Skip to main content
Topic room in the Filmmuseum Potsdam
Blue topic room in the Filmmuseum Potsdam © Filmmuseum Potsdam, Foto: Jörg Leopold

Filmmuseum Potsdam

Film History in Potsdam’s Oldest Building

This oldest film museum in Germany is located in the Potsdamer Stadtschloss. In the heart of Brandenburg's capital, you can go behind the scenes of film and cinema. In a magnificent baroque building, stars of the silver screen shine. With the permanent exhibition "Dream factory - 100 years of film in Babelsberg", the museum shows the long history of the Babelsberg film studios, the oldest film factory in the world. Over 700 props take you through the history of Babelsberg's film world: from elaborate costumes to furniture pieces. Discover the original bench from "The Punch Bowl" and a vehicle from "Around the World in 80 Days."

Film Museum Potsdam: Experience screen history

In 1981, the Film Museum moves into the stables of the Potsdamer Stadtschloss - then as a GDR film museum. Since 1990, the museum has presented the film history of a united Germany. The interiors are modernised in 1993. Since 2011, the museum offers a behind the scenes look at the famous film studios in the exhibition "Dream factory - 100 years of film in Babelsberg."
Since its founding in 1912, more than 3,000 TV shows and films have been produced by the Babelsberger Filmstudios. Learn how movies come together in seven themed rooms. In the first, you will see how a film is created with 20 examples - starting from the beginning. The next room shows castings of famous actors including Marlene Dietrich, Christopher Waltz and Kate Winslet. In the popular casting box, you can audition for a film or be digitally inserted into famous movie scenes.
In the themed area, learn about the art of set design and construction. Watch over the director’s shoulder to learn about the techniques used by the various players in the film industry. Continue to the colourful, cramped room filled with original props and film trophies in glass display cases. The cutting table from 1965 really attracts attention. Learn about music and sound in the acoustically shielded room by singing a duet with German singer Zarah Leander. Find out how individual sound sequences affect different scenes in a film. The final stop is the in-house cinema. This radiates a special charm with its velvet chairs and historical projectors. Here you can enjoy film excerpts from the well-known Babelsberger film productions, projected onto the screen.

The history of film: in the Film Museum Potsdam

  • Permanent exhibition "Dream factory - 100 years of film in Babelsberg".
  • Special exhibitions such as "Sam Shaw - 60 Years of Photography".
  • Portrait photos, posters, production documents and costumes from worldwide blockbusters.
  • Cinema hall with organ music and historic projectors and seats.
  • Credits: fun and dialogue in the museum café.

Attractions around the Film Museum Potsdam

After your visit to the museum, head to the world's oldest studio. Studio Babelsberg is the largest of its kind in Europe. It is about 5 kilometres away and easy to reach by bus and tram. On the premises, Oscar winners like “Inglourious Basterds” and “Grand Budapest Hotel” were created. The Filmpark Babelsberg and the 4D-Action Cinema next door are also worth a visit. Afterwards you can enjoy the view from the Schlosspark of the Jungfernsee Lake and the Glienicker Brücke.

Tips for visiting the Film Museum Potsdam

The Film Museum Potsdam can be easily reached from Berlin's Hauptbahnhof with the Regional Express. With the Berlin WelcomeCard you receive a 29% discount on the permanent exhibition and special exhibitions. Children under five are not admitted. The museum offers expert guided tours for groups.

 

Find further information here

Direkt zum Inhalt
Themenraum im Filmmuseum Potsdam
Blauer Themenraum "Mimen und Masken" im Filmmuseum © Filmmuseum Potsdam, Foto: Jörg Leopold

Filmmuseum Potsdam

Werden Sie selbst zum Leinwandstar

Im Potsdamer Stadtschloss befindet sich das älteste Filmmuseum Deutschlands. Im Herzen der brandenburgischen Hauptstadt blicken Sie hinter die Kulissen des Films. Seien Sie selbst einmal Leinwandstar im prächtigen Barockbau. Mit der ständigen Ausstellung „Traumfabrik – 100 Jahre Film in Babelsberg“ zeigt das Museum die lange Historie der Babelsberger Filmstudios. Es ist die älteste Filmfabrik der Welt. Über 700 Requisiten entführen Sie in die Geschichte der Babelsberger Filmwelt: von aufwändigen Kostümen bis hin zu Möbelstücken. Entdecken Sie die Originalbank aus „Die Feuerzangenbowle“, ein Fahrzeug aus „In 80 Tagen um die Welt“ oder die Schallplatte aus „Sonnenallee“.

Filmmuseum Potsdam: Leinwandgeschichte hautnah erleben

1981 zieht das Filmmuseum in den Marstall des Potsdamer Stadtschlosses – damals als Filmmuseum der DDR. Seit 1990 präsentiert das Museum die Filmgeschichte Gesamtdeutschlands. Seit 2011 blicken Sie in der Ausstellung „Traumfabrik – 100 Jahre Film in Babelsberg“ hinter die Kulissen der berühmten Filmstudios.

Seit der Gründung 1912 entstehen mehr als 3.000 TV- und Kinofilme in den Babelsberger Filmstudios. Wie die Leinwandhits entstehen, vollziehen Sie in sieben Themenräumen nach – angefangen bei der ersten Idee. Weiter geht es mit den Stars auf der Leinwand: Der nächste Raum erzählt von den Castings berühmter Schauspieler, unter anderem: Marlene Dietrich, Christoph Waltz und Kate Winslet. In der beliebten Casting-Box können Sie außerdem selbst vorsprechen oder sich per Computer in bekannte Filmszenen hineinschneiden.

Bestaunen Sie im Themenraum zu den Filmbaumeistern alles rund um die Kunst der Set-Gestaltung und des Kulissenbaus. Blicken Sie dem Regisseur über die Schulter und erfahren Sie mehr über die Technik verschiedener Spielleiter. Weiter geht es in dem Raum voller Originalrequisiten und Filmtrophäen hinter Glasvitrinen. Der Schneidetisch von 1965 zieht alle Blicke auf sich. Singen Sie im Themenbereich Musik und Ton im akustisch abgeschirmten Raum im Duett mit Zarah Leander „Es war eine rauschende Ballnacht“. Wie wirken sich einzelne Tonsequenzen auf verschiedene Szenen aus? Probieren Sie es aus. Am Ende geht es in das hauseigene Kino. Mit seinen Samtsesseln und den historischen Projektoren strahlt es einen ganz besonderen Charme aus. Im Hintergrund werden Filmausschnitte aus bekannten Babelsberger Filmproduktionen an die Leinwand projiziert.

Die Geschichte des Films: im Filmmuseum Potsdam

  • Ständige Ausstellung „Traumfabrik – 100 Jahre Film in Babelsberg“
  • Sonderausstellungen wie „Sam Shaw – 60 Jahre Fotografie“
  • Porträtfotos, Plakate, Dokumente, Produktionsunterlagen und Kostümentwürfe von weltweiten Kassenschlagern
  • Kinosaal mit musikalischer Orgeluntermalung sowie historischen Projektoren und Kinosesseln
  • Abspann: Plausch und Dialog im Museumscafé

Attraktionen rund um das Filmmuseum Potsdam

Besuchen Sie anschließend das weltweit älteste Atelierfilmstudio selbst. Das Studio Babelsberg ist das Größte seiner Art in Europa. Es liegt rund 5 Kilometer entfernt und ist gut mit Bus und Tram zu erreichen. Auf dem Gelände entstanden unter anderem Oscar-Abräumer wie Inglourious Basterds, Grand Budapest Hotel und Der Vorleser. Sehenswert ist auch der Filmpark Babelsberg gleich nebenan mit 4D-Actionkino. Danach genießen Sie den Blick vom Schlosspark auf den Jungfernsee und die Glienicker Brücke.

Tipps für den Besuch im Filmmuseum Potsdam

Das Filmmuseum Potsdam erreichen Sie vom Berliner Hauptbahnhof bequem mit dem Regionalexpress. Mit der Berlin WelcomeCard erhalten Sie 29 % Nachlass auf die ständige Ausstellung und Sonderschauen. Kinder bis fünf Jahre zahlen generell keinen Eintritt. Für Gruppen bietet das Museum fachkundige Führungen an.

 

Öffnungszeiten

Dienstag 10:00 – 18:00
Mittwoch 10:00 – 18:00
Donnerstag 10:00 – 18:00
Freitag 10:00 – 18:00
Samstag 10:00 – 18:00
Sonntag 10:00 – 18:00

Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen