Skip to main content
Exhibition "All about Anne" Anne Frank Zentrum Berlin
Exhibition "All about Anne" Anne Frank Zentrum Berlin © Anne Frank Zentrum Berlin, Foto: Mandy Kloetzer

Anne Frank Zentrum

All about Anne

At Berlin’s Anne Frank Zentrum you can learn more about a girl who was full of ideas, hopes and dreams - her famous diary is the focus of the exhibition.

Diary of Anne Frank at the Anne Frank Zentrum Berlin
Diary of Anne Frank at the Anne Frank Zentrum Berlin © Anne Frank Zentrum Berlin, Foto: Gregor Zielke

Please note: For current Covid-19-related opening and closing times and special hygiene rules, please visit the website.

“The world will still keep on turning without me; what is going to happen, will happen, and anyway it’s no good to resist. I’ll just let matters take their course and concentrate on studying and hope that everything will be all right in the end.” Anne Frank wrote this on February 3, 1944, just a few months before her deportation. The sentences are a testament to the fascination and tragedy of this young girl’s story. Her thoughts and hopes are still relevant to young people today. The exhibition All About Anne addresses this in a unique way. It is the only exhibition on the history of Nazi rule in Berlin that is specifically aimed at children, young people and families.

An exhibition with an interactive, hands-on atmosphere

Exhibition "All about Anne" at the Anne Frank Zentrum Berlin
Exhibition "All about Anne" at the Anne Frank Zentrum Berlin © Anne Frank Zentrum Berlin, Foto: Gregor Zielke

The courtyard at Hackeschen Markt is adorned with colourful street art on all sides. A graffiti artwork of the young Anne Frank looks back at you with a smile. This is where you’ll find the entrance to Berlin’s Anne Frank Zentrum. The idea for the centre was born in 1994 on the 50th anniversary of the liberation from Fascism. At first, the founding association only exhibited a touring exhibition. Then, four years later, a permanent centre opened, as a partner of Anne Frank House in Amsterdam. It has been located not far from Hackescher Markt since 2002.


The All About Anne exhibition, which opened in November 2018, commemorates the life of Anne Frank. It is a place of learning about the history of National Socialism. Anne Frank is one of the most famous victims of the Holocaust. The Jewish girl hid from the Nazis in a secret annex in Amsterdam along with her parents Otto and Edith, her sister Margot and four other people being persecuted by the Nazis. They were discovered after two years. Anne Frank died in 1945 in the Bergen-Belsen concentration camp as a result of her imprisonment. After her death, her diary became world famous. Frequently asked questions are answered in the entrance area of the exhibition space and information is also provided about the history of the site and about the work of the Anne Frank Zentrum

Ausstellung "Alles über Anne" im Anne Frank Zentrum Berlin
Ausstellung "Alles über Anne" © Anne Frank Zentrum Berlin, Foto: Mandy Kloetzer

The life of Anne Frank

One part of the exhibition is dedicated to the life of Anne Frank. It tells the story of Anne, her family and her friends, as well as her persecution and time in hiding. Six different parts of the museum each show a period of Anne’s life: Anne’s childhood years in Germany (1929-1933), Anne’s new home in the Netherlands (1933-1940), Anne’s life in danger (1940-1942), Anne’s time in hiding (1942-1944), Anne Frank’s last 6 months (1944-1945) and Otto Frank’s return and Anne’s diary (1945-1947). There are several video interviews with contemporary witnesses and tactile objects. Visitors can help shape this exhibition area: There are numerous panels with fascinating detailed information. Visitors can highlight the individual panels that have particular resonance for them.

Past and present

Another part of the exhibition draws connections between Anne Frank’s life and the present day. After all, studying Anne Frank’s biography is a way of coming to terms with the Holocaust, understanding the present and thinking about the future. There are six areas dedicated to this: In the library you can read and write, and familiarise yourself with the diaries of Anne and other people. School groups can perform theatre on the stage and all visitors are invited to watch films or draw and be creative in the workshop. Various forms of remembrance are presented. The archive contains documentation and other research material. You can view reports of anti-Semitic incidents and do further research at the computer stations. You can also add your own thoughts to Anne's chestnut tree.

Highlights of the Anne Frank Zentrum

  • Interactive stations: Write letters to the future, read diaries, design memorials and share your own experiences of anti-Semitism.
  • Many opportunities for visitors to add to the exhibition and enrich it with their own contributions.
  • Numerous videos
  • A true-to-the-original copy of Anne Frank’s diary
  • Baby photos and class photos of Anne
  • PC station with further information and films
  • Accessibility features: Lift and wheelchair-accessible design, videos in German sign language, induction loops and digital Roger system, texts in clear language, floor guidance system, tactile objects, audio description and guided tours for blind and visually impaired visitors.

Jewish history in the surrounding area

Directly opposite the Anne Frank Zentrum you will find the Museum Blindenwerkstatt Otto Weidt. The small manufacturing company Weidt once employed Jews here at its Workshop for the Blind, protecting them from persecution. The Old Jewish Cemetery is also marked by the Nazi era. In 1943, the Gestapo destroyed it, and it was not until 2008 that the Jewish community finally reopened it. The New Synagogue foundation houses the Open The Gates exhibition. It displays remains of the old synagogue and other exhibits of Jewish life in Berlin. The monument to the Women’s Protest of 1943, located in Rosenstraße, draws attention to the successful protests of non-Jewish women against the imprisonment of their Jewish husbands. The Neue Wache (New Guardhouse) memorial commemorates the victims of tyranny and war. The Mother with Dead Son sculpture by Käthe Kollwitz has been part of the memorial since its redesign in 1993.

Our tips for your visit

You can easily reach the Anne Frank Zentrum by taking the S-Bahn to the Hackescher Markt station. With the Berlin WelcomeCard you will get a 25% discount on the price of admission. The Berlin Museum Pass grants you free access to the Anne Frank Zentrum as well as many other museums on three consecutive days.

Information for families and children

You can regularly take part in special family tours. For children there is also a discovery booklet with a quiz, including a prize at the end.

Information for school groups

There are lots of offers for school classes and teachers, from exhibition guides to project days and teaching materials. For details, see the Anne Frank Zentrum website.

 

Opening hours

Tuesday 10:00 – 18:00
Wednesday 10:00 – 18:00
Thursday 10:00 – 18:00
Friday 10:00 – 18:00
Saturday 10:00 – 18:00
Sunday 10:00 – 18:00

Certified for Accessibility for you (reports only available in German)

Direkt zum Inhalt
Ausstellung "Alles über Anne" im Anne Frank Zentrum Berlin
Ausstellung "Alles über Anne" im Anne Frank Zentrum Berlin © Anne Frank Zentrum Berlin, Foto: Mandy Kloetzer

Anne Frank Zentrum

Alles über Anne

In Berlins Anne Frank Zentrum lernen Sie ein Mädchen voller Träume, Ideen und Hoffnungen kennen – im Fokus der Ausstellung steht das berühmte Tagebuch.

Bitte um Beachtung: Die derzeitigen, Covid-19-bedingten Öffnungen und Schließungen sowie die besonderen Hygieneregeln entnehmen Sie bitte der Webseite.

„Die Welt wird sich auch ohne mich weiterdrehen, und ich kann mich gegen die Ereignisse doch nicht wehren. Ich lasse es darauf ankommen und tue nichts als lernen und auf ein gutes Ende hoffen.“ Das schreibt Anne Frank am 3. Februar 1944, nur wenige Monate vor ihrer Deportation. Die Sätze sind ein Beleg für die Faszination und die Tragik der Geschichte dieses jungen Mädchens. Ihre Gedanken und Hoffnungen sind auch für junge Menschen heute noch von Bedeutung. Das greift die Ausstellung „Alles über Anne“ in einmaliger Weise auf. Es ist die einzige Ausstellung zur Geschichte des Nationalsozialismus in Berlin, die sich gezielt an Kinder, Jugendliche und Familien richtet.

Eine Ausstellung mit Atmosphäre zum Mitmachen

Ausstellung "Alles über Anne" im Anne Frank Zentrum Berlin
Ausstellung "Alles über Anne" im Anne Frank Zentrum Berlin © Anne Frank Zentrum Berlin, Foto: Gregor Zielke

Der Hof am Hackeschen Markt ist über und über von bunter Street Art bedeckt. Ein Graffiti von der jungen Anne Frank blickt Ihnen lächelnd entgegen. Direkt hier ist der Eingang zu Berlins Anne Frank Zentrum. Die Idee entsteht im Jahr 1994 zum 50. Jahrestag der Befreiung vom Faschismus. Zuerst zeigt der Gründungsverein nur eine Wanderausstellung. Dann eröffnet vier Jahre später ein dauerhaftes Zentrum, als Partner des Anne Frank Hauses in Amsterdam. Seit 2002 befindet es sich unweit des Hackeschen Marktes.

Die im November 2018 eröffnete Ausstellung »Alles über Anne« erinnert an Anne Frank. Sie ist ein Lernort zur Geschichte des Nationalsozialismus. Anne Frank ist eines der bekanntesten Opfer des Holocaust. Das jüdische Mädchen versteckte sich gemeinsam mit ihren Eltern Otto und Edith, ihrer Schwester Margot sowie vier anderen Verfolgten vor den Nationalsozialisten in einem Hinterhaus in Amsterdam. Nach 2 Jahren wurden sie entdeckt. Anne Frank starb 1945 im Konzentrationslager Bergen-Belsen an den Folgen der Lagerhaft. Nach ihrem Tod wurde ihr Tagebuch weltberühmt.
Im Eingangsbereich der Ausstellung werden häufige Fragen beantwortet. Hier wird über die Geschichte des Ortes und über die Arbeit des Anne Frank Zentrums informiert.

Die Lebensgeschichte der Anne Frank

Tagebuch der Anne Frank im Anne Frank Zentrum Berlin
Tagebuch der Anne Frank im Anne Frank Zentrum Berlin © Anne Frank Zentrum Berlin, Foto: Gregor Zielke

Ein Teil der Ausstellung widmet sich der Lebensgeschichte von Anne Frank. Er erzählt die Geschichte von Anne, ihrer Familie und ihren Freund*innen. Er erzählt auch von der Verfolgung und der Zeit im Versteck. Sechs Bereiche zeigen je einen Lebensabschnitt: Annes Kinderjahre in Deutschland (1929–1933), Annes neues Zuhause in den Niederlanden (1933–1940), Annes Leben in Gefahr (1940–1942), Annes Zeit im Versteck (1942–1944), Die letzten 6 Monate von Anne Frank (1944 – 1945) sowie Otto Franks Rückkehr und Annes Tagebuch (1945–1947). Es gibt mehrere Videos mit Zeitzeug*innen-Interviews und Tastobjekte. Die Besucher*innen können diesen Ausstellungsbereich mitgestalten: Es gibt zahlreiche Tafeln mit spannenden Detailinformationen. Besucher*innen können einzelne Tafeln hervorheben, die ihnen besonders wichtig sind.

Ausstellung "Alles über Anne" im Anne Frank Zentrum Berlin
Ausstellung "Alles über Anne" im Anne Frank Zentrum Berlin © Anne Frank Zentrum Berlin, Foto: Mandy Kloetzer

Vergangenheit und Gegenwart

Ein anderer Teil der Ausstellung bietet Verbindungen zwischen der Lebensgeschichte von Anne Frank und der Gegenwart. Denn die Beschäftigung mit Anne Franks Biografie ist ein Weg, sich mit dem Holocaust auseinanderzusetzen, die Gegenwart zu verstehen und über die Zukunft nachzudenken. Dafür gibt es wiederum sechs Bereiche: In der Bibliothek können Sie lesen und schreiben, Tagebücher von Anne und anderen Menschen kennen lernen. Auf der Bühne spielen Schulgruppen Theater und alle Besucher*innen sind zu Filmen eingeladen. In der Werkstatt können Besucher*innen zeichnen und kreativ sein. Verschiedene Formen der Erinnerung werden vorgestellt. Im Archiv wird untersucht und dokumentiert. Hier sieht man Meldungen antisemitischer Vorfälle. An den Computern können Sie dann weiter recherchieren. Und Annes Kastanienbaum fordert Sie dazu auf, Ihre eigenen Gedanken anzuheften.

Höhepunkte im Anne Frank Zentrum

  • Interaktive Stationen: Briefe an die Zukunft schreiben, Tagebücher lesen, Denkmäler entwerfen und eigene Erfahrungen mit Antisemitismus mitteilen.
  • Viele Möglichkeitenfür die Besucher*innen, die Ausstellung zu verändern und sie mit eigenen Beiträgen zu bereichern.
  • Zahlreiche Videos
  • Originalgetreue Kopie des Tagebuchs von Anne Frank
  • Babyfotos und Klassenfotos von Anne
  • PC-Station mit weiterführenden Informationen sowie Filmen
  • Inklusive Angebote: Aufzug und rollstuhlgerechte Gestaltung, Videos in DGS, Induktionsschleifen und digitale Roger-Anlage, Texte in Klarer Sprache, Bodenleitsystem, Tast-Objekte, Audiodeskription und Führungen für Blinde und sehbehinderte Menschen.

Jüdische Geschichte in der Nähe

Direkt gegenüber vom Anne Frank Zentrum finden Sie das Museum Blindenwerkstatt Otto Weidt. Hier beschäftigt der Kleinfabrikant Weidt einst Juden und schützt sie so vor Verfolgung. Auch der Alte Jüdische Friedhof ist durch die NS-Zeit geprägt. 1943 zerstört ihn die Gestapo, erst 2008 eröffnet die jüdische Gemeinde ihn endgültig neu. Die Stiftung Neue Synagoge beherbergt die Ausstellung „Tuet auf die Pforten“. Sie zeigt Überreste der alten Synagoge und weitere Exponate jüdischen Lebens in Berlin. In der Rosenstraße steht das Denkmal zum Frauenprotest von 1943. Es macht auf die erfolgreichen Proteste nichtjüdischer Frauen gegen die Inhaftierung ihrer jüdischen Ehemänner aufmerksam. Das Mahnmal Neue Wache erinnert an die Opfer von Gewaltherrschaft und Krieg. Teil der Gedenkstätte ist seit seiner Umgestaltung 1993 das Kunstwerk Mutter mit totem Sohn von Käthe Kollwitz.

Unsere Tipps zum Besuch

Das Anne Frank Zentrum erreichen Sie bequem mit der S-Bahn bis zur Station Hackescher Markt. Mit der Berlin WelcomeCard gibt es 25% Ermäßigung auf den Eintritt. Der Museumspass Berlin bringt Sie an drei aufeinanderfolgenden Tagen umsonst in dieses und weitere 50 Museen.

Infos für Familien und Kinder

Regelmäßig können Sie an speziellen Familienführungen teilnehmen. Für Kinder gibt es ein Entdeckungsheft mit Quiz, inklusive Preis am Ende.

Infos für Schulklassen

Von Ausstellungsbegleitungen über Projekttage bis hin zu Unterrichtsmaterialien gibt es eine Menge Angebote für Schulklassen und Lehrer. Einzelheiten entnehmen Sie der Webseite des Anne Frank Zentrums.

 

Öffnungszeiten

Dienstag 10:00 – 18:00
Mittwoch 10:00 – 18:00
Donnerstag 10:00 – 18:00
Freitag 10:00 – 18:00
Samstag 10:00 – 18:00
Sonntag 10:00 – 18:00