Skip to main content
Festival of Lights
ICC - Internationales Congress Centrum Berlin © berlin-lights.com, Foto: Verworner

ICC - Internationales Congress Centrum Berlin

High-tech architecture from the seventies

Temporarily closed. - Completely out of this world – the aluminium façade of the ICC Berlin is reminiscent of the starfighters from Star Wars films.

Celebrated – and ridiculed – for its unusual appearance: the building, which opened in 1979, seems somewhat outdated. The ICC was built in the high-tech architectural style that became popular in the seventies. Its steel and glass buildings are characterised by an aesthetic style that reveals the function of the building parts.

International clout

West Berlin, 1970: the Congress Hall in Tiergarten, the so-called pregnant oyster, finally became too small. It could only accommodate a maximum of 1,200 people, which meant West Berlin was no longer able to keep up as an international congress location.

In 1966, AMK (Ausstellungs-, Messe-, Kongress-GmbH) held a competition to design a multi-purpose hall with a capacity for approx. 4,000 people. The winning design came from a young, still unknown husband-and-wife architect team: Ralf Schüler and Ursulina Schüler-Witte.

Prior to being carried out it became clear that a mere multi-purpose hall was not a solution for the future challenges. At the end of the 1960s, tourism experts predicted a steady increase in the number of congresses, which were a profitable source of income. West Berlin wanted to redefine itself as a congress city and needed an appropriate conference centre.

In the end it turned into a mammoth project. The construction costs amounted to almost one billion marks. In 1979, the ICC thus replaced the State Library, which had just opened a year earlier, as the most expensive new building in West Berlin.

Parallel to the ICC, the Palace of the Republic was being built in East Berlin, a prestigious GDR building that needed to be countered. The ICC was intended to symbolise the superiority of the social market economy and contribute to boosting the economy of West Berlin, which was still isolated at the time.

Spaceship launch

Ralf Schüler and Ursulina Schüler-Witte were commissioned to build the conference centre. They designed an enormous building: 313 metres long, 89 metres wide, 40 metres high.

Slightly more than 20,000 participants can be accommodated at major events here. It has a total of 80 conference rooms, ranging from seven to 6,000 square metres each. The auditorium can hold up to 5,000 people, and Hall 2 around 4,000 visitors.

The ICC stands out due to its sheer dimensions alone and belongs to the few large buildings built in the high-tech architectural style.

The building also impresses with its machine-like appearance: futuristic, in keeping with the growing enthusiasm for technology in the 1970s. This can be clearly seen in the framework-like construction that runs along the façade. It supports the statics of the conference centre and evokes associations with construction site scaffolding.

The construction work started in 1975, six years after the first moon landing. It was therefore no wonder that the voluminous building with its shape and aluminium façade was called a spaceship. It became a popular postcard motif and landmark of future-oriented West Berlin.

Endowed with retro charm

The ICC had state-of-the-art technology at its opening: 8,000 chairs in the conference rooms were equipped with interpretation equipment for up to eight languages. Participants could talk into a microphone from any seat.

Staircases and foyers impressed with their futuristic elements: geometric Op-Art carpets and an innovative guidance system consisting of red and blue fluorescent tubes. Most of the original interior elements are still preserved today and possess a certain retro charm.

A three-storey bridge leads across the Messedamm to the exhibition grounds. This enables conference and trade fair participants to walk back and forth between the building complexes in comfort.

The design was a complete success. For over 30 years, ICC Berlin was the most important conference centre in Germany. It received many awards in the 1980s and 2000s, such as the World Travel Award.

The end or a new beginning?

Despite its popularity, the technology in the ICC Berlin was getting a bit long in the tooth. Another problem was the asbestos pollution.

The last event took place in 2014. But the ICC was still not completely redundant: the State of Berlin used it as an emergency shelter for refugees from 2015 to 2017, and was commissioned to develop a concept for its continued use.

Our tips for nearby the ICC

Visit the Funkturm Berlin (Radio Tower) with its restaurant and viewing platform (162 metres high) and enjoy the panoramic view across the city. For architecture fans: opposite the ICC and Funkturm you will find the Haus des Rundfunks (Broadcasting House), which was built between 1929 and 1931 according to designs by Hans Poelzig. The RBB offers historical/architectural guided tours where you can learn about the history of radio.

Practical information from visitBerlin

The best way to get to the ICC from the city centre is to take the S-Bahn to Westkreuz station or line U2 to Kaiserdamm U-Bahn station. To explore the city by public transport, we recommend the Berlin WelcomeCard.

Direkt zum Inhalt
Festival of Lights
ICC - Internationales Congress Centrum Berlin © berlin-lights.com, Foto: Verworner

ICC - Internationales Congress Centrum Berlin

Hightech-Architektur aus den Siebzigerjahren

Vorübergehend geschlossen. - Völlig losgelöst von der Erde – die Aluminium-Fassade des ICC Berlin erinnert an die Raumgleiter aus Star Wars-Filmen.

Gefeiert – und verspottet – für sein ungewöhnliches Äußeres: Das 1979 eröffnete Gebäude scheint aus der Zeit gefallen. Das ICC zählt zur Hightech-Architektur, die in den Siebzigerjahren populär wird. Ihre Stahl- und Glasbauten sind von einer Ästhetik geprägt, die die Funktion der Gebäudeteile offenlegt.

International auftrumpfen

West-Berlin, 1970. Die Kongresshalle in Tiergarten, die sogenannte Schwangere Auster, ist endgültig zu klein geworden. Sie fasst maximal 1.200 Personen. Damit kann West-Berlin als Kongress-Standort international nicht mehr mithalten.

Schon 1966 schreibt die Ausstellungs-, Messe-, Kongress-GmbH (AMK) einen Wettbewerb für eine Mehrzweckhalle mit einer Kapazität für ca. 4.000 Personen aus. Der Sieger-Entwurf stammt von einem jungen, noch unbekannten Architekten-Ehepaar: Ralf Schüler und Ursulina Schüler-Witte.

Vor der Ausführung wird klar: Eine bloße Mehrzweckhalle ist keine Lösung für zukünftige Herausforderungen. Tourismus-Experten prophezeien Ende der 1960er Jahre eine stetige Zunahme von Kongressen – eine profitable Einnahmequelle. West-Berlin will sich als Kongressstadt neu definieren und benötigt ein angemessenes Tagungszentrum.

Am Ende wird es ein Mammutprojekt. Die Baukosten betragen fast eine Milliarde Mark. Damit löst das ICC 1979 die erst ein Jahr zuvor eröffnete Staatsbibliothek als teuersten Neubau West-Berlins ab.

Parallel zum ICC entsteht in Ost-Berlin der Palast der Republik, ein Prestigeobjekt der DDR, dem es etwas entgegenzusetzen gilt. Das ICC soll die Überlegenheit der sozialen Marktwirtschaft symbolisieren und dazu beitragen, die Wirtschaft des damals noch isolierten West-Berlins anzukurbeln.

Raumschiff am Start

Ralf Schüler und Ursulina Schüler-Witte erhalten den Auftrag, das Tagungszentrum zu bauen. Sie planen ein Riesen-Gebäude: 313 Meter Länge, 89 Meter Breite, 40 Meter Höhe.

Etwas mehr als 20.000 Teilnehmer finden hier bei Groß-Events Platz. Es gibt insgesamt 80 Tagungsräume, von je sieben bis 6.000 Quadratmeter. Das Auditorium fasst bis zu 5.000 Personen, Saal 2 rund 4.000 Besucher.

Allein aufgrund seiner Ausdehnung sticht das ICC hervor, und es zählt zu den wenigen Großbauten, die die Hightech-Architektur hervorgebracht hat.

Zudem beeindruckt das Gebäude durch sein maschinenartiges Aussehen: futuristisch, entsprechend der wachsenden Technikbegeisterung der 1970er Jahre. Deutlich zu sehen ist das an der fachwerkartigen Konstruktion, die an der Fassade verläuft. Sie unterstützt die Statik des Tagungszentrums und erzeugt Assoziationen an ein Baustellengerüst.

1975, zu Beginn der Bauarbeiten, liegt die erste Mondlandung sechs Jahre zurück. Kein Wunder, dass das voluminöse Gebäude mit seiner Form und der Aluminium-Fassade Raumschiff genannt wird. Als beliebtes Postkartenmotiv wird es zu einem Wahrzeichen des zukunftsorientierten West-Berlins.

Ausstattung mit Retro-Charme

Die Haustechnik des ICC ist bei der Eröffnung auf dem neuesten Stand: 8.000 Sessel in den Konferenzräumen verfügen über eine Dolmetsch-Funktion für bis zu acht Sprachen. Von jedem Platz aus können sich die Teilnehmer per Mikrofon zu Wort melden.

Treppenhäuser und Foyers beeindrucken mit futuristischen Elementen. Geometrische Op-Art-Teppiche, ein innovatives Wegeleitsystem aus roten und blauen Leuchtröhren: Die meisten Elemente der Innenausstattung sind bis heute original erhalten und besitzen Retro-Charme.

Über den Messedamm führt eine dreigeschossige Brücke hinüber zum Messegelände. So können Konferenz- und Messeteilnehmer bequem zwischen den Gebäudekomplexen hin- und herlaufen.

Der Entwurf ist ein voller Erfolg. Über 30 Jahre lang bleibt das ICC Berlin das wichtigste Tagungszentrum Deutschlands. In den 1980er und 2000er Jahren erhält es viele Auszeichnungen, wie beispielsweise den World Travel Award.

Ende oder Neuanfang?

Trotz seiner Beliebtheit kommt das ICC Berlin auch mit seiner Technik in die Jahre. Ein weiteres Problem ist die Asbest-Belastung.

2014 findet vorerst die letzte Veranstaltung statt. Aber das ICC hat noch nicht ganz ausgedient: Das Land Berlin nutzt es zwei Jahre lang, von 2015 bis 2017, als Notunterkunft für Flüchtlinge, und bekommt den Auftrag, ein Konzept zur Weiternutzung zu entwickeln.

Unsere Tipps rund um das ICC

Besuchen Sie den Berliner Funkturm mit seinem Restaurant und der Aussichtsplattform (in 162 Meter Höhe), und genießen Sie den Panoramablick über die Stadt. Für Architekturfans: Gegenüber von ICC und Funkturm befindet sich das Haus des Rundfunks, erbaut von 1929 bis 1931 nach Entwürfen von Hans Poelzig. 

Praktische Infos von visitBerlin

Das ICC im Bezirk Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf erreichen Sie von der Innenstadt am besten mit der S-Bahn bis zum S-Bahnhof Westkreuz oder zum U-Bahnhof Kaiserdamm mit der Linie U2. Um die Stadt zu erkunden, empfehlen wir für den öffentlichen Nahverkehr die Berlin Welcome Card.