Skip to main content

Support: Slow Pulp

When Death Cab For Cutie wanted to start working on their new album, Corona put a spoke in their wheel. They couldn't go into the studio together. Nor could they travel because singer Ben Gibbard, bassist Nick Harmer, drummer Jason McGerr and the band's relatively new members, guitarists and keyboardists Dave Depper and Zac Rae, lived in five different cities. So the indie rockers implemented a working model, as Gibbard describes.

DEATH CAB FOR CUTIE
DEATH CAB FOR CUTIE © CREDIT JIMMY FONTAINE

"Monday through Friday are the five working days; there are five of us in the band. So one guy would work on a track on Monday and pass it on." Every day, everyone had to be done with their part. There was no time to think long, Harmer says: "I always had to contribute something convincing, otherwise the flow would be lost."

As a result, the guys kept developing ideas that might never have existed when they worked together in the studio. Always on Friday, the raw mix of a song was ready. Not all of them made it onto the tenth record, Asphalt Meadows, but more than half were created through this collective process. Death Cab For Cutie refined the demos with their producer John Congleton until the eleven tracks of the new album were ready.

That the sound of the quintet has changed once again should not be a surprise, but that has always been the case with them. Their credo is that each album should develop its own character - and as many pieces as possible must ignite on stage. But the band, which has been nominated eight times for the Grammy, has already succeeded in this many times in their long career. That's why the inclined audience can look forward to Death Cab For Cutie's tour next March.

Buy ticket

Additional information
Events
Datum
Columbiahalle (C-Halle am Columbiadamm)

Direkt zum Inhalt

Support: Slow Pulp

Als Death Cab For Cutie ihre Arbeit am neuen Album beginnen wollten, machte ihnen Corona einen Strich durch die Rechnung. Gemeinsam ins Studio konnten sie nicht. Reisen ging auch nicht, weil Sänger Ben Gibbard, Bassist Nick Harmer, Schlagzeuger Jason McGerr und die noch relativ neuen Bandmitglieder, die Gitarristen und Keyboarder Dave Depper und Zac Rae, in fünf verschiedenen Städten wohnten. Also führten die Indie-Rocker ein Arbeitsmodell ein, wie Gibbard beschreibt.

DEATH CAB FOR CUTIE
DEATH CAB FOR CUTIE © CREDIT JIMMY FONTAINE

„Montag bis Freitag sind die fünf Arbeitstage, wir sind zu fünft in der Band. Also arbeitete einer am Montag an einem Track und reichte ihn weiter.“ Jeden Tag musste jeder mit seinem Part fertig sein. Da gab es keine Zeit, lange nachzudenken, sagt Harmer: „Immer musste ich etwas Überzeugendes beisteuern, sonst wäre der Flow verloren gegangen.“

Dadurch entwickelten die Jungs immer weiter Ideen, die es vielleicht bei der gemeinsamen Arbeit im Studio niemals gegeben hätte. Immer am Freitag war der rohe Mix eines Songs fertig. Nicht alle davon haben es auf die zehnte Platte „Asphalt Meadows“ geschafft, aber mehr als die Hälfte ist in diesem kollektiven Prozess entstanden. Die Demos verfeinerten Death Cab For Cutie mit ihrem Produzenten John Congleton bis die elf Stücke des neuen Albums fertig waren.

Dass sich dabei der Sound des Quintetts wieder einmal gewandelt hat, dürfte keine Überraschung sein, aber das war bei ihnen ja schon immer der Fall. Jedes Album, so lautet ihr Credo, soll seinen eigenen Charakter entwickeln - und so viele Stücke wie möglich müssen auf der Bühne zünden. Aber das der achtfach für den Grammy nominierten Band in ihrer langen Karriere schon oft gelungen. Darum kann sich das geneigte Publikum auf die Tour von Death Cab For Cutie im kommenden März freuen.

Ticket kaufen

Zusätzliche Informationen
Termine
Datum
Columbiahalle (C-Halle am Columbiadamm)