Skip to main content
Flamingos in Tierpark Berlin in autumn
Flamingos in Tierpark Berlin in autumn © Tierpark Berlin

Tierpark Berlin

Europe’s biggest zoo

It’ll be a long day – and no wonder, because it’s a round-the-world trip where you’ll meet exotic creatures. It’s all at the Tierpark Berlin.

Tickets

Berlin doesn't just have two-legged residents, but also a lot of animals. They have two homes in the urban jungle: one is the Berlin Zoo in the former western part of the city, the other is the Tierpark Berlin in former East Berlin.
The Tierpark in the Berlin district Lichtenberg is the largest zoo in Europe. It is best to plan a whole day for your visit. Over 9,000 animals live on an area of 160 hectares and there are about 900 different animal species in total - from the Malaysian bear to the Indian giant flying fox. You mustn't miss these animals of Berlin:

  • The elephants are a highlight in the Tierpark Berlin - especially when there are young ones. Our tip: Saturday and Sunday are bathing days (from October to Easter). Watch the thick-skinned animals as they splash around.
  • Walk with a llama in front of the Schloss Friedrichsfelde and pester the carers with your questions (from Easter to October, on Saturdays and Sundays, and also on public holidays).
  • In the Vari Forest, you can stroll through the forest of black and white and red varises and watch the curious monkeys up close.

 

Feeding, animal shows, and the polar bear talk at the Tierpark Berlin

Be there when the animals are fed in the Tierpark Berlin. Whether penguins or manatees, short-billed hedgehogs or tamandua (middle anteater) - together with the animal keepers, you can experience the Tierpark residents up close. A special feature in the Tierpark: The Polar Bear Talk takes place every day at 11 a.m. - with lots of expert information about these animals.
By the way: You can also visit your favourite animal and look a giraffe right in the eyes or touch an elephant. The Tierpark offers individual guided tours for groups in the enclosures of selected species. You can find all the necessary information on the Tierpark's website.

The Tierpark highlight: Baby elephant Edgar

Our lady elephant Kewa was pregnant with her child for over 20 months. Then, on New Year's Eve 2015, it was finally time: She gave birth to her baby all by herself. First thought to be a girl, the baby elephant turned out to be a little boy. Berliners were eagerly involved in coming up with a name. Eventually, the curious mammal was christened Edgar and since then he has tumbled into the hearts of visitors.

 

Further highlights in the Tierpark:

  • Daily feeding and actions, e. g. polar bears, gibbons
  • Seasonal flight shows with birds of prey
  • Adventurous playgrounds (themed)
  • Spacious camel meadows

History of the Tierpark

The Tierpark was built when Berlin became a divided city after the Second World War because East Berlin also wanted to have a zoo. It was opened in 1955 in Schlosspark Friedrichsfelde. The park area, originally designed by garden artist Peter Joseph Lenné, also houses the Friedrichsfelde palace, built in 1695. The Community of Supporters of the Tierpark and Zoo Berlin e. V. took over organising the events that are held here - especially the concerts.

Events in the Berlin Tierpark

Whether it's a family celebration, the rococo castle festival, or a Tierpark run - get to know the extensive park, its castle, and the wildlife at one of the annual events. Evening walks and a varied holiday programme are regularly offered during the school holidays. On the Tierpark's website you can also find rally bows to print out yourself - so you can plan the rally with your family in advance.

Information for school groups

From kindergarten to year 13 - there are organised guided tours for the Tierpark as a learning location, which are designed according to age and individual requirements. In addition to small biologists and zoo animal experts, prospective mathematicians are also in demand for school projects in the Tierpark. Detailed information for school classes can be found on the Tierpark's website.
Directions to the Berlin Tierpark
The Tierpark has two entrances: The Bärenschaufenster can be reached by subway line U5 to the Tierpark stop. The Schloss entrance  is located at the tram stop Criegernweg, which can be reached by tram lines M17, 27, and 37.

Did you know...

the Tierpark, zoo, and Aquarium Berlin are committed to the worldwide protection of species. For example, these institutions are involved in two-thirds of all international conservation breeding programmes.

From the Tierpark to Karlshorst

Karlshorst is a serene, green, and relaxed area characterised by nineteenth-century villas, town houses, and other listed structures. A highlight is visiting the harness racing track on a race day. With a cultural centre, a theatre and an attractive museum dedicated to German-Russian relations, residents and visitors have much to discover about the history and culture of this neighbourhood.

More about Berlin's neighbourhoods can be found in the Going Local app.

 

Buy tickets

Opening hours

Winter 9:00 – 16:30
9:00 – 18:30 Summer
Öffnungszeiten (Zusatzinfos)

For detailed information about the opening times look here.

Find further information here

Direkt zum Inhalt
Flamingos im Tierpark Berlin im Herbst
Flamingos im Tierpark Berlin im Herbst © Tierpark Berlin

Tierpark Berlin

Europas größter Tierpark

Das wird ein langer Tag. Immerhin reisen Sie heute einmal um die Welt. Und treffen exotische Lebewesen: alles im Tierpark Berlin.

Tickets

Berlin hat nicht nur zweibeinige Bewohner, sondern auch jede Menge tierische. Die finden im Großstadtdschungel gleich zweimal ein Zuhause: Zum einen im Berliner Zoo im ehemaligen Westteil der Stadt, zum anderen im Tierpark Berlin im einstigen Ost-Berlin.

Der Tierpark im Berliner Bezirk Lichtenberg ist der größte Tierpark Europas. Planen Sie also besser einen ganzen Tag für Ihren Besuch ein. Auf einer Fläche von 160 Hektar leben etwa 7.500 Tiere, insgesamt gibt es ungefähr 900 verschiedene Tierarten – vom Malaienbären bis zum indischen Riesenflugfuchs. Diese tierischen Berliner dürfen Sie nicht verpassen:

  • Im Alfred-Brehm-Haus sind Tiger, Löwe und Panther zu Hause und verdösen den Tag. Zu diesem Raubtierhaus gehört auch die Tropenhalle. Ein Baumwipfelpfad führt Sie durch das exotische Grün, vorbei an Flughunden und tropischen Vögeln.
  • Die Elefanten sind ein Highlight im Berliner Tierpark – besonders, wenn es Nachwuchs gibt. Unser Tipp: Am Samstag und Sonntag ist Badetag (von Oktober bis Ostern). Schauen Sie den Dickhäutern beim Planschen zu.
  • Gehen Sie mit einem Lama vor dem Schloss Friedrichsfelde spazieren und löchern Sie die Pfleger mit Ihren Fragen (von Mai bis Oktober, jeweils Samstag und Sonntag).
  • Im Vari-Wald können Sie durch den Wald der Schwarzweißen und Roten Varis schlendern und dabei die neugierigen Halbaffen aus nächster Nähe beobachten.

 

Fütterungen, Tier-Shows und der Eisbären Talk im Tierpark Berlin

Seien Sie mit dabei, wenn die Tiere im Berliner Tierpark gefüttert werden. Ob Pinguine oder Seekühe, Kurzschnabeligel oder Tamandua (Mittlerer Ameisenbär) - gemeinsam mit den Tierpflegern erleben Sie die Bewohner des Tierparks ganz aus der Nähe. Eine Besonderheit im Tierpark: Täglich um 11 Uhr findet der Eisbären-Talk statt – mit vielen Experten-Infos zu diesen Tieren.

Übrigens: Sie können auch Ihr persönliches Lieblingstier besuchen - und zwar auf der anderen Seite des Zauns! Der Tierpark bietet individuelle Führungen für Gruppen in das Gehege ausgewählter Arten.

Das Tierpark-Highlight: Elefantenbaby Edgar

Über 20 Monate ist Elefantendame Kewa mit ihrem Kind schwanger. Dann, in der Silvesternacht 2015, ist es endlich es soweit: Ganz alleine bringt die Elefantendame ihr Baby zur Welt. Zunächst für ein Mädchen gehalten, entpuppt sich das Elefantenbaby dann doch als kleiner Junge. Die Berliner machen eifrig bei der Suche nach einem Namen mit. Letztendlich wird der neugierige Dickhäuter auf den Namen Edgar getauft und stolpert sich seither in die Herzen der Besucher.

Video: Ich bin Edgar

Geschichte des Tierparks

Der Tierpark Berlin entsteht im Zuge der Teilung Berlins nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg, da es auch im Ostteil der Stadt einen Tierpark geben soll. Er wird 1955 im Schlosspark Friedrichsfelde eröffnet. In dem ursprünglich von dem Gartenkünstler Peter Joseph Lenné gestalteten Parkgelände liegt auch das 1695 erbaute Schloss Friedrichsfelde. Die Gemeinschaft der Förderer von Tierpark und Zoo Berlin e.V. hat die Betreuung der hier stattfindenden Veranstaltungen – insbesondere der Konzerte – übernommen.

Veranstaltungen im Berliner Tierpark

Ob Familienfest, Rokokoschloss-Festival oder Tierparklauf – lernen Sie den weitläufigen Park, sein Schloss und die Tierwelt auf einem der Jahres-Events kennen. Abendspaziergänge und Rätsel-Safari stehen in den Sommermonaten regelmäßig auf dem Programm.

Infos für Schulklassen

Von der Kita bis zur 13. Klasse – für den Lernort Tierpark gibt es organisierte Führungen, die je nach Alter und individuellen Wünschen gestaltet werden. Neben kleinen Biologen und Zootierexperten sind auch angehende Mathematiker für Schulprojekte im Tierpark gefragt. Detaillierte Informationen für Schulklassen finden Sie auf der Website des Tierparks.

Anfahrt zum Tierpark Berlin

Der Tierpark verfügt über zwei Eingänge: Das Bärenschaufenster erreichen Sie mit der U-Bahnlinie U5 bis zur Haltestelle Tierpark. Der Eingang Schloss liegt an der Straßenbahnhaltestelle Criegernweg, zu erreichen mit den Tramlinien M17, 27 und 37.


Vom Tierpark nach Karlshorst

Beschaulich, grün und entspannt geht es in Karlshorst zu. Gründerzeitbauten, Villen, Reihenhäuser und denkmalgeschützte Wohnanlagen prägen das Bild dieses Stadtteils. Ein Highlight ist der Besuch der Trabrennbahn an einem Renntag. Mit dem Kulturhaus, einem Theater und dem sehenswerten Deutsch-Russischen Museum können Bewohner und Besucher gleichermaßen die Geschichte und Kultur des Kiezes entdecken.

Mehr über Berlins Kieze verrät Ihnen unsere Berlin-App Going Local.

Tickets kaufen

Öffnungszeiten

Montag bis Sonntag 9:00 – 16:30
Öffnungszeiten (Zusatzinfos)

maximal bis 18.30 Uhr im Sommer

Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen