Skip to main content
Schlosspark Theater in Berlin Steglitz
Schlosspark Theater Berlin © Pressestelle BA Steglitz-Zehlendorf

Schlosspark Theater

Sophisticated entertainment

Closed until 31 July. - With well-known actors in entertaining yet challenging productions, the Schlosspark Theater in the south of Berlin provides the finest in sophisticated boulevard theatre.

Tickets

Dieter Hallervorden is best known for his silly sketches, but under his stewardship the famous old theatre in Steglitz has gained a solid reputation for entertainment of a more highbrow kind. The Schlosspark Theater has no ensemble of its own, but each year it puts on half a dozen of its own productions, as well as a series of guest productions. There won’t be bold and experimental direction, but there will be sophisticated and entertaining theatre with well-known actors.

The Wrangelschlösschen

Ever since 1921, the Schlosspark Theater has been situated in the southern suburb of Zehlendorf in an idyllic villa called the Wrangelschlösschen. After the war, it made theatrical history when Hildegard Knef made her stage debut. Samuel Beckett also produced his most successful play Waiting For Godot at the Schlosspark Theater. With the première of Max Brod’s adaptation of Kafka’s The Castle, the theatre was awarded the German Critics’ Prize in 1953.
In 1950, it became one of Berlin’s state-owned theatres and was the smallest venue of the Schiller Theater, until in the early 1990s it was first closed for refurbishment, and then returned to private ownership.

In the following years as a private theatre, the Schlosspark Theater changed artistic and commercial directors several times. Then, on the initiative of the actor and comedian Dieter Hallervorden, it was extensively rebuilt and refurbished, and ceremonially reopened in autumn 2009. Along with Ilja Richter, Hallervorden himself appeared in Katharina Thalbach’s production of Daniel Colas’s Die Socken Opus 124.

What’s on at the Schlosspark Theater

The Schlosspark Theater has now regained its status as one of the premier theatres in the city. One thing that make it special is its varied programme. The theatre’s own productions, always with a star-studded cast, run after the première in blocks of four to six performances over several months. On the stage there are popular and famous actors such as Hannelore Hoger, Peter Sattmann, Jörg Schüttauf and of course Dieter Hallervorden.

In between, there are guests appearances by big names with solo shows, readings and cabaret shows.

Information for schools

At the YAS Junges Schlosspark Theater, schoolchildren, students and apprentices perform together. The youth theatre group rediscovers classics and tackles contemporary society.
In cooperation with the LiteraturInitiative Berlin, it puts on readings for children and young people. In July and August, anyone up to 16 years of age gets in free.

Please note that all performances are in German.


Schloßstraße

Schloßstraße in Berlin
Schloßstraße in the evening © visitBerlin, Foto: Wolfgang Scholvien

Before you visit the Schlosspark Theater, why not go on a shopping trip? After all, the theatre is on one of the biggest and most popular shopping streets in Berlin. Two imposing 1970s buildings dominate the street – the Kreisel and the Bierpinsel. The Kreisel is a rather plain tower block, but the Bierpinsel with its striking architecture is one of the most unusual buildings in the whole of Berlin. Unfortunately it has been empty for some time, so you can’t enjoy a beer there, but you can get one, as well as typical Berlin food, at the Hoppegarten, a traditional old Steglitz pub.
Right next to the Schlosspark Theater you can take a trip back to the 1950s. The Adria Filmtheater looks just like it did back then – even if it does show the latest films.

Find out more about the city’s neighbourhoods with our Going Local Berlin app.

Tickets

Opening hours

ticket box office monday to saturday 10:00 – 19:00
Sunday 14:00 – 17:00

Direkt zum Inhalt
Schlosspark Theater
Schlosspark Theater Berlin © Pressestelle BA Steglitz-Zehlendorf

Schlosspark Theater

Das Motto ist Programm: Geist mit Humor

Bekannte Schauspieler in unterhaltsamen und zugleich anspruchsvollen Produktionen: Das Schlosspark Theater im Süden Berlins zeigt gehobenes Boulevardtheater vom Feinsten.

Tickets

Mehr als nur Palim Palim: Das Traditionstheater in Steglitz hat sich unter der Leitung von Dieter Hallervorden zu einer festen Institution für anspruchsvolles Unterhaltungstheater entwickelt. Das Schlosspark Theater besitzt kein eigenes Ensemble, es zeigt jedes Jahr circa sechs Eigenproduktionen und dazu eine Reihe von Gastspielen. In seinem Repertoire finden sich keine gewagten Regieexperimente, sondern gehobenes Unterhaltungstheater mit bekannten Schauspielern.

Das Wrangelschlösschen

In einer idyllischen Villa im Süden Berlins, dem Wrangelschlösschen, befindet sich das Schlosspark Theater. Das Schlosspark Theater nahm seinen Spielbetrieb bereits 1921 im Wrangelschlösschen in Berlin-Zehlendorf auf. In der Nachkriegszeit wurde hier Theatergeschichte geschrieben: Hildegard Knef feierte auf dieser Bühne ihr Theaterdebüt. Samuel Beckett inszenierte sein erfolgreichstes Stück Warten auf Godot ebenfalls im Schlosspark Theater. Mit der Uraufführung von Max Brods Das Schloss wurde das Theater 1953 mit dem Deutschen Kritikerpreis ausgezeichnet.
Ab 1950 diente das Haus als eines der Berliner Staatstheater als kleine Spielstätte des Schiller Theaters in Berlin-Charlottenburg, bis es Anfang der 1990er Jahre zunächst für Renovierungsarbeiten, danach als Staatliche Schauspielbühne Berlin geschlossen wurde.

In den Folgejahren wechselte das Schlosspark Theater als Privattheater mehrmals Intendanz und Veranstalter. Auf Betreiben des Schauspielers und Komikers Dieter Hallervorden wurde das Theater nach aufwendigen Umbau- und Renovierungsarbeiten im Herbst 2009 feierlich wiedereröffnet. Zusammen mit Ilja Richter stand Hallervorden in Katharina Thalbachs Inszenierung von Daniel Colas’ Die Socken Opus 124 zur Eröffnung selbst auf der Bühne.

Der Spielplan des Schlosspark Theaters

Das Schlosspark Theater zählt mittlerweise wieder zu einer der ersten Theateradressen in der Hauptstadt. Eine Besonderheit stellt der vielseitige Spielplan dar. Die hauseigenen Inszenierungen, immer mit prominenten Besetzungen, laufen nach der Premiere in Blöcken von vier bis sechs Aufführungen über mehrere Monate. Auf der Bühne stehen bekannte und beliebte Schauspieler wie Hannelore Hoger, Peter Sattmann, Jörg Schüttauf und natürlich Dieter Hallervorden.

Dazwischen gastieren große Namen mit ihren Soloprogrammen, Lesungen und Kabrattveranstaltungen. Geplant ist für 2016 eine Bühnenversion des Erfolgsfilms Honig im Kopf, in dem Achim Wolff die Rolle von Dieter Hallervorden aus dem Film übernimmt.

Infos für Schüler

Im YAS Junges Schlosspark Theater spielen Schüler, Studenten und Auszubildende gemeinsam Theater. Die Jugendtheatergruppe entdeckt Klassiker neu und nähert sich in den aktuellen gesellschaftlichen Fragen der Zeit.
In Kooperation mit der LiteraturInitiative Berlin werden Lesungen für Kinder und Jugendliche ausgerichtet. In den Monaten Juli und August wird Kindern und Jugendlichen bis 16 Jahren freier Eintritt gewährt.

Die Schloßstraße

Rathaus Steglitz
Blick auf die Schlossstraße und Rathhaus Steglitz © visitBerlin, Foto: Wolfgang Scholvien

Steglitz-Zehlendorf, Rathaus Steglitz, Schlossstraße, Shoppingmall Das Schloss

Planen Sie vor dem Besuch im Schlosspark Theater einen Shoppingbummel ein: Denn schließlich liegt das Theater doch an einer der größten und beliebtesten Einkaufsstraßen Berlins. Zwei markante Gebäude aus den 1970ern dominieren die Straße: der Kreisel und der Bierpinsel. Der Kreisel ist ein unspektakuläres Hochhaus, hingegen der Bierpinsel mit seiner auffälligen Architektur zu den originellsten Bauten in ganz Berlin zählt. Leider steht er seit einiger Zeit leer, daher können Sie dort kein Bier trinken. Das und typische Berliner Gerichte bekommen Sie im Hoppegarten, ein altes Steglitzer Traditionshaus.


Eine Zeitreise in die 1950er können Sie direkt neben dem Schlosspark Theater unternehmen: Im Adria Filmtheater sieht es aus wie damals – auch wenn Filme von heute laufen.

Mehr über Berlins Kieze verrät Ihnen unsere Berlin-App Going Local.

Tickets

Öffnungszeiten

Theaterkasse
Montag 10:00 – 19:00
Dienstag 10:00 – 19:00
Mittwoch 10:00 – 19:00
Donnerstag 10:00 – 19:00
Freitag 10:00 – 19:00
Samstag 10:00 – 19:00
Sonntag 14:00 – 17:00