum Sunday is a model project. Findings about the effect of the admission-free Sunday are provided by an accompanying, broad-based scientific visitor study.

The expectations for the effect of admission-free Museum Sundays on greater and broader cultural participation in Berlin museums and memorial sites are high: The goal of the model project, which is unique in Germany, is to strengthen Berlin's museum landscape and to inspire a broader city population to visit.

It is being carried out by the Institute for Cultural Participation Research (IKTf) in the Berlin Foundation for Cultural Education and Cultural Consulting.
Additional information
Events
Datum
verschiedene Veranstaltungsorte
Datum
verschiedene Veranstaltungsorte
Datum
verschiedene Veranstaltungsorte

Direkt zum Inhalt

Jeder erste Sonntag im Monat in vielen Berliner Museen

Berlin hat einen eintrittsfreien Museumssonntag: es laden viele Berliner Häuser an jedem ersten Sonntag im Monat zum kostenlosen Besuch ein und bieten ein vielfältiges Programm.

MuseumsSonntag Pressebild
MuseumsSonntag Pressebild © Jan Kapitän

Mit rund 60 Einrichtungen deckt der eintrittsfreie Museumssonntag die ganze Vielfalt der Berliner Museumslandschaft ab und damit ein reichhaltiges Themenspektrum von Kultur, Kunst, Design, Religion, Geschichte, Natur, Alltagskultur und Technik.

Der Museumssonntag ist eine Initiative der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa in Kooperation mit  der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien und dem Landesverband der Museen zu Berlin.

Ziel ist die Stärkung kultureller Teilhabe und die Öffnung der Kultureinrichtungen für die ganze Gesellschaft.

Mit niederschwelligen Angeboten, einer verbesserten Aufenthaltsqualität und Willkommenskultur möchten die Häuser Nichtbesucher*innen gewinnen und so aktiv gesellschaftliche Teilhabe mitgestalten.

Anne Frank Zentrum; Berlinische Galerie; Bröhan­Museum; Brücke­Museum; Deutsches Historisches Museum; Deutsche Kinemathek; Deutsches Technikmuseum; Domäne Dahlem; FHXB Friedrichshain­Kreuzberg Museum; Georg Kolbe Museum; Gotisches Haus; Gründerzeitmuseum Mahlsdorf; Haus am Waldsee; Heimatmuseum Zehlendorf; Jugend Museum; Jüdisches Museum Berlin; Käthe­Kollwitz­Museum; Kindermuseum unterm Dach; KINDL – Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst; Kunsthaus Dahlem; KW Institute for Contemporary Art; Museum Charlottenburg­Wilmersdorf in der Villa Oppenheim; Museum für Kommunikation Berlin; Museum Köpenick; Museum Lichtenberg im Stadthaus; Museum für Naturkunde; Museum Neukölln; Museum Pankow; Museum Reinickendorf; Museum Treptow; Musikinstrumenten­Museum; Neue Synagoge Berlin – Centrum Judaicum; PalaisPopulaire; Schöneberg Museum; Science Center Spectrum; Schwules Museum; Staatliche Museen zu Berlin (Alte Nationalgalerie, Altes Museum, Bode­Museum, Frie­drichswerdersche Kirche, Gemäldegalerie, Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin, Haus Bastian; James­Simon­Galerie, Kunstbibliothek, Kunstgewerbemuseum, Kupferstichkabinett, Museum Berggruen, Museum Europäischer Kulturen, Museum für Fotografie, Neue Nationalgalerie, Neues Museum, Pergamonmuseum, Pergamonmuseum. Das Panorama, Sammlung Scharf­Gerstenberg, Schloss Köpenick); Stadtmuseum Berlin (Märkisches Museum, Museum Nikolaikirche, Museum Ephraim­Palais, Museum Knoblauchhaus, Museumsdorf Düppel); Steglitz Museum; Tempelhof Museum; Werkbundarchiv – Museum der Dinge; Zitadelle Spandau

Nähere Informationen zu den teilnehmenden Häusern und zum Programm auf der Website

Hier können sich Besucher*innen bei Bedarf kostenlose Zeitfenster buchen und für Programme anmelden.

  • Dieses zentrale Gästemanagementsystem wurde vom Museumsdienst Berlin in Kooperation mit visitBerlin umgesetzt.
  • Darüber hinaus berät der Museumsdienst von Kulturprojekte Berlin über  seine Hotline auch zum Programm oder unterstützt bei der Organisation des Museumsbesuchs: 030 247 49 878.
Mehr Informationen unter
#museumssonntag   #museumsunday

Der Museumssonntag ist ein Modellprojekt. Erkenntnisse über die Wirkung des eintrittsfreien Sonntags liefert eine begleitende, breit angelegte wissenschaftliche Besucher*innenstudie
. Die Erwartungen an die Wirkung der eintrittsfreien Museumssonntage auf eine größere und breitere Kulturelle Teilhabe in Berliner Museen und Gedenkstätten sind hoch: Ziel des in Deutschland einzigartigen Modellprojekts ist es, die Berliner Museumslandschaft zu stärken und eine breitere Stadtbevölkerung für einen Besuch zu begeistern. Sie wird durch das Institut für Kulturelle Teilhabeforschung (IKTf) in der Berliner Stiftung für Kulturelle Weiterbildung und Kulturberatung durchgeführt.
Zusätzliche Informationen

Informationen zur Barrierefreiheit

Termine
Datum
verschiedene Veranstaltungsorte
Datum
verschiedene Veranstaltungsorte
Datum
verschiedene Veranstaltungsorte
Datum
verschiedene Veranstaltungsorte
Datum
verschiedene Veranstaltungsorte
Datum
verschiedene Veranstaltungsorte
Datum
verschiedene Veranstaltungsorte