Skip to main content
The event you were looking for has already taken place. Find many more events, tips and recommendations in Berlin's biggest event calendar on visitBerlin.com.

The first Berlin solo exhibition of Finnish artist Jenna Sutela at the Ernst Schering Foundation Gallery innovatively combines art with science. The artistic works on display deal with a human, endogenous product: human milk. In "Stellar Nursery," the artist shows her installation titled" HMO Nutrix (2022)" and her latest film work "Milky Ways (2022)."

Jenna Sutela, HMO Fountain 2022
Jenna Sutela, HMO Fountain 2022 Jenna Sutela, HMO Fountain 2022

In "HMO Nutrix," synthetically produced human milk is staged as a bubbling "fountain." The bubbling is created with the help of milk pumps that churn the liquid, while a biomimetic throat singing animates the installation.

The solution is enriched with substances that researchers have identified as key components of breast milk. Human milk oligosaccharides (HMOs) cannot be digested by the infant, but they feed its gut bacteria. They protect the newborn from disease, promote cognitive development and crucially build its microbiome. Sutela uses recent scientific findings to link them in a poetic narrative to the myth of the formation of the Milky Way through the splashing breast milk of the goddess Hera in the film "Milky Ways." While the Greek goddess creates the galaxy, a microbial universe is created in the body of a child with the help of breast milk.

Sutela's research-based work is devoted, on the one hand, to the symbiosis of humans and microorganisms. On the other hand, she refers to the efforts of the food industry to biotechnologically copy the ingredients of human breast milk and market them as optimizing food supplements.

Jenna Sutela (b. 1983, Turku, Finland) devotes her work to living organisms such as bacteria and slime molds, as well as sound and language. In her audiovisual works, sculptures, and performances, the artist forges connections between biological entities and technologies. She is particularly interested in the productive interaction of human and non-human organisms.

The exhibition, which will be on view in the exhibition space of the Ernst Schering Foundation from September 15 to November 27, is produced with the support of Primer, Copenhagen, and Haus der Kunst, Munich. The exhibition takes place in collaboration with the Screen City Biennial, which will also open in the fall.


The program accompanying the exhibition includes a scientific lecture on the potential and health-promoting effects of certain sugar molecules - so-called HMOs - in human breast milk, as well as a panel discussion devoted, among other things, to the question of why our relationship not only to breast milk must change fundamentally.

DEEP WITHIN AND DEEP WITHOUT
Jenna Sutela in conversation with Sissel Tolaas and Sarah Johanna Theurer.
Tuesday, October 18, 2022, 6-8pm [English].

Artists Sissel Tolaas and Jenna Sutela discuss with curators Sarah Johanna Theurer (Haus der Kunst Munich) and Christina Landbrecht (Ernst Schering Foundation) their affinity for scientific topics, their previous collaboration projects, and their interest in endogenous products, as well as the question of what contribution art can make to a new consideration and appreciation of bacteria.

COMPLEX SUGARS - ALL-ROUNDERS IN BREAST MILK?
Lecture by Prof. Dr. Silvia Rudloff
Tuesday, November 8, 2022, 6-8 p.m. [German].

Prof. Dr. Silvia Rudloff, nutritionist and immunologist at Justus Liebig University Giessen, will talk in her lecture about the so-called human milk oligosaccharides (HMOs) - essential components of breast milk, which were the title for Sutela's sculpture "HMO nutrix" - and their effect on the structure of the infant's organism.

Admission is free. Please register in advance via email to zaida.violan@bureau-n.de
Additional information
Events
Datum
Schering Stiftung

Direkt zum Inhalt
Ihre gesuchte Veranstaltung hat bereits stattgefunden. Finden Sie viele weitere Veranstaltungen, Tipps und Empfehlungen in Berlins größtem Veranstaltungskalender auf visitBerlin.de.

Die erste Berliner Einzelausstellung der finnischen Künstlerin Jenna Sutela in der Galerie der Schering Stiftung vereint innovativ Kunst mit Wissenschaft. Die gezeigten künstlerischen Arbeiten befassen sich mit einem menschlichen, körpereigenen Produkt: der menschlichen Milch.

Jenna Sutela, HMO Fountain 2022
Jenna Sutela, HMO Fountain 2022 Jenna Sutela, HMO Fountain 2022

In "Stellar Nursery" zeigt die Künstlerin ihre Installation mit dem Titel" HMO Nutrix (2022)" und ihre neueste Filmarbeit "Milky Ways (2022)".

Im "HMO Nutrix" wird synthetisch hergestellte menschliche Milch als blubbernder „Brunnen“ inszeniert. Das Blubbern entsteht mithilfe von Milchpumpen, die die Flüssigkeit aufwirbeln, während ein biomimetischer Kehlkopfgesang die Installation animiert. Die Lösung ist mit Stoffen angereichert, die die Forschung als wichtigste Bestandteile der Brustmilch identifiziert hat. Humanmilch-Oligosaccharide (HMOs) können zwar vom Säugling nicht verdaut werden, füttern aber seine Darmbakterien. Sie schützen das Neugeborene vor Krankheiten, fördern seine kognitive Entwicklung und bauen sein Mikrobiom entscheidend auf.

Sutela nutzt die jüngsten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse, um sie im Film "Milky Ways" in einer poetischen Erzählung mit dem Mythos der Entstehung der Milchstraße durch die spritzende Brustmilch der Göttin Hera zu verknüpfen. Während die griechische Göttin die Galaxie erschafft, entsteht mithilfe der Brustmilch ein mikrobielles Universum im Körper eines Kindes.

Sutela widmet sich in ihren recherchebasierten Arbeiten zum einen der Symbiose von Mensch und Mikroorganismen. Zum anderen verweist sie auf die Anstrengungen der Nahrungsmittelindustrie, die Inhaltsstoffe humaner Brustmilch biotechnologisch zu kopieren und sie als optimierended Nahrungsergänzungsmittel zu vermarkten.

Jenna Sutela (*1983, Turku, Finnland) widmet ihre Arbeit lebenden Organismen wie Bakterien und Schleimpilzen sowie Klang und Sprache. In ihren audiovisuellen Werken, Skulpturen und Performances knüpft die Künstlerin Verbindungen zwischen biologischen Entitäten und Technologien. Ihr besonderes Interesse gilt dem produktiven Zusammenwirken von menschlichen und nicht-menschlichen Organismen.

Die Ausstellung, die vom 15. September bis 27. November im Ausstellungsraum der Schering Stiftung zu sehen sein wird, entsteht mit Unterstützung von Primer, Kopenhagen und dem Haus der Kunst, München. Die Ausstellung findet in Kollaboration mit der Screen City Biennial statt, die ebenfalls im Herbst eröffnet wird.


Das Begleitprogramm zur Ausstellung umfasst einen wissenschaftlichen Vortrag über das Potential und die gesundheitsfördernde Wirkung bestimmter Zuckermoleküle – so genannter HMOs – in der menschlichen Brustmilch sowie eine Paneldiskussion, die sich u.a. der Frage widmet, warum sich unser Verhältnis nicht nur zu Brustmilch fundamental verändern muss.

DEEP WITHIN AND DEEP WITHOUT
Jenna Sutela im Gespräch mit Sissel Tolaas und Sarah Johanna Theurer
Dienstag, 18. Oktober 2022, 18–20 Uhr [Englisch]

Die Künstlerinnen Sissel Tolaas und Jenna Sutela diskutieren mit den Kuratorinnen Sarah Johanna Theurer (Haus der Kunst München) und Christina Landbrecht (Schering Stiftung) über ihre Affinität zu wissenschaftlichen Themen, ihre bisherigen Kollaborationsprojekte und ihr Interesse an körpereigenen Produkten sowie die Frage, welchen Beitrag Kunst zu einer neuen Betrachtung und Wertschätzung von Bakterien leisten kann.

KOMPLEXE ZUCKER – ALLESKÖNNER IN DER MUTTERMILCH?
Vortrag von Prof. Dr. Silvia Rudloff
Dienstag, 8. November 2022, 18–20 Uhr [Deutsch]

Prof. Dr. Silvia Rudloff, Ernährungswissenschaftlerin und Immunologin an der Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen, wird in ihrem Vortrag über die sogenannten Humanmilch-Oligosaccharide (HMOs) – essenzielle Bestandteile der Muttermilch, die für Sutelas Skulptur „HMO nutrix“ titelgebend waren – und ihre Wirkung auf den Aufbau des Organismus des Säuglings sprechen.

Der Eintritt ist frei. Anmeldungen bitte vorab via Mail an zaida.violan@bureau-n.de
Zusätzliche Informationen
Termine
Datum
Schering Stiftung