Skip to main content
Maxim Gorki Theater
Maxim Gorki Theater © visitBerlin, Foto: Wolfgang Scholvien

Maxim Gorki Theater

A theatre for the city – inclusive, critical and participatory

At the Maxim Gorki Theatre, you don’t just sit in the audience – you join in the debate and have your say! Experience contemporary theatre at its best.

Tickets

Down on Unter den Linden boulevard, in the heart of Berlin, Maxim Gorki Theatre has a mission – turning the spotlight on social changes and upheavals, both on stage as well as off. The 17-person ensemble around in-house directors Nurkan Erpulat, Sebastian Nübling and Yael Ronen has developed a powerful repertoire of literary premières, contemporary works and research projects.

X and Я – Join in and have your say!

The Я [ya] in GOЯKI is the last letter in the Russian alphabet, and it also means ‘I’ – which is eminently appropriate since the Maxim Gorki Theatre stands for self-definition and self-determination. This approach is vibrantly alive in Studio Я, the studio stage, with discussions, concerts and projects under artistic director Marianna Salzmann, who is also the in-house author.

The Gorki X – School, Club and Laboratory also plays a key role here as well, since it stands for free space in all its many facets. Gorki X is open for everyone from amateurs to professionals to join in, have their say, and experiment. The focus is not just on staging encounters in and with theatre, but also critically exploring the world around us, the world we live in. It’s a big topic, and encourages big discussions – which can be wonderfully continued in the theatre cafeteria!

Tip: Before starting your evening at the Maxim Gorki Theatre, check out the Gorki theatre column at http://kolumne.gorki.de/.

Theatre for all – with English surtitles

The Maxim Gorki Theatre is one of Berlin’s municipal theatres – and so artistic directors Shermin Langhoff and Jens Hillje seek to ensure that this stage is right at the heart of the city, not only geographically. Shermin Langhoff had already founded post-migrant theatre at the arts centre Ballhaus Naunynstraße – an approach she has further expanded since she became artistic director at the theatre in the 2013/14 season.

The Maxim Gorki Theatre celebrates diversity – from roots to religions, gender and identities. And to ensure that the audiences are just as diverse as the plays and topics on stage, all productions have English surtitles from the second performance on.

Outstanding!

The Gorki brings onto the stage all those contemporary issues and themes long missing in modern theatre – an approach that has definitely borne fruit. The Maxim Gorki Theater has already been voted the theater of the year twice in the critics' survey of the theater magazine "Theater heute", one of Germany’s leading theatre magazines. Since then, for two consecutive years Gorki productions have been invited to take part in the prestigious Theatertreffen festival (Common Ground, 2015, The Situation, 2016). The Gorki has won a series of other awards, confirming its commitment to its present course and development.

Contemporary theatre in Berlin’s oldest concert hall

In 1827, a concert hall for the Berliner Singakademie choral society was the original building on this site. But the concert hall, designed by Karl Friedrich Schinkel, probably Berlin’s most famous architect, was severely damaged in the Second World War. The neo-classical building was rebuilt in the post-war years and opened as a straight theatre venue.

Founded in 1952 in then East Berlin, the Maxim Gorki Theatre was dedicated to contemporary theatre. Initially, the programme focused on Russian and Soviet realist productions, but the Gorki also staged the world premières of Heiner Müller’s Die Korrektur (The Correction) or Alfred Matusche’s Nacktes Gras. Over the years, the Maxim Gorki Theatre increasingly developed a stage programme critically engaging with contemporary issues and concerns – a spirit that still guides the theatre today.

 

Book your ticket

Opening hours

Monday 12:00 – 18:30
Tuesday 12:00 – 18:30
Wednesday 12:00 – 18:30
Thursday 12:00 – 18:30
Friday 12:00 – 18:30
Saturday 12:00 – 18:30
Sun + public holidays 16:00 – 18:30

Find further information here

Direkt zum Inhalt
Maxim Gorki Theater
Maxim Gorki Theater © visitBerlin, Foto: Wolfgang Scholvien

Maxim Gorki Theater

Das Gorki schaut hin und mischt sich ein

Im Maxim Gorki Theater sitzen Sie nicht einfach nur im Publikum – hier ist mitreden und diskutieren ausdrücklich erwünscht. Schauen Sie sich Gegenwartstheater an.

Tickets

Im Herzen Berlins am Boulevard Unter den Linden macht sich das Maxim Gorki Theater daran, gesellschaftliche Umbrüche ins Rampenlicht zu setzen – auf der Bühne, aber auch darüber hinaus. Das Repertoire des 17-köpfigen Ensembles um die Hausregisseure Nurkan Erpulat, Sebastian Nübling und Yael Ronen umfasst literarische Uraufführungen, Gegenwartsstücke und Rechercheprojekte.

Das X und das Я – Mitreden ausdrücklich erwünscht

Das Я [ja] in GOЯKI ist der letzte Buchstabe im russischen Alphabet und bedeutet „Ich“, denn am Maxim Gorki Theater geht es um Selbstbestimmung und Selbstverortung. Das wird auch in der Studiobühne, dem Studio Я, mit Diskussionen, Konzerten und Projekten gelebt. Die Leitung hat hier die Schriftstellerin Marianna Salzmann, die zugleich Hausautorin ist.

Auch das X spielt eine wichtige Rolle, es steht für Freiraum in all seinen Facetten. Das Gorki X –Schule, Club und Labor lädt vom Laien bis zum Profi alle ein, mitzumischen und zu experimentieren. Hier geht es um spielerische Begegnungen im und mit dem Theater, aber auch um die Auseinandersetzung mit der Welt, in der wir leben. Die großen Diskussionen lassen sich auch wunderbar in der Theaterkantine fortsetzen!

Tipp: Schon vor dem Theaterbesuch können Sie sich in der Theaterkolumne des Gorki http://kolumne.gorki.de/ einstimmen.

Theater für alle – mit englischen Übertiteln

Das Maxim Gorki Theater ist eines der Berliner Stadttheater. Als solches ist es den künstlerischen Leitern Shermin Langhoff und Jens Hillje wichtig, nicht nur geografisch in der Mitte der Stadt zu stehen. Am Ballhaus Naunynstraße hatte Langhoff bereits den Begriff des postmigrantischen Theaters geprägt, der seit ihrer Intendanz ab der Spielzeit 2013|14 am Gorki erweitert wird.

Herkunft, Religion, Gender, Identitäten: Das Gorki bringt Vielfalt auf den Spielplan. Damit sich alle interessierten Berliner und Besucher nicht nur in den Stücken, sondern auch im Publikum wiederfinden, sind alle Inszenierungen ab der zweiten Vorstellung mit englischen Übertiteln ausgestattet.

Ausgezeichnet!

Im Gorki werden Themen der Gegenwart auf die Bühne gebracht, die lange im Theater vermisst wurden. Und das Konzept geht auf. Das Maxim Gorki Theater wurde in der Kritikerumfrage der Theaterzeitschrift "Theater heute" bereits zwei Mal zum Theater des Jahres gewählt und zweimal in Folge wurden Stücke des Gorki zum Berliner Theatertreffen eingeladen (Common Ground, 2015, The Situation, 2016). Dazu kommen weitere Auszeichnungen, die das Gorki auf seinem Weg bestätigen.

Theater der Gegenwart im ältesten Konzertsaal Berlins

Bis zur Zerstörung des Hauses im Zweiten Weltkrieg fanden im Maxim Gorki Theater die Konzerte des ältesten gemischten Berliner Chores statt, denn das von Karl Friedrich Schinkel entworfene Gebäude wurde 1827 zum Konzertsaal der Sing-Akademie zu Berlin. Erst nach dem Krieg wurde der klassizistische Bau als Sprechtheater eröffnet.

Seit 1952 wird hier unter dem Namen Maxim Gorki Gegenwartstheater aufgeführt. Ursprünglich standen Texte des russischen und sowjetischen Realismus auf dem Spielplan, aber auch die Uraufführungen von Heiner Müllers Die Korrektur oder Alfred Matusches Nacktes Gras. Im Laufe der Jahre behauptete sich am Maxim Gorki Theater zunehmend ein Bühnenprogramm, das sich kritisch mit den Problemen der Gegenwart auseinandersetzte. In diesem Sinne wird es bis heute geführt.

 

Tickets

Öffnungszeiten

Montag 12:00 – 18:30
Dienstag 12:00 – 18:30
Mittwoch 12:00 – 18:30
Donnerstag 12:00 – 18:30
Freitag 12:00 – 18:30
Samstag 12:00 – 18:30
So + Feiertage 16:00 – 18:30