Skip to main content

Literatur LIVE

The journalist and political scientist Gilda Sahebi shows in her clear analysis: Everyone thinks racist. This has nothing to do with extremism. Rather, it is a consequence of political and social structures that shape thinking and action.


Where majority and minority societies meet, racist thought patterns and structures almost inevitably form - unless you consciously take action against them. In Germany you don't do that. The racism “accusation”: It is dismissed. It is better to be outraged than to have a serious debate and solve real problems.

Gilda Sahebi analyzes the specifics of German racism. To do this, she looks back to the German Empire and traces the common threads of racist thinking that run from then to the debates of today. It shows how we constantly perpetuate racist and divisive narratives, teach ourselves racism again and again - and thus endanger democracy.

Gilda Sahebi, born in Iran and raised in Germany, is a trained doctor and studied political science. She works as a freelance journalist with a focus on anti-Semitism and racism, women's rights, the Middle East and science. She is an author for “taz” and “Spiegel” and works for ARD, among others. Since the death of Jina Mahsa Amini and the protest movement that followed, she has been tirelessly reporting on events in Iran. She explains and classifies things via her social media channels and as a conversation partner on various talk shows. This makes her one of the most important voices about Iran. “Focus” named her one of the “100 Women of the Year” in 2022, and “Medium Magazine” named her Journalist of the Year in the Politics section.


(Program in German)

Buy ticket

Dates
April 2024
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30

Direkt zum Inhalt

Literatur LIVE

Die Journalistin und Politikwissenschaftlerin Gilda Sahebi zeigt in ihrer klaren Analyse: Alle denken rassistisch. Mit Extremismus hat das nichts zu tun. Sondern es ist Konsequenz politischer und gesellschaftlicher Strukturen, die Denken und Handeln formen.


Wo Mehrheits- und Minderheitsgesellschaften aufeinandertreffen, bilden sich fast zwangsläufig rassistische Denkmuster und Strukturen – außer man steuert bewusst dagegen. In Deutschland tut man das nicht. Der Rassismus-»Vorwurf«: Er wird abgetan. Lieber empört man sich, als eine ernsthafte Debatte zu führen und tatsächliche Probleme zu lösen.

Gilda Sahebi analysiert die Spezifika des deutschen Rassismus. Dafür blickt sie zurück bis ins Deutsche Kaiserreich und verfolgt die roten Fäden rassistischen Denkens, die sich von damals bis in die Debatten unserer Gegenwart ziehen. Sie zeigt, wie wir rassistische und spaltende Narrative stetig weitertragen, uns Rassismus immer wieder beibringen – und damit die Demokratie gefährden.

Gilda Sahebi, im Iran geboren und in Deutschland aufgewachsen, ist ausgebildete Ärztin und studierte Politikwissenschaftlerin. Sie arbeitet als freie Journalistin mit den Schwerpunkten Antisemitismus und Rassismus, Frauenrechte, Naher Osten und Wissenschaft. Sie ist Autorin für die »taz« und den »Spiegel« und arbeitet unter anderem für die ARD. Seit dem Tod von Jina Mahsa Amini und der darauf folgenden Protestbewegung berichtet sie unermüdlich über die Geschehnisse im Iran. Über ihre Social-Media-Kanäle und als Gesprächspartnerin in diversen Talkshows erklärt sie und ordnet ein. Damit zählt sie zu den wichtigen Stimmen über den Iran. Der »Focus« ernannte sie 2022 zu einer der »100 Frauen des Jahres«, das »Medium Magazin« zur Journalistin des Jahres in der Rubrik Politik.


Ticket kaufen

Termine
April 2024
MoDiMiDoFrSaSo
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30