Skip to main content

Opening in September 2022, DAS MINSK Kunsthaus in Potsdam is the latest project of the Hasso Plattner Foundation. In the former restaurant "Minsk", built in the 1970s in the modernist style of the GDR, the foundation is showing works from its collection that were created in the GDR after 1945. Important works by well-known GDR artists such as Wolfgang Mattheuer, Bernhard Heisig and Ruth Wolf-Rehfeldt form the basis of the exhibition programme. Works of art from this period are brought into dialogue with contemporary art at the MINSK and presented in changing exhibitions.

DAS MINSK Kunsthaus in Potsdam, September 2022
DAS MINSK Kunsthaus in Potsdam, September 2022 DAS MINSK Kunsthaus in Potsdam, September 2022 © DAS MINSK Kunsthaus in Potsdam, Foto: Ladislav Zajac

The house is to become a place for encounters again, as it was in its café days. From now on, between modern and contemporary art and the public. It was the citizens of Potsdam who were able to prevent the demolition. Their old favourite leisure spot and excursion destination had not been forgotten by them.

The well-visited terrace restaurant "Minsk" was built on the Brauhausberg in Potsdam from 1971 to 1977 according to a design by the architects Karl-Heinz Birkholz and Wolfgang Müller. After the fall of the Berlin Wall and the closure of the restaurant in the mid-1990s, the building stood empty and was close to demolition until the Hasso Plattner Foundation was able to purchase it in 2019.

During the renovation, reminiscences of the old "Minsk", such as the large spiral staircase and the rounded bar counter, were preserved. The foyer and bar were restaged by the architectural firm Linearama from Genoa in collaboration with the Hedwig Bollhagen workshops in Marwitz, Brandenburg.

"In the new exhibition house, the works in the collection from the period after 1945 find a home. Art from the former GDR is still hardly represented in museums today and does not receive the appreciation it deserves. We want to change that, make the works accessible to the public and show how diverse and significant the art of this period is." - Hasso Plattner
Additional information
Opening hours:

  • DAILY except TUESDAYS 10 a.m. - 7 p.m. 
  • Christmas Eve and New Year's Eve 10 am - 3 pm
  • Christmas Day and Boxing Day 10 am - 7 pm
  • New Year's Day 13 - 19 h
The house will be closed from 16.01. - 14.02.2023

Direkt zum Inhalt

Das im September 2022 eröffnete DAS MINSK Kunsthaus in Potsdam ist das jüngste Projekt der Hasso Plattner Foundation. Im ehemaligen Restaurant »Minsk«, erbaut in den 1970er Jahren im modernistischen Stil der DDR, zeigt die Stiftung Werke aus ihrer Sammlung, die nach 1945 in der DDR entstanden sind. Bedeutende Werken bekannter Künstler:innen der DDR wie Wolfgang Mattheuer, Bernhard Heisig und Ruth Wolf-Rehfeldt, bilden die Basis für das Ausstellungsprogramm des Hauses. Kunstwerke aus dieser Zeit werden im MINSK mit zeitgenössischer Kunst in Dialog gebracht und in wechselnden Ausstellungen präsentiert.

DAS MINSK Kunsthaus in Potsdam, September 2022
DAS MINSK Kunsthaus in Potsdam, September 2022 DAS MINSK Kunsthaus in Potsdam, September 2022 © DAS MINSK Kunsthaus in Potsdam, Foto: Ladislav Zajac

Das Haus soll, wie damals zu seinen Café-Zeiten, wieder zu einem Ort für Begegnungen werden. Von nun an zwischen moderner und zeitgenössischer Kunst und Publikum. Denn es waren die Potsdamer Bürger:innen, die den Abriss verhindern konnten. Ihr alter beliebter Freizeitort und Ausflugsziel war bei ihnen nicht in Vergessenheit geraten.

Das gut besuchte Terrassenrestaurant »Minsk« wurde nach einem Entwurf der Architekten Karl-Heinz Birkholz und Wolfgang Müller auf dem Brauhausberg von 1971 bis 1977 in Potsdam erbaut. Nach der Wende und Schließung des Restaurants Mitte der 1990er-Jahre stand das Gebäude leer und war dem Abriss nahe, bis 2019  die Hasso Plattner Foundation das Gebäude erwerben konnte.

Bei der Sanierung wurden Reminiszenzen an das alte »Minsk«, wie die große Wendeltreppe und der abgerundete Bartresen erhalten. Foyer und Bar wurden vom Architekturbüro Linearama aus Genua in Zusammenarbeit mit den Hedwig Bollhagen Werkstätten im brandenburgischen Marwitz neu in Szene gesetzt.

»Im neuen Ausstellungshaus finden die Arbeiten der Sammlung aus der Zeit nach 1945 ein Zuhause. Kunst aus der ehemaligen DDR ist bis heute in den Museen kaum vertreten und erfährt nicht die Wertschätzung, die sie verdient. Das wollen wir ändern, die Arbeiten der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich machen und zeigen, wie vielfältig und bedeutend die Kunst dieser Zeit ist.« — Hasso Plattner
Zusätzliche Informationen
Öffnungszeiten:

  • TÄGLICH außer DIENSTAGs 10 — 19 UHR  
  • Heiligabend und Silvester 10 – 15 Uhr
  • Erster und zweiter Weihnachtsfeiertag 10 – 19 Uhr
  • Neujahr 13 – 19 Uhr
Das Haus bleibt vom 16.01. – 14.02.2023 geschlossen