Skip to main content

"Soul Is Heavy" was the title of Nneka's third album, which was released in 2011. And the title is simply programmatic for the Nigerian. You can hear it on her new album from February 2022, the first in five years, which she has just as programmatically called "Love Supreme".

Nneka
Nneka Idona Asamoah

Nneka's new work is a search and a finding. For this, she paces her songs and her thoughts in her driving mix of neo-soul, hip-hop, reggae, jazz, Afrobeats and electro. For her new album, she also collaborated with DJ Farhot again in a very proven way. The two developed wonderful sounds that let the introspective lyrics of the album float.

Although the record is actually a search for herself, Nneka says, it's still the most political record she's made so far. Because she clarifies the basics here, because she defines herself in the world, thereby sharpening her attitude, and also because the music is a search for God.

As difficult as this sounds, the music, on the other hand, is so easy. Never before has a philosophical lecture sounded so funky, so groovy, so cool. Fortunately, Nneka is now also going on tour with this album.

Buy ticket

Events
Datum
Gretchen

Direkt zum Inhalt

"Soul Is Heavy“ hieß das dritte Album von Nneka, das 2011 erschienen ist. Und der Titel ist bei der Nigerianerin einfach Programm. Das hört man auf ihrem neuen Album vom Februar 2022, dem ersten nach fünf Jahren, das sie ebenso programmatisch „Love Supreme“ genannt hat.

Nneka
Nneka © Idona Asamoah

Nnekas neues Werk ist eine Suche und ein Finden. Dafür pakt sie ihre Songs und ihre Gedanken in ihre treibende Mischung aus Neo-Soul, HipHop, Reggae, Jazz, Afrobeats und Elektro. Für ihr neues Alum hat  sie auch wieder ganz bewährt mit DJ Farhot zusammengearbeitet. Die beiden entwickelten wunderbare Sounds, die die introspektiven Lyrics des Albums schweben lassen

Obwohl die Platte für sie eigentlich eine Suche nach sich selbst sei, sagt Nneka, sei es dennoch die politischste Platte, die sie bisher gemacht habe. Weil sie hier die Grundlagen klärt, weil sie sich selbst in der Welt definiert, dadurch ihre Haltung schärft und auch, weil die Musik eine Suche nach Gott ist.

So schwer sich das anhört, so leicht ist dagegen die Musik. Noch nie klang eine philosophische Vorlesung so funky, so groovy, so cool wie hier. Zum Glück geht Nneka jetzt mit diesem Album auch auf Tour.

Ticket kaufen

Termine
Datum
Gretchen