Skip to main content

Lynn would like a dog but doesn’t have a flat. Eva would like one too, but wonders whether it’s okay to be master over another living creature. Both dream of a warm, breathing product of their love: their Dyke Dog.

Lynn Takeo Musiol & Eva Tepest
Lynn Takeo Musiol & Eva Tepest © Eden Jetschmann

How is the world narrated from a queer lesbian point of view? How can we generate awareness without performing woke visibility? What is the context in which I replicate myself and my desire on a daily basis? And what indication does it provide for what a supportive future might look like?

Lesbian visibility in the theatre is in poor shape. While the classic theatre canon almost completely disregards lesbian protagonists, modern and oft- performed adaptations such as »The Bitter Tears of Petra von Kant« by Rainer Werner Fassbinder and Ingmar Bergman’s »Persona« follow in the tradition of lesbian pulp fiction. Queerness is not permitted a happy ending here.

And yet »stories that I would have liked to have seen as a young lesbian girl«, as Paula Knüpling from the cmd+c theatre collective points out, would appear to be important for meeting the diversity aspirations formulated by theatres themselves.
Bolshy, assertive, recalcitrant and playful, the »Dyke Dogs« want to focus on the perspective of queers and lesbians and »take into account more than just mainstream society.«

»Dyke Dogs« is a series of events curated by the collective of the same name which comprises Eva Tepest and Lynn Takeo Musiol. Both have studied something related to sociology, have water signs in their horoscopes and grew up in the post-industrial Rhineland. They have been writing, curating and performing together since 2018. Their maxim: Dyke is a riot. Dyke is tragic. Dyke is always insufficient.
Additional information
Participating artists
Diana Swieca (Licht)
Ulla Willis (Ausstattung)
Events
Datum
Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz

Direkt zum Inhalt

Lynn hätte gerne einen Hund, hat aber keine Wohnung. Eva hätte auch gerne einen, fragt sich aber, ob es okay ist, über ein Lebewesen zu herrschen. Beide träumen von einem atmenden, warmen Produkt ihrer Liebe: ihrem Dyke Dog.

Lynn Takeo Musiol & Eva Tepest
Lynn Takeo Musiol & Eva Tepest © Eden Jetschmann

Wie erzählt sich die Welt über einen queer-lesbischen Blick? Wie können wir Sichtbarkeit erzeugen, ohne woke Visibility zu performen? Was ist der Zusammenhang, in dem ich mich und mein Begehren tagtäglich reproduziere? Und welchen Hinweis gibt er darauf, wie eine solidarische Zukunft aussehen könnte?

Es ist schlecht bestellt um die lesbische Sichtbarkeit im Theater. Während der klassische Theaterkanon lesbische Protagonist_innen nahezu ausblendet, stehen moderne und gerne gespielte Adaptionen wie »Die bitteren Tränen der Petra von Kant« von Rainer Werner Fassbinder oder auch Ingmar Bergmans »Persona« in der Tradition der lesbischen Pulp-Fiktion.

Queerness darf hier kein Happy End erleben. Dabei wären »Geschichten, die ich mir als junges lesbisches Mädchen zu sehen gewünscht hätte«, wie Paula Knüpling vom Theaterkollektiv cmd+c betont, so wichtig, um den von Theatern formulierten Diversitätsanspruch einzulösen.

Aufmüpfig, selbstbewusst, widerständig und spielerisch möchten »Dyke Dogs« daher die Perspektive von Queers und Lesben in den Fokus nehmen, »die mehr als die Mehrheitsgesellschaft in den Blick nimmt.«

»Dyke Dogs« ist eine Veranstaltungsreihe kuratiert vom gleichnamigen Kollektiv, bestehend aus Eva Tepest und Lynn Takeo Musiol. Beide haben etwas Soziologisches studiert, tragen Wasserzeichen in ihren Horoskopen und sind im post-industriellen Rheinland aufgewachsen. Gemeinsam schreiben, kuratieren und performen sie seit 2018. Ihre Maxime: Dyke is a riot. Dyke ist tragisch. Dyke ist immer unzureichend.
Zusätzliche Informationen
Teilnehmende Künstler
Diana Swieca (Licht)
Ulla Willis (Ausstattung)
Termine
Datum
Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz