Skip to main content
Deutsches Theater in Berlin by night
Deutsches Theater in Berlin © Arno Declair

Deutsches Theater Berlin

A sustained commitment to contemporary theatre

The acclaimed Deutsches Theater Berlin ensemble presents classics and cutting-edge contemporary theatre – with English surtitles for some productions.

Tickets

The perfect way to start an evening at the theatre – strolling across a spreading square, enjoying the elegant neo-classical architecture. The impressive façade of the Deutsches Theater Berlin is to the right and the Kammerspiele, dating from the early twentieth century, to the left. The centrally located Deutsches Theater restaurant is also ideal for relaxing before or after a show.

The theatre’s repertoire includes both traditional and modern classics from Chekhov to Sartre, Ibsen and Goethe – as well as many works by contemporary playwrights. Under artistic director Ulrich Khuon, the Deutsches Theater Berlin has also expanded its commitment to contemporary theatre, staging works by such modern playwrights as  Lukas Bärfuß, Dea Loher, Wolfram Lotz, Roland Schimmelpfennig, Ferdinand Schmalz and Nis-Momme Stockmann, and presenting many of these productions as world premières. Every spring, the Deutsches Theater also hosts the two-week Autorentheatertage festival of contemporary drama, underlining its aim of providing a new impetus to enrich modern German theatre.

An award-winning reputation

The Deutsches Theater’s success only goes to confirm its approach. The Deutsches Theatre has frequently been invited to present its productions at the prestigious Theatertreffen festival. The Deutsches Theater and the Baracke des DT were already voted as theater of the year three times in the critics' survey of the theater magazine "Theater heute". The Deutsches Theatre productions and the ensemble have won an array of prizes including, in October 2013, artistic director Ulrich Khuon’s award of the esteemed Max-Reinhardt-Ring, presented by the German Association of Stage Workers (GDBA).

The theatre has particularly supported collaborations with directors with distinctive styles, such as Andreas Kriegenburg, Stephan Kimmig, Stefan Pucher, Michael Thalheimer and Tom Kühnel/Jürgen Kuttner. The ensemble also includes many prominent actors in German theatre and media from Corinna Harfouch and Maren Eggert to Samuel Finzi, Susanne Wolff, Ulrich Matthes and Bernd Stempel.

More than just one theatre

In 1883, the Schumannstraße building became the home of the highly-acclaimed Deutsches Theater ensemble. Constructed in 1850 as the Friedrich-Wilhelm-Städtisches Theater, the stage was originally home to comedies and operettas. In contrast, the Deutsches Theater, founded by theatre critic Adolph L’Arronge, increasingly presented straight theatre, and has successfully retained that focus ever since.

The intimate auditorium of the main stage, which dates back to 1850, provides seating for 600. In 1906, then artistic director Max Reinhardt established the Kammerspiele in the neighbouring building. Specifically intended for modern drama, the Kammerspiele can seat audiences of up to 230. In 2006, the Deutsches Theater then added the Box, a third stage specifically for young directors to present new works and topical subjects. The compact black box stage, located in the Kammerspiele foyer, has around 80 seats.

Tickets

Opening hours

Monday 11:00 – 18:30
Tuesday 11:00 – 18:30
Wednesday 11:00 – 18:30
Thursday 11:00 – 18:30
Friday 11:00 – 18:30
Saturday 11:00 – 18:30
Sunday 15:00 – 18:30

Find further information here

Direkt zum Inhalt
Das Deutsche Theater in Berlin in der Dunkelheit
Das Deutsche Theater © Arno Declair

Deutsches Theater Berlin

Hartnäckige Zuneigung für zeitgenössisches Theater

Es zeigt klassische Stücke, ist aber vor allem für die zeitgenössischen bekannt und preisgekrönt: das Deutsche Theater Berlin mit seinen drei Bühnen.

Tickets

So stellt man sich seinen klassischen Theaterbesuch vor: Hinter einem offenen freien Platz ragt ein elegantes klassizistisches Gebäude auf – rechts das Deutsche Theater, links die Kammerspiele und in der Mitte ein kleiner Biergarten, der viele angeregte Diskussionen in der Theaterkantine erahnen lässt. Der Blick auf den Spielplan bestätigt ein klassisches Repertoire von Tschechow über Sartre und Ibsen zu Goethe – und zeigt zugleich viele zeitgenössische Stücke.

Mit der hartnäckigen Zuneigung für zeitgenössisches Theater überschreibt Intendant Ulrich Khuon seine Spielstätte, das Deutsche Theater Berlin. Und so ist es: Autoren wie Lukas Bärfuß, Dea Loher, Wolfram Lotz, Roland Schimmelpfennig, Ferdinand Schmalz und Nis-Momme Stockmann finden sich im Programm, viele Stücke werden als Uraufführungen gezeigt. Die Autorentheatertage im Frühjahr widmen sich ebenfalls der zeitgenössischen Dramatik und unterstreichen den Anspruch des Deutschen Theaters, in diesem Bereich neue Impulse zu setzen.

Preisgekrönt und prominent

Der Erfolg gibt dem Theater recht: Es wurde bereits mit mehreren Stücken zum Berliner Theatertreffen eingeladen. Das Deutsche Theater und die Baracke des DT wurden in der Kritikerumfrage der Theaterzeitschrift "Theater heute" bereits drei Mal zum Theater des Jahres gewählt. Zu den vielen weiteren Auszeichnungen für Produktionen und Ensemble gehört der Max-Reinhardt-Ring, der Ulrich Khuon im Oktober 2013 von der Genossenschaft Deutscher Bühnen-Angehöriger verliehen wurde.

Neben prägnanten Regisseuren wie Andreas Kriegenburg, Stephan Kimmig, Stefan Pucher, Michael Thalheimer oder Tom Kühnel/Jürgen Kuttner zeichnet sich die Bühne durch eine renommierte Besetzung aus. Corinna Harfouch, Maren Eggert, Samuel Finzi, Susanne Wolff, Ulrich Matthes und Bernd Stempel sind nur einige der bekannten Namen aus der Schauspielerriege des Deutschen Theaters.

In jeder Ecke steckt Theater

Seit 1883 spielt das hochgelobte Ensemble des Deutschen Theaters Berlin im Haus an der Schumannstraße. Zuvor wurden hier im Friedrich-Wilhelmstädtischen Theater überwiegend Lustspiele und Operetten aufgeführt. Mit der Gründung des DT durch den Theaterkritiker Adolph L’Arronge setzte sich hier zunehmend anspruchsvolles Sprechtheater durch – ein Konzept, das bis heute erfolgreich ist.

Die Hauptbühne des DT befindet sich im Großen Haus und bietet 600 Zuschauern Platz. Daneben finden vor bis zu 230 Gästen weitere Aufführungen in den 1906 vom damaligen Intendanten Max Reinhardt eingerichteten Kammerspielen statt. Im Foyer der Kammerspiele eröffnete zudem 2006 eine schwarze Box mit etwa 80 Zuschauerplätzen. Hier präsentieren junge Regisseure in intimer Atmosphäre zeitgenössische Inszenierungen mit modernen Ausdrucksformen.

 

Tickets kaufen

Öffnungszeiten

Montag 11:00 – 18:30
Dienstag 11:00 – 18:30
Mittwoch 11:00 – 18:30
Donnerstag 11:00 – 18:30
Freitag 11:00 – 18:30
Samstag 11:00 – 18:30
Sonntag 15:00 – 18:30

Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen