Skip to main content

together with the Konzerthaus Quartett

The commissioner and eponym of Beethoven's three Rasumowsky Quartets op. 59 from 1806 was Andrei Kirillowitsch Rasumowsky and was, of course, Russian - a high-ranking diplomat, networked and well-versed on the world stage of the epoch as well as an important patron of the composer.

Konzerthaus Quartett
Konzerthaus Quartett © Uwe Arens

The Konzerthaus Quartett combines the first Rasumowsky Quartet with the first string quartet by Karl Weigl (1881-1949) from 1905/06, whose career as a promising young composer of middle-class Jewish origin in Mahler's and Schönberg's Vienna to a professor of composition played by renowned ensembles was followed from 1938 by a bitter period as a temporarily penniless emigrant in the USA. Fortunately, his compositional work is no longer forgotten today.

Ludwig van Beethoven - String Quartet in F major op. 59 No. 1IntermissionKarl Weigl - String Quartet No. 1 in C minor op. 20

Buy ticket

Additional information

Educational Services
Participating artists
Konzerthaus Quartett Berlin
Sayako Kusaka (Violine)
Johannes Jahnel (Violine)
Amalia Aubert (Viola)
Felix Nickel (Violoncello)
Konzerthaus Berlin - Kleiner Saal