Skip to main content
 Renaissance Theater in Berlin Charlottenburg. Berlins Art Deco theatre
Renaissance Theatre Berlin © Renaissance-Theater, Foto: Florian Profitlich

Renaissance-Theater

Berlin’s sophisticated Art Deco theatre

International contemporary drama and critical examination of present topics are what make the Renaissance-Theater so exciting.

Tickets

Berlin’s Renaissance-Theater on Knesebeckstraße in Charlottenburg is the only fully surviving Art Deco theatre in Europe. Its focus under the artistic directorship of Horst-H. Filohn is on international contemporary drama, and its schedule is dominated by national and international premieres of works by prize-winning playwrights.

As well as the main productions you can attend readings and events such as the literary excursions, where biographies and new publications are presented, as well as musical and literary programmes in the Bruckner Foyer.

In recent years, plays such as Der letzte Vorhang with Suzanne von Borsody and Entartete Kunst – Der Fall Cornelius Gurlitt were very well received.

The 2016/2017 season will see top-ranking actors such as Katharina Thalbach, Boris Aljinović and Guntbert Warns on the stage.

Thanks to its many tours of German-speaking countries, the Renaissance-Theater’s productions are highly regarded outside Berlin too.

The history of the Renaissance-Theater

The Renaissance-Theater began in 1922 with Gotthold Ephraim Lessing’s Miss Sara Sampson. Its first director was the Austrian author Theodor Tagger, who under the pseudonym Ferdinand Bruckner became one of the most successful dramatists of the Weimar Republic.

During the Nazi period the theatre had to close, but it opened again shortly after the end of the war. With a combination of literary sophistication and entertainment, the theatre succeeded in establishing itself as a stage for the very best actors, and Helene Weigel, Otto Sander, Curt Goetz and many others have appeared on its stage.

The architecture of the Renaissance-Theater

Several years after the theatre was founded, the interior furnishings of the now-listed building were converted by the renowned architect Oskar Kaufmann in the Art Deco style of the 1920s with elements of rococo and expressionism. As well as the red rosewood panelling and the variety of decorative forms, one of the most striking objects is the auditorium’s large intarsia mural with motives of the Commedia dell’Arte. This jewel of theatrical architecture is something which has to be seen.

Tickets

Opening hours

ticket box office monday to friday 10:30 – 19:00
Saturday 10:00 – 19:00
Sunday 13:00 – 17:00
Opening hours (additional information)


 

Find further information here

Direkt zum Inhalt
Renaissance-Theater
Zuschauerraum des Renaissance Theaters © Renaissance-Theater, Foto: Florian Profitlich

Renaissance-Theater

Berlins anspruchsvolles Art-Decó-Theater

Internationale Dramen der Gegenwart und die kritische Auseinandersetzung mit Themen unserer Zeit machen das Renaissance-Theater so spannend.

Tickets

Das Berliner Renaissance-Theater in der Charlottenburger Knesebeckstraße ist das einzige vollständig erhaltene Art-Déco-Theater Europas. Seinen Fokus legt das Haus unter der Intendanz von Horst-H. Filohn auf internationale Gegenwartsdramatik. In diesem Sinne bestimmen Ur- und Erstaufführung international preisgekrönter Autoren das Programm des Hauses.

Neben den Hauptproduktionen können Sie hier Lesungen und Veranstaltungen wie die Literarischen Streifzüge, in denen Biografien und Neuerscheinungen vorgestellt werden, und musikalisch-literarische Programme im Bruckner-Foyer erleben.

In den letzten Jahren erhielten Stücke wie Der letzte Vorhang mit Suzanne von Borsody oder Entartete Kunst – Der Fall Cornelius Gurlitt großen Publikumszuspruch.

Auch in der Spielzeit 2016/2017 stehen hochkarätige Schauspieler wie Katharina Thalbach, Boris Aljinović oder Guntbert Warns auf der Bühne.

Die Produktionen des Renaissance-Theaters finden dank umfangreicher Gastspieltätigkeit im deutschsprachigen Raum auch über die Grenzen Berlins starke Beachtung.

Geschichte des Renaissance-Theaters

Seinen Spielbetrieb eröffnete das Renaissance-Theater 1922 mit Gotthold Ephraim Lessings Miss Sara Sampson. Erster Direktor war der österreichische Schriftsteller Theodor Tagger, der unter dem Pseudonym Ferdinand Bruckner zu einem erfolgreichen Dramatiker der Weimarer Republik avancierte.

Während der NS-Zeit musste das Theater schließen, konnte jedoch kurz nach Kriegsende wieder eröffnen. Mit einer Kombination aus literarischem Anspruch und Unterhaltung gelang es dem Theater, sich weiterhin als Schauspieler-Theater zu etablieren. Bekannte Akteure wie Helene Weigel, Otto Sander, Curt Goetz und viele andere standen bereits auf der Bühne.

Architektur des Renaissance-Theaters

Die Inneneinrichtung des heute unter Denkmalschutz stehenden Theaterhauses wurde einige Jahre nach der Gründung des Theaters vom renommierten Architekten Oskar Kaufmann im Art-Déco-Stil der 1920er mit Elementen des Rokoko und des Expressionismus umgebaut. Neben der Bekleidung aus rötlichem Rosenholz und der dekorativen Formenvielfalt besticht besonders ein großflächiges Intarsienwandbild mit Motiven der Commedia dell’Arte im Zuschauerraum – schauen Sie sich diesen Juwel der Theaterarchitektur einmal mit eigenen Augen an.

Tickets

Öffnungszeiten

Theaterkasse Montag bis Freitag 10:30 – 19:00
Samstag 10:00 – 19:00
Sonntag 13:00 – 17:00