Skip to main content
Schloss Friedrichsfelde at Tierpark Berlin
Schloss Friedrichsfelde Berlin © Tierpark Berlin

Schloss Friedrichsfelde

The palace at the Tierpark Berlin

- temporarily closed - From a pleasure palace to a manor farmhouse to a veterinary clinic – that’s the short version of the story of Schloss Friedrichsfelde. Why not pay a visit?

Tickets

Please note: The current opening and closing hours and special hygiene rules for the Covid-19 are available on this website.

At Schloss Friedrichsfelde you can go on a journey through Berlin’s cultural history. The wallpaper has floral patterns and animal motifs; everywhere there are portraits of famous former inhabitants; lavish showcases contain porcelain from Berlin and glass from Brandenburg; magnificent chandeliers hang from the ceilings. Schloss Friedrichsfelde shows what a luxury residence looked like in the 18th century.

In the course of its history, the palace has been a pleasure palace, a model of modern agriculture and emergency accommodation for animals, as well as a quarter for French soldiers and a prison for the deposed king of Saxony.

The start of construction in the 17th century

If you notice any similarity to nearby Schloss Köpenick, it’s because Schloss Friedrichsfelde is also the work of the architect Johann Arnold Nering. Building began here in 1695, just a few years after Schloss Köpenick was completed. The Dutchman Benjamin Raule been given the plot of land in Rosenfelde (now known as Friedrichsfelde) by Elector Friedrich Wilhelm of Brandenburg in recognition of his services as general director of the Brandenburg navy. Raule used this royal reward to build a pleasure palace in the style of a Dutch manor house.

Conversion in the 18th and 19th century

The naval director only lived in Schloss Rosenfelde for three years before he fell out of favour and the estate returned to the Hohenzollern family. In honour of Friedrich Wilhelm, who died in 1688, Schloss Rosenfelde was renamed Friedrichsfelde in 1699. In 1717, the estate was again given away as a gift – this time to Margrave Albrecht Friedrich of Brandenburg-Schwedt. He widened the palace and introduced Baroque elements such as the balustrade. The palace changed hands several times during the century, and each owner made alterations to the exterior and interior. From 1785, Peter von Biron, the Duke of Courland, redesigned the interior in the Early Neoclassical style, and the outer façade was remodelled from 1800 by Duchess Catherine of Holstein-Beck, a relation of the tsars who played host to high-ranking members of the Russian royal family at Friedrichsfelde.

After 1816: a farm, a veterinary clinic and a zoo

The palace’s time as a residence for royals and courtiers ended in 1816 when it was bought by the Treskow family. Carl von Treskow established a modern farm here based on Albrecht Thaer’s agricultural theories. In 1821 the landscape gardener Peter Joseph Lenné was called in to design the park, and his work is still recognisable today.

After the second world war, Schloss Friedrichsfelde was confiscated from the Treskow family and its rooms looted by Soviet troops. When the Tierpark zoo was established in 1955, the palace became part of it, serving as the administrative office, animal accommodation and a veterinary clinic. It was extensively renovated between 1970 and 1981 to remove the many signs of wear and tear from its various uses and restore its former glory.

Restored to its former glory

Today, the appearance of the Palace is that of an Early Neoclassical 18th century residence. Portraits of its former residents hang in the corridors and exquisite Neoclassical porcelains can be seen in display cases. Concerts are regularly held in the banqueting hall, and there is a zoological exhibition, as well as an exhibition on the history of the palace and its very different inhabitants.

 

Clues:

  •     for concerts and events, the castle closes 90 minutes before the event begins
  •     the Tierpark entrance fee also entitles you to visit the Palace, no additional entrance fee is charged
  •     the castle can also be visited without a guide

Tickets

Opening hours

daily (winter) 10:00 – 16:30
daily (summer) 10:00 – 18:00

Direkt zum Inhalt
Tierpark Berlin
Schloss Friedrichsfelde Berlin © Tierpark Berlin

Schloss Friedrichsfelde

Das Schloss im Tierpark Berlin

- vorübergehend geschlossen - Lustschloss, landwirtschaftlicher Hof bis zur Tierklinik – das ist die Kurzfassung der Geschichte des Schloss Friedrichsfelde. Kommen Sie vorbei!

Tickets

Bitte um Beachtung: Die derzeitigen, Covid-19-bedingten Öffnungs- und Schließzeiten sowie die besonderen Hygieneregeln entnehmen Sie bitte der Webseite.

Im Schloss Friedrichsfelde können Sie eine Zeitreise durch die Berliner Kulturgeschichte antreten: die Wände bespannt mit Tapeten aus Blumenmustern und Tieren; überall hängen Portraitgemälde ehemaliger Bewohner; in edlen Vitrinen stehen Berliner Porzellane und brandenburgisches Glas. Und von den Decken strahlen prächtige Kronleuchter. Schloss Friedrichsfelde zeigt noch heute, wie eine repräsentative Residenz im 18. Jahrhundert ausgesehen hat.

Das Schloss im Laufe der Zeit: vom Lustschloss zum Mustergut moderner Landwirtschaft und dann zur Tiernotunterkunft. Dazwischen ist es Quartier französischer Soldaten und das Gefängnis eines geschlagenen sächsischen Königs.

Baubeginn im 17. Jahrhundert

Vielleicht erkennen Sie eine kleine Ähnlichkeit zum Schloss Köpenick. Das Schloss Friedrichsfelde ist nämlich ebenfalls das Werk des Architekten Johann Arnold Nering. 1695 beginnt hier der Bau, erst wenige Jahre zuvor ist das Schloss Köpenick fertiggestellt worden – und das ist nicht weit entfernt. Als gut gemeintes Geschenk erhält der holländische Marinedirektor Benjamin Raule für seine Verdienste vom Kurfürsten Friedrich Wilhelm von Brandenburg 1685 ein Stück Land von Rosenfelde, dem heutigen Gebiet Friedrichsfelde. Die vom Kurfürsten erhaltene „Prämie“ nutzt Raulé, um für sich ein Lustschloss im holländischen Landhausstil zu errichten.

Umgestaltung im 18. Und 19. Jahrhundert

Das Schloss Rosenfelde bewohnt der Marinedirektor nur für drei Jahre. Dann fällt er in Ungnade und das Anwesen geht an die Hohenzollern-Familie zurück. Zu Ehren des 1688 verstorbenen Kurfürsten Friedrich Wilhelm wird das Schloss Rosenfelde 1699 in Friedrichsfelde umgetauft. 1717 wird das Anwesen wieder als Geschenk übertragen – diesmal an den Markgrafen Albrecht Friedrich von Brandenburg-Schwedt. Dieser vergrößert das Schlosses in der Breite und führt barocke Elemente, wie die Balustrade, ein. Im Laufe des Jahrhunderts wechseln mehrmals die Besitzer des Schlosses und somit die Innen- und Außenansicht. Peter Biron Herzog von Kurland gestaltet ab 1785 das Innere im frühklassizistischen Stil; die Außenfassade folgt ab 1800 unter Herzogin Katharina von Holstein-Beck. Die Verwandte des russischen Zarenhauses empfängt in Friedrichsfelde hochkarätige Angehörige der Zarenfamilie.

Ab 1816: Landwirtschaft, Tierklinik und Tierpark

Mit dem Kauf des Schlosses durch die Familie Treskow 1816 endet die Ära des Schlosses als höfisch-fürstliche Residenz. Carl von Treskow entwickelt hier eine Landwirtschaft nach Thaerschen Vorbild. 1821 wird der Gartenarchitekt Peter Joseph Lenné gerufen um den Park zu gestalten. Dessen Landschaftspark ist bis heute zu erkennen.

Nach Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs wird das Schloss Friedrichsfelde der Familie Treskow enteignet. Sowjetische Truppen plündern die Räumlichkeiten. Mit der Tierparkgründung 1955 wird gleichzeitig das Schloss integriert. Es dient als Direktionsgebäude, Tierunterkunft und -klinik. Von 1970 bis 1981 folgen aufwendige Renovierungsarbeiten, um die vielfältigen Gebrauchsspuren des Schlosses zu beseitigen und den einstigen Glanz wiederherzustellen.

Heute: Der alte Glanz ist wiederhergestellt

Heute zeigt sich das Schloss als frühklassizistische Residenz des 18. Jahrhunderts. In den Fluren hängen Portraits der Bewohner und in Vitrinen präsentiert sich einzigartig klassizistisch gestaltetes Porzellan. Im Festsaal können Besucher regelmäßig Konzerten beiwohnen. Daneben gibt es eine zoologische Ausstellung und eine weitere über die Schlossgeschichte und ihre unterschiedlichen Bewohner.

Hinweise:

  • bei Konzerten und Veranstaltungen schließt das Schloss 90 Minuten vor Veranstaltungsbeginn
  • der reguläre Tierparkeintritt berechtigt auch zum Besuch des Schloss Friedrichsfelde, es fällt kein zusätzlicher Eintritt an
  • das Schloss kann auch ohne Führung besichtigt werden

Tickets

Öffnungszeiten

Täglich (Winter) 10:00 – 16:30
Täglich (Sommer) 10:00 – 18:00