Skip to main content
Festival of Lights
Festival of Lights in Berlin © berlin-lights.com, Foto: Verworner

Berlin Weeks

Each week is unique

In Berlin, you can visit trade fairs, congresses or conferences on the widest variety of issues almost every week of the year. From fashion, to music, all the way to delicacies: the German capital has developed into a hotspot for professional visitors from around the globe. Here you will discover the newest trends and make contacts at the shows, galleries, booths and performances.

January: Green Week

Berliner Funkturm at Messe/ICC Berlin
Berliner Funkturm at ICC Berlin © iStock.com; Foto: TommL

Once a year Berlin attracts you with a unique experience: the International Green Week Berlin is unparalleled worldwide. This year, the trade fair for the food industry invites you digitally. The leading global trade fair for agriculture, food and horticulture sets standards and brings the current topics of the industry online: Follow topics such as animal welfare and climate protection, regional value chains "from farm to fork" or cooking with algae and insect meal in more than 100 contributions free of charge.

The next International Green Week Berlin will take place from 20 to 29 January 2023.

International Green Week Berlin

March: Berlin Fashion Week

Fashion Week Berlin
Fashion Week Berlin © visitberlin, Foto: Wolfgang Scholvien

Twice a year (January and September) you can marvel at the international fashion world in Berlin. At Berlin Fashion Week, the capital is transformed into a catwalk. Designers, models, celebrities and press: everyone is on the lookout for the latest trends at the numerous shows, exhibitions and events.

The highlights of Fashion Week are the fashion shows where the labels present their new collections. This year with digital and hybrid platforms. Immerse yourself in the world of fashion, explore Berlin's innovative look and enjoy the designers' new creations.

Berlin Fashion Week took place from 14 to 20 March 2022.

April: Games Week

Museum at Kulturbrauerei Berlin
Museum at Kulturbrauerei Berlin © Stiftung Haus der Geschichte, Foto: Stephan Klonk

What fan of video games doesn't dream of this: playing games that haven't been released yet, testing the latest consoles and devices, and getting to know the developers of their favourite game to boot. At Games Week you have the chance to do just that. Europe's largest video game fair connects the trade public with game enthusiasts from Germany, Europe and the world.

At Gamefest, for example, you can meet video game fans at the Computer Games Museum and the Old Fire Station to play through the latest games on the latest devices. At Quo Vadis you have the opportunity to meet developers, publishers and investors. The A Maze connects the indie scene of creators, developers, musicians and enthusiasts. In the interactive exhibition you can also test previously unreleased games.

At Game Cinema you will learn about the close links between the world of games and the world of cinema. And the Womenize! action day is all about women in the media and technology industry.

Gamefest is scheduled to take place in the summer this year.

May / June: Berlin Design Week

Exhibition at BERLIN DESIGN WEEK 2019
Exhibition at BERLIN DESIGN WEEK 2019 © Foto: JMauloubier

For one week, the whole of Berlin shows what it can do in terms of design. During the Berlin Design Week you can experience the diverse Berlin and international design scene. At over 40 locations and with around 100 national and international participants, Berlin Design Week shows the creative potential of the capital's design scene. In addition, designers and companies present their latest collections and prototypes here.

The next Berlin Design Week will take place from 12 May to 22 May 2022.

Berlin Design Week

July: Pride Berlin

gay pride balloons
© Getty Images, Foto: JamesTung

During Pride Week, you can take part in a colourful party for cosmopolitanism and tolerance for three weeks. The LGBTI* scene wraps the entire city in rainbow flags and bangs the drum against homophobia and transphobia. Celebrate with us, set a sign against discrimination and for respect and enjoy this unique spectacle. Europe's Queer Capital Berlin invites you to the weirdest party in town.

The CSD Parade as the crowning event will take place on July 23, 2022.

August: Pop Culture

Kulturbrauerei Berlin
Kulturbrauerei Berlin © TLG-Immobilien

It used to be called Berlin Music Week, now it's called Pop Culture. The plan is to experience international artists live again this year. If everything goes according to plan, at Pop Cultur you will have the opportunity to meet a wide variety of players in the music scene. You can talk to producers, discuss with representatives of music labels or exchange ideas with young musicians, for example. After all, the promotion of young musicians is a top priority here, in addition to the live events.

Live music wherever your ears reach.

Take in world premieres by newcomers and established musicians alike. Stand in the front row when some artists perform their commissioned works, i.e. works specially commissioned for the occasion. Or be surprised by new collaborations between regional and international artists.

You can also attend numerous readings, exhibitions or films about music. Don't miss the lectures and discussions during the festival, where scientists explain current trends and currents.

The next Pop Culture will take place from 24 to 26 August 2022.

Pop-Kultur

August: Berlin Mural Fest

Artpark Tegel
Mural in Berlin © visitBerlin, Foto: Maxi-Lena Schuleit

In August, the Berlin Mural Fest finally starts again. On 4 September, it ends with the BMF Nightwalk and you can view the new murals in the spotlight. The pandemic has hit the artists especially hard and so this year the local heroes of the scene will be supported. Different collectives will be packed together to create artwork that fits the respective neighbourhood and mixes the murals with the different styles and techniques of the artists combos.

The next Berlin Mural Fest will take place in August until 4 September 2021.

September: Berlin Beer Week

BRLO BRWHOUSE Biere
© Seren Dal/BRLO

Hops, malt and water: at first glance, beer is a fairly simple affair - and yet every beer unfolds its very special taste. At Berlin Beer Week you can celebrate this diversity. For ten days a year, beer is the number one talk of the town in Berlin: brewers, traders and beer lovers come together here to talk about brewing methods and fermentation times.

Taste your way through the many different beers. What do you fancy: more traditional or more modern? Hoppy, tart or drinkable? Full-bodied or tangy? Find your favourite and exchange ideas with the brewers about the taste details of the individual beers.

The events are as unusual as the brewing methods. For example, you can taste your beer in a pop-up beer garden, go to a Beerlesque show, take part in a show brewing or let yourself be sailed over the Spree while you enjoy it, for example if you book a beer tasting on a steamer.

In addition, every year you can try the official festival beer that the participating locations serve. So there are plenty of incentives at Beer Week for a tasty trip to Berlin.

The next Berlin Beer Week will take place from 2 to 11 September 2022.

Berlin Beer Week

September: Berlin Art Week

Berlin Art Week
Berlin Art Week © visitBerlin, Foto: Jan Frontzek

It's written thick and bold in the diaries of art dealers and gallery owners: Berlin Art Week is one of the most important events for contemporary art. Every autumn, you can take part in more than 100 exhibitions, fairs, award ceremonies or other art-related events in the capital.

Capital for contemporary art

The fairs and exhibitions are known for their innovative character. So look forward to new artistic positions and see how lively the art scene is. Here you will traditionally find international newcomers alongside established gallery owners. Here you will meet artists, collectors and museum directors at numerous panel discussions. And here you can take in performances, shows and installations.

Berlin's art and culture producers will also convince you with their creativity and commitment. Whether with exhibitions by institutes, private collections or several galleries that are thematically coordinated: The German capital has now earned a reputation as an attractive and innovative art metropolis.

The next Berlin Art Week will take place from 14 to 18 September 2022.

Berlin Art Week

October: Festival of Light Weeks

Festival of Lights mit der Berlin City Tour
Festival of lights Berlin © BCT, Foto: Katja Hanke

Have you ever seen the Brandenburg Gate entwined with colourful trees and liana? Or the Berlin Cathedral painted with red hearts? Have you ever seen a portrait of Marilyn Monroe at Potsdamer Platz occupying five storeys of a building façade? Every year in October, you can discover similar spectacular light installations throughout the entire city.

Every year, the two events Festival of Lights and Berlin leuchtet (Berlin lights up), ensure that a different, exciting light is shed on various landmarks, squares, interesting places or entire neighbourhoods. National and international artists transform the capital into a great stage. The attractions shine from 7 p.m. until midnight and you can see the installations on a various tours.

Bus tours

  • City tour “Lichterfestival” (Festival of Lights)
  • City tour “Ausflug ins Lichtermeer” (Trip into the sea of lights)
  • City tour by bus and boat “Festival of Lights

Boat trips

  • Boat tour “Lichterfeste” (Festival of Lights) in October
  • Boat tour

Tickets for the Festival of lights city tour

The Festival of Lights lets Berlin shine from October 7 to 16 2022.

Berlin lights will take place again in 2022.

October: Berlin Food Week

Dessert at the Berlin Food Week
Dessert at the Berlin Food Week © Berlin Food Week

Appetite for the most delicious dishes from all over the world? Then Berlin Food Week is the place for you. At Germany's most diverse food festival, chefs, restaurateurs and food manufactures exhibit their food. Feast your way through the delicacies and enjoy both regional and international cuisine.

Berlin becomes a Mecca for gourmets during Food Week. Palate pleasers all over the city. Sautéing, braising, poaching - here you will not only see how chefs prepare food using a wide variety of techniques. You can also try your hand at the new creations - or take up the wooden spoon yourself. In various workshops, you will get the opportunity to put together a menu of your desired dishes with professional guidance and first-class equipment. This year, Berlin Weeks will take place digitally.

The official Berlin Food Week podcast.

The Berlin Food Week to listen to: If you can't make it to the event live, find out what was going on at Berlin Food Week via the podcast. Trends, chefs, start-ups: what moves the Berlin food and gastronomy scene? Johannes Paetzold - foodie, podcaster and author of the Radio Eins column "Paetzolds Pop Cuisine" - reveals.

At the Berlin Food Week you can feast from 10 - 16 October 2022.

Food Week

You can find more events in Berlin's largest calendar of events.

Calendar of Events

Direkt zum Inhalt
Festival of Lights
Festival of Lights in Berlin © berlin-lights.com, Foto: Verworner

Berlin Weeks

Jede Woche ist einzigartig

In Berlin können Sie in fast jeder Woche des Jahres Messen, Kongresse oder Tagungen zu den unterschiedlichsten Themen besuchen. Von Mode über Musik bis hin zu Delikatessen: Die deutsche Hauptstadt hat sich zu einem Hotspot für internationale Fachbesucher entwickelt. Hier entdecken Sie bei den Shows, Galerien, Ständen und Performances die neuesten Trends und knüpfen Kontakte.

Januar: Grüne Woche

Funkturm und ICC
Berliner Funkturm am ICC © iStock.com; Foto: TommL

Einmal im Jahr lockt Sie Berlin mit einem einmaligen Erlebnis: die Internationale Grüne Woche Berlin sucht weltweit Ihresgleichen. Die Messe für Ernährungswirtschaft lädt Sie in diesem Jahr digital ein. Die globale Leitmesse für Landwirtschaft, Ernährung und Gartenbau setzt Maßstäbe und bringt die aktuellen Themen der Branche ins Netz: Verfolgen Sie kostenlos in mehr als 100 Beiträgen Themen wie Tierwohl und Klimaschutz, regionale Wertschöpfungsketten „from farm to fork“ oder Kochen mit Algen und Insektenmehl.

Die nächste  Internationale Grüne Woche Berlin findet vom 20. bis 29. Januar 2023 statt.

 Internationale Grüne Woche Berlin

März: Berlin Fashion Week

Berlin Fashion Week
Fashion Week Berlin © visitberlin, Foto: Wolfgang Scholvien

Zweimal im Jahr (Januar und September) können Sie die internationale Modewelt in Berlin bestaunen. Auf der Berlin Fashion Week verwandelt sich die Hauptstadt zum Laufsteg. Designer, Models, Promis und Presse: alle sind auf der Suche nach den neuesten Trends auf den zahlreichen Shows, Ausstellungen und Events.

Die Highlights der Fashion Week sind die Modeschauen, auf denen die Labels ihre neuen Kollektionen präsentieren. In diesem Jahr mit digitalen und hybriden Plattformen. Tauchen Sie in die Modewelt ein, erkunden Sie den innovativen Look Berlins und genießen Sie die neuen Kreationen der Designer.

Die  Berlin Fashion Week hat vom 14. bis 20. März 2022 stattgefunden.

Fashion Week

April: Gamefest

Museum in der Kulturbrauerei - Stiftung Haus der Geschichte der Bundesrepublik Deutschland
Museum in der Kulturbrauerei Berlin © Stiftung Haus der Geschichte, Foto: Stephan Klonk

Welcher Fan von Videospielen träumt nicht davon: noch nicht veröffentlichte Spiele zocken, die neuesten Konsolen und Geräte testen und dazu noch die Entwickler seines Lieblingsspiels kennenlernen. Auf der Games Week haben Sie die Chance dazu. Die europaweit größte Videospiel-Messe verbindet das Fachpublikum mit Spielebegeisterten aus Deutschland, Europa und der Welt.

Auf dem Gamefest können Sie etwa Videospiel-Fans im Computerspielemuseum und der Alten Feuerwache treffen, um die neuesten Spiele auf den aktuellsten Geräten durchzuspielen. Auf dem Quo Vadis haben Sie die Gelegenheit, Entwickler, Publisher und Investoren kennenzulernen. Das A Maze verbindet die Indieszene der Zeichner, Entwickler, Musiker und Enthusiasten miteinander. In der interaktiven Ausstellung können Sie auch bislang unveröffentlichte Spiele testen.

Auf der Game Cinema lernen Sie die engen Verflechtungen zwischen der Game- und der Kinowelt kennen. Und beim Aktionstag Womenize! geht es um die Frauen in der Medien- und Technologiebranche.

Das Gamefest soll dieses Jahr im Sommer stattfinden.

Mai / Juni: Berlin Design Week

Ausstellung zur BERLIN DESIGN WEEK 2019
Ausstellung BERLIN DESIGN WEEK 2019 © Foto: JMauloubier

Ganz Berlin zeigt eine Woche lang, was es in Punkto Design drauf hat. Während der Berlin Design Week können Sie die vielfältige Berliner und internationalen Designszene erleben. In diesem Jahr wird die Woche digital und physisch das aktuelle Thema “NEW TRADITIONS” in ihren vielfältigen Formaten mehr denn je aufgreifen. An zahlreichen Standorten und online zeigt die Berlin Design Week das kreative Potenzial der Designszene der Hauptstadt. Außerdem präsentieren hier Designer und Unternehmen ihre aktuellsten Kollektionen und Prototypen.

Die nächste Berlin Design Week findet vom 12. bis 22. Mai 2022 statt.

Berlin Design Week

Juli: Pride Week Berlin

gay pride balloons
© Getty Images, Foto: JamesTung

Während der Pride Week können Sie drei Wochen lang an einer kunterbunten Party für Weltoffenheit und Toleranz teilnehmen. Die LGBTI*-Szene hüllt die gesamte Stadt in Regenbogenfahnen und haut gegen Homo- und Transphobie auf die Pauke. Feiern Sie mit, setzen Sie ein Zeichen gegen Diskriminierung und für Respekt und erfreuen Sie sich an diesem einmaligen Spektakel. Europas Queer Capital Berlin lädt Sie ein auf die schrägste Party der Stadt.

Die CSD Parade als krönender Abschluss findet am 23. Juli 2022 statt.

CSD Berlin

August: Pop-Kultur

Kulturbrauerei
Kulturbrauerei Berlin © TLG-Immobilien

Früher hieß es Berlin Music Week, heute Pop-Kultur. Geplant ist auch in diesem Jahr internationale Künstler live zu erleben. Wenn alles nach Plan läuft, haben Sie auf der Pop-Kultur die Gelegenheit, sich mit den unterschiedlichsten Akteuren der Musikszene zu treffen. Sie können sich mit Produzenten unterhalten, mit Vertretern von Musiklabels diskutieren oder sich etwa mit jungen Musikern austauschen. Denn die Nachwuchsförderung wird hier neben den Live-Events großgeschrieben.

Live-Musik wohin die Ohren reichen

Lassen Sie Uraufführungen von Newcomern und etablierten Musikern gleichermaßen auf sich wirken. Stellen Sie sich in die erste Reihe, wenn manche Künstler ihre Commissioned Works aufführen, also speziell für diesen Anlass in Auftrag gegebene Werke. Oder lassen Sie sich von neuen Kollaborationen regionaler sowie internationaler Künstler überraschen.

Darüber hinaus können Sie zahlreichen Lesungen, Ausstellungen oder Filmen über Musik beiwohnen. Lassen Sie sich auch nicht die Vorträge und Diskussionsrunden während des Festivals entgehen, auf denen Wissenschaftler aktuelle Trends und Strömungen erklären.

Die nächste Pop-Kultur findet vom 24. bis 26. August 2022 statt.

Pop-Kultur

August: Berlin Mural Fest

Artpark Tegel
Mural in Berlin © visitBerlin, Foto: Maxi-Lena Schuleit

Im August startet endlich wieder das Berlin Mural Fest. Am 4. September endet es feierlich mit dem BMF Nightwalk und ihr könnt die neuen Wandgemälde im Scheinwerferlicht betrachten. Die Pandemie hat vor allem die Künstler*innen schwer getroffen und so werden in diesem Jahr die lokalen Helden der Szene unterstützt. Verschiedene Kollektive werden zusammengepackt und dadurch ein Artwork kreiert, das in den entsprechenden Kiez passt und die Murals mit den unterschiedlichen Stilen und Techniken der Künstler Kombos mixt.

Das Berlin Mural Fest fand im August bis zum 4. September 2021 statt.

September: Berlin Beer Week

BRLO BRWHOUSE Biere
© Seren Dal/BRLO

Hopfen, Malz und Wasser: Auf den ersten Blick ist Bier eine ziemlich simple Angelegenheit – und trotzdem entfaltet jedes Bier seinen ganz speziellen Geschmack. Auf der Berlin Beer Week können Sie diese Vielfalt zelebrieren. An zehn Tagen im Jahr ist Bier das Stadtgespräch Nummer eins in Berlin: Brauer, Händler und Bierliebhaber kommen hier zusammen, um sich über Braumethoden und Gärzeiten zu unterhalten.

Kosten Sie sich durch die vielen unterschiedlichen Biere. Nach was steht Ihnen der Sinn: Eher traditionell oder lieber modern? Hopfig, herb oder süffig? Voll oder spritzig? Finden Sie Ihren Favoriten und tauschen Sie sich mit den Brauern über die Geschmacksdetails der einzelnen Biere aus.

Die Veranstaltungen sind ähnlich ausgefallen wie die Braumethoden. Sie können sich Ihr Bier etwa in einen Pop-up-Biergarten schmecken lassen, in eine Beerlesque-Show gehen, an einem Schaubrauen teilnehmen oder sich beim Ihrem Genuss über die Spree schippern lassen, wenn Sie zum Beispiel eine Bierverkostung auf einem Dampfer buchen.

Außerdem können Sie jedes Jahr das offizielle Festivalbier testen, das die teilnehmenden Locations ausschenken. Auf der Beer Week gibt es also genügend Anreize für einen schmackhaften Ausflug nach Berlin.

Die nächste Berlin Beer Week findet vom 2. bis 11. September 2022 statt.

Berlin Beer Week

September: Berlin Art Week & Gallery Weekend

ABC-Messe 2015
Berlin Art Week © visitBerlin, Foto: Jan Frontzek

Sie steht dick und fett in den Terminkalendern der Kunsthändler und Galeristen: Die Berlin Art Week ist eine der wichtigsten Veranstaltungen für zeitgenössische Kunst. Jedes Jahr im Herbst können Sie in der Hauptstadt an mehr als 100 Ausstellungen, Messen, Preisverleihungen oder andere Events rund um die Kunst teilnehmen.

Hauptstadt für contemporary art

Die Messen und Ausstellungen sind für ihren innovativen Charakter bekannt. Freuen Sie sich also auf neue künstlerische Positionen und lassen Sie sich veranschaulichen, wie lebendig die Kunstszene ist. Hier finden Sie traditionell internationale Newcomer neben etablierten Galeristen. Hier treffen Sie Künstler, Sammler und Museumsdirektoren auf zahlreichen Podiumsdiskussionen. Und hier können Sie Performances, Shows und Installationen auf sich wirken lassen.

Berlins Kunst- und Kulturproduzenten werden auch Sie mit ihrer Kreativität und ihrem Engagement überzeugen. Ob mit Ausstellungen von Instituten, privaten Sammlungen oder mehreren Galerien, die thematisch aufeinander abgestimmt sind: Die deutsche Hauptstadt hat sich inzwischen einen Ruf als attraktive und innovative Kunstmetropole erworben.

Die nächste Berlin Art Week findet vom 14. bis 18. September 2022 statt. Zeitgleich findet auch das Gallery Weekend statt.

Berlin Art Week

Oktober: Light Weeks

Festival of Lights mit der Berlin City Tour
Festival of lights Berlin © BCT, Foto: Katja Hanke

Haben Sie das Brandenburger Tor schon einmal von bunten Bäumen und Lianen umrankt gesehen? Oder den Berliner Dom etwa mit roten Herzen bemalt? Haben Sie schon einmal ein Portrait von Marilyn Monroe am Potsdamer Platz gesehen, das fünf Stockwerke einer Häuserfassade einnimmt? Jedes Jahr können Sie ähnlich spektakuläre Lichtinstallationen in der ganzen Stadt entdecken.

Die beiden Veranstaltungen Festival of Lights und Berlin leuchtet sorgen jedes Jahr dafür, dass verschiedene Wahrzeichen, Plätze, interessante Orte oder ganze Kieze in ein anderes, aufregendes Licht gerückt werden. Nationale und internationale Künstler verwandeln die Hauptstadt in eine große Bühne. Von 19 Uhr bis Mitternacht erstrahlen die Sehenswürdigkeiten, auf verschiedenen Touren können Sie sich die Installationen zeigen lassen.

Bustouren

  • Stadtrundfahrt "Lichterfestival"
  • Stadtrundfahrt "Ausflug ins Lichtermeer"
  • Stadtrundfahrt mit Bus und Schiff "Festival of Lights"


Schifffahrten

  • Schiffstour Lichterfeste im Oktober
  • Schiffstour

Tickets für die Stadtrundfahrten zum Festival of lights

Das Festival of Lights lässt Berlin vom 7. bis 16. Oktober 2022 erstrahlen.

Berlin leuchtet soll 2022 ebenfalls wieder stattfinden.

Oktober: Berlin Food Week

Berlin Food Week
Nachspeise bei der Berlin Food Week © Berlin Food Week

Appetit auf die leckersten Gerichte aus aller Welt? Dann sind Sie auf der Berlin Food Week genau richtig. Auf dem vielfältigsten Food-Festival Deutschlands stellen Köche, Gastronomen und Food-Manufakturen ihr Essen aus. Schlemmen Sie sich durch die Köstlichkeiten und genießen Sie sowohl die regionale als auch die internationale Küche.

Berlin wird während der Food Week zum Mekka für Gourmets. Gaumenfreuden in der gesamten Stadt. Sautieren, schmoren, pochieren – hier sehen Sie nicht nur, wie die Köche Essen mit den verschiedensten Techniken zubereiten. Sie können sich außerdem durch die neuen Kreationen probieren – oder selbst zum Kochlöffel greifen. In unterschiedlichen Workshops bekommen Sie die Gelegenheit, mit professioneller Anleitung und erstklassigen Geräten ein Menü mit Ihren Wunschgerichten zusammenzustellen. In diesem Jahr finden die Berlin Weeks digital statt.

Der offizielle Berlin Food Week-Podcast.

Die Berlin Food Week zum Hören: Wenn Sie es nicht schaffen, live beim Event dabei zu sein, erfahren Sie über den Podcast, was bei der Berlin Food Week los war. Trends, Köche, Start-ups: was bewegt die Berliner Food- und Gastro-Szene? Johannes Paetzold – Foodie, Podcaster und Autor der Radio Eins Rubrik „Paetzolds Pop Cuisine“ – verrät es.

Bei der Berlin Food Week könnt ihr vom 10. - 16. Oktober 2022 schlemmen.

Food Week

Mehr Veranstaltungen finden Sie in Berlins größtem Veranstaltungskalender.

Zum Veranstaltungskalender