Skip to main content

Along the Walk – The Conference on Deceleration in Performing Arts

SLOW  (50 Minutes)  - Slow has a particularly suitable metaphor: An artist is busy carving an imposing piece of wood, while a small child stands beside him, observing his work. After a moment, the sculptor drops his tools and takes a few steps back to observe his work. The child does the same and realizes that the sculpture represents his own face!


He stares at the artist, surprised, and asks, « Hey, how did you know I was in there?” What if the story to be told is already on stage or somewhere in our bodies? What if all we have to do is reveal what is already here? Slow is a performance that creates theatrical moments out of what already exists in the space. Its unique approach plunges us into the heart of the sincerity of the moment. In this truly spontaneous theater, Marko Mayerl, Matthieu Loos and Mats Karlsson, more discoverers than inventors, make Keith Jarett’s phrase « improvisation is playing the inevitable » their own.


  • Concept: Marko Mayerl, Matthieu Loos
  • Performing: Marko Mayerl, Matthieu Loos, Mats Karlsson
  • Music: Mats Karlsson
  • Light design: Mikaël Gorce
  • Production: Combats Absurdes & Inédit Théâtre

ALONG THE BOOK (50 Minutes) – book presentation

Over the two years of Along the Walk, a book has been made. It is an insight into the creative processes and an entry into the artistic mind, artistic strategies, intuition and other aspects that have become entangled in the seven artistic journeys. The materials include notes from the journeys, testimonies and local responses to the participatory artistic actions in the European countryside. Included are also reflections on each individual walk and findings on the general themes of the project – slowing down, deceleration, environmental awareness, social inclusion and collective work.

The book maps the creative processes of the Walks and the whole project. This event, moderated by Samo Oleami, the book’s editor, is an exploration of the creative process of the book itself.


Along the Walk - an artistic project on deceleration - a joyful tactic

(Program in English)

Dates
April 2024
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30

Direkt zum Inhalt

Along the Walk – The Conference on Deceleration in Performing Arts

SLOW (50 Minuten) – Slow hat eine besonders passende Metapher: Ein Künstler ist damit beschäftigt, ein imposantes Stück Holz zu schnitzen, während ein kleines Kind neben ihm steht und seine Arbeit beobachtet. Nach einem Moment lässt der Bildhauer seine Werkzeuge fallen und tritt ein paar Schritte zurück, um seine Arbeit zu beobachten.


Das Kind macht dasselbe und erkennt, dass die Skulptur sein eigenes Gesicht darstellt! Er starrt den Künstler überrascht an und fragt: „Hey, woher wusstest du, dass ich da drin bin?“ Was wäre, wenn die zu erzählende Geschichte bereits auf der Bühne oder irgendwo in diesem Körper wäre? Was wäre, wenn wir nur offenbaren müssten, was bereits vorhanden ist? Slow ist eine Performance, die theatralische Momente aus dem schafft, was bereits im Raum vorhanden ist. Sein einzigartiger Ansatz lässt uns in die Aufrichtigkeit des Augenblicks eintauchen. In diesem wirklich spontanen Theater machen sich Marko Mayerl, Matthieu Loos und Mats Karlsson, mehr Entdecker als Erfinder, Keith Jaretts Satz „Improvisation spielt das Unvermeidliche“ zu eigen.


  • Konzept: Marko Mayerl, Matthieu Loos
  • Es spielen: Marko Mayerl, Matthieu Loos, Mats Karlsson
  • Musik: Mats Karlsson
  • Lichtdesign: Mikaël Gorce
  • Produktion: Combats Absurdes & Inédit Théâtre


ALONG THE BOOK (50 Minuten) – Buchpräsentation

In den zwei Jahren von Along the Walk ist ein Buch entstanden. Es ist ein Einblick in die kreativen Prozesse und ein Einstieg in den künstlerischen Geist, künstlerische Strategien, Intuition und andere Aspekte, die in den sieben künstlerischen Reisen verwoben sind. Die Materialien umfassen Notizen von den Reisen, Zeugnisse und lokale Reaktionen auf die partizipativen künstlerischen Aktionen in den europäischen ländlichen Gebieten. Darin enthalten sind auch Reflexionen zu jedem einzelnen Spaziergang und Erkenntnisse zu den allgemeinen Themen des Projekts – Entschleunigung, Entschleunigung, Umweltbewusstsein, soziale Inklusion und kollektive Arbeit. Das Buch bildet die kreativen Prozesse der Walks und des gesamten Projekts ab. Diese Veranstaltung, moderiert von Samo Oleami, dem Herausgeber des Buches, ist eine Erkundung des kreativen Prozesses des Buches selbst.

(Programm in englischer Sprache)
Termine
April 2024
MoDiMiDoFrSaSo
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30