Skip to main content
The event you were looking for has already taken place. Find many more events, tips and recommendations in Berlin's biggest event calendar on visitBerlin.com.

by Alfred Döblin

The very young, badly wounded soldier Edward returns to his family from the military hospital. Who is to blame for this war that cost him his leg? His penetrating questions cross-examine the relatives who want to take care of him again; and the storytelling evenings intended as entertainment become a court tribunal.


The usual explanatory patterns and intellectual comforts of a saturated educated class break apart brutally. A process of painful coming to terms with everyone; on the basis of radical honesty, a timid but hopeful new start begins.

As a doctor, Alfred Döblin was used to looking into the everyday human abyss. As an author, he designed epochal images of society. In his Hamlet novel, which was first published in the GDR with great success, he left the quintessence of his thoughts on a future in which violence, even in interpersonal relationships, could give way to a new consciousness.

In the premiere of this work as an in-house production at TD Berlin, psychological drama is mixed with the European store of stories, acting styles and genres in overlapping languages.

Buy ticket

Additional information
We do apologize that the following information is currently only available in German.

Direkt zum Inhalt

von Alfred Döblin

Der blutjunge, schwer verwundete Soldat Edward kehrt aus dem Militärkrankenhaus zu seiner Familie zurück. Wer ist schuld an diesem Krieg, der ihn sein Bein kostete? Die Angehörigen, die ihn fürsorglich wieder auffangen wollen, werden durch seine bohrenden Fragen ins Kreuzverhör genommen; und die als Unterhaltung gedachten Erzählabende werden zum Gerichtstribunal.


Die üblichen Erklärungsmuster und geistigen Bequemlichkeiten einer saturierten Bildungsschicht brechen brutal auseinander. Ein Prozess schmerzhafter Aufarbeitung für alle; auf der Basis radikaler Ehrlichkeit beginnt ein zaghafter doch hoffnungsvoller Neustart.

Alfred Döblin war als Arzt gewohnt, in die alltäglichen menschlichen Abgründe zu schauen. Als Autor entwarf er epochale Gesellschaftsbilder. In seinem zunächst in der DDR mit einem Riesenerfolg erschienenen Hamlet-Roman hinterließ er die Quintessenz seiner Überlegungen für eine Zukunft, in der Gewalt auch im Zwischenmenschlichen einem neuen Bewusstsein weichen könnte.

In der Uraufführung dieses Werks als Hausproduktion am TD Berlin vermischen sich psychologisches Drama mit dem europäischen Geschichtenfundus, Spielweisen und Genres in sich überlagernden Sprachen.

Ticket kaufen

Zusätzliche Informationen
Mit Amira Demirkiran / Niklas Hummel / Daniel Traub / Rim Mekkaoui / Monika Petruschin / Paula Schindler / Noah Tomiak Regie Adrienn Bazsó / Georg Scharegg Bühne Gwendolyn Noltes Kostüm Andreina Vieira do Santos Musik Thomas Seher Technik Florian Brossmann Produktion TD Berlin Kooperation Filmuniversität Babelsberg / Studiengang Schauspiel, Potsdam / Cours Florent, Berlin Rechte Kiepenheuer Medien
Termine
September 2023
MoDiMiDoFrSaSo
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30