Skip to main content

Gropius Bau presents Apis Gropius (2022) - a unique, site-specific augmented reality experience by Ana Prvački. Prvački is the first Digital Artist in Residence of Gropius Bau 2021/2022.

Veranstaltungen in Berlin: Ana Prvački: Apis Gropius
Ana Prvački


From 8 July, Prvački's Apis Gropius can be experienced by all visitors directly on site in the atrium of the exhibition building. For the first immersive augmented reality experience in the Gropius Bau, Prvački was inspired by the botanical motifs embedded in the architecture of the exhibition building. Prvački's digital work also picks up on the larger programmatic themes of the Gropius Bau: Hospitality, Natural Structures and Ecology.


In three immersive audiovisual experiences, Apis Gropius introduces the viewer to a semi-fictional bee species of the same name. Since the bombing during the Second World War, Apis Gropius has been living and pollinating behind the historic walls of the Gropius Bau. The architecture of the building comes to life before the viewer's eyes. At the same time, we get to know the bees with their inventive forms of organisation and gain insights into their way of life, architecture and social structures.


The artist's project derives from her long-standing interest in bees - in particular, her idea that bees are our hosts on this planet and that we depend on their pollination. Apis Gropius is experienced in English with German subtitles and is a site-specific exploration of natural patterns derived from coneflowers (Echinacea), swarm movements, parabolic arcs and the everyday activities of bees. On the one hand, Apis Gropius shows playful humour that is characteristic of Prvački's work, on the other hand, the project is based on scientific and taxonomic research on bees and botany and explores the connections between nature, history and economy.

Additional information

Direkt zum Inhalt

Der Gropius Bau präsentiert Apis Gropius (2022) – eine einzigartige, ortsspezifische Augmented Reality Experience von Ana Prvački. Prvački ist die erste Digital Artist in Residence des Gropius Bau 2021/2022.

Veranstaltungen in Berlin: Ana Prvački: Apis Gropius
Ana Prvački


Ab dem 8. Juli kann Prvačkis Apis Gropius von allen Besucher*innen direkt vor Ort im Lichthof des Ausstellungshauses erlebt werden.

Für die erste immersive Augmented Reality Experience im Gropius Bau ließ sich Prvački von den botanischen Motiven inspirieren, die in die Architektur des Ausstellungshaus eingebettet sind. Prvačkis digitale Arbeit greift zudem die größeren programmatischen Themen des Gropius Bau auf: Gastgeber*innenschaft, natürliche Strukturen und Ökologie.


In drei immersiven, audiovisuellen Experiences macht Apis Gropius die Betrachter*in mit einer semi-fiktiven, gleichnamigen Bienenart bekannt. Seit der Bombardierung im Zweiten Weltkrieg lebt und bestäubt Apis Gropius hinter den historischen Mauern des Gropius Bau. Vor den Augen der Betrachter*in wird die Architektur des Gebäudes zum Leben erweckt. Gleichzeitig lernen wir die Bienen mit ihren erfindungsreichen Organisationsformen kennen und erhalten Einblicke in ihre Lebensart, Baukunst und Gesellschaftsstrukturen.


Das Projekt der Künstlerin leitet sich aus ihrem langjährigen Interesse für Bienen ab – insbesondere aus ihrer Vorstellung, dass Bienen unsere Gastgeber*innen auf diesem Planeten und wir von ihrer Bestäubung abhängig sind. Apis Gropius ist in englischer Sprache mit deutschen Untertiteln erlebbar und stellt eine ortsspezifische Erforschung natürlicher Muster, die von Sonnenhutpflanzen (Echinacea), Schwarmbewegungen, Parabelbögen sowie den alltäglichen Aktivitäten der Bienen abgeleitet sind, dar. Apis Gropius zeigt einerseits spielerischen Humor, der für Prvačkis Arbeiten charakteristisch ist, andererseits basiert das Projekt auf wissenschaftlichen und taxonomischen Forschungen über Bienen und Botanik und untersucht die Verbindungen zwischen Natur, Geschichte und Wirtschaft.
­


Zusätzliche Informationen