Skip to main content

Alec Soth - A Pound of Pictures is the first presentation in Europe of the eponymous, latest series by American photographer Alec Soth. The exhibition features a selection curated by Dr. Candice M. Hamelin and is presented by Stiftung Reinbeckhallen at Art Lab with the kind support of LOOCK Galerie and Plattform Photography in Berlin as part of Berlin Photo Week.

low res I Alec Soth, Alec Soth Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Archival pigment print, 2021, © Alec Soth, Magnum Photos, courtesy LOOCK, Berlin
low res I Alec Soth, Alec Soth Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Archival pigment print, 2021, © Alec Soth, Magnum Photos, courtesy LOOCK, Berlin © low res I Alec Soth, Alec Soth Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Archival pigment print, 2021, © Alec Soth, Magnum Photos, courtesy LOOCK, Berlin

The series and photobook A Pound of Pictures were created between 2018 - 2021, a three-year period in which Soth often traveled across the U.S. accompanied by his interns Molly, Cheryl, Alejandro, his former student Cooper, and his daughter Carmen, documenting aspects of American life with large-format camera and tripod. Concurrent with Soth's work on the series - first along the route of the funeral procession that transported Abraham Lincoln's body in the spring of 1865, and later along both American coasts - he began to actively engage with old photographs, collecting them at flea markets and on the Internet. This inspired him to explore the process of image making and the circulation of photographic images, and to incorporate these themes into the current series.

As such, A Pound of Pictures is a self-reflexive work that is less about the visible subjects than The title of the series is derived from a flea market vendor who offered old photographs by the pound. A Pound is both literal as a unit of weight and metaphorical on an emotional level. The series and the photo book encourage the recipient to think about the material and immaterial weight of photographs and the limits of photographic representation.

Since the publication of his first major work Sleeping by the Mississippi (2014), Alec Soth has been considered one of the most important contemporary photographers in the world. His photographic series oscillate between documentary photography and fine art. Through his work, he explores the various forms of photography and their diverse modes of presentation. Soth is a visual artist and photographer, member of the Magnum agency, blogger, publisher and educator - yet he sees himself first and foremost as an American photographer, acting in the tradition of his former teacher Joel Sternfeld. As a chronicler of American life, the landscapes of the United States - from the Mississippi to Niagara Falls to the deserts and small towns and suburbs - form the starting point of his series, in which he documents the often contradictory ideas and facets of American society.

Biography

Alec Soth (b. 1969 in Minneapolis, Minnesota) has published over 25 photography books, including Sleeping by the Mississippi (2004), NIAGARA (2006), Broken Manual (2010), Songbook (2015), and I Know How Furiously Your Heart is Beating (2019). Over the past two decades, the photographer has had over 50 solo exhibitions, including survey exhibitions organized by Jeu de Paume in Paris (2008), the Walker Art Center in Minnesota (2010), and Media Space in London (2015). Soth has been awarded numerous grants and prizes, most notably the Guggenheim Fellowship (2013) and the Royal Photographic Society Honorary Fellowship (2021). in 2008, Soth founded Little Brown Mushroom, a multimedia company focused on visual storytelling.
Additional information
Price: €5.00

Reduced price: €3.00
Events
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen

Direkt zum Inhalt

Alec Soth - A Pound of Pictures ist die erste Präsentation in Europa der gleichnamigen, neuesten Serie des amerikanischen Fotografen Alec Soth. Die Ausstellung zeigt eine von Dr. Candice M. Hamelin kuratierte Auswahl und wird von der Stiftung Reinbeckhallen im Art Lab mit freundlicher Unterstützung der LOOCK Galerie und der Plattform Photography in Berlin im Rahmen der Berlin Photo Week gezeigt.

low res I Alec Soth, Alec Soth Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Archival pigment print, 2021, © Alec Soth, Magnum Photos, courtesy LOOCK, Berlin
low res I Alec Soth, Alec Soth Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Archival pigment print, 2021, © Alec Soth, Magnum Photos, courtesy LOOCK, Berlin © low res I Alec Soth, Alec Soth Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Archival pigment print, 2021, © Alec Soth, Magnum Photos, courtesy LOOCK, Berlin

Die Serie und das Fotobuch A Pound of Pictures entstanden zwischen 2018 – 2021. In diesem dreijährigen Zeitraum reiste Soth oftmals in Begleitung seiner Praktikant*innen Molly, Cheryl, Alejandro, seines ehemaligen Studenten Cooper und seiner Tochter Carmen, durch die USA, um Aspekte des amerikanischen Lebens mit Großbildkamera und Stativ zu dokumentieren. Zeitgleich zu Soths Arbeit an der Serie – zunächst entlang der Route des Trauerzuges, auf dem im Frühjahr 1865 Abraham Lincolns Leichnam transportiert wurde und später entlang beider amerikanischen Küsten - begann er sich aktiv mit alten Fotografien zu beschäftigen und diese auf Flohmärkten und im Internet zu sammeln. Dies regte ihn an, sich mit dem Prozess der Bildherstellung und dem Zirkulieren von fotografischen Bildern auseinanderzusetzen und diese Themen in die aktuelle Serie einfließen zu lassen.

Somit ist A Pound of Pictures ein selbstreflexives Werk, das weniger von den sichtbaren Sujets als Der Titel der Serie ist auf einen Flohmarktverkäufer zurückzuführen, der alte Fotografien pfundweise anbot. A Pound ist sowohl wortwörtlich als Gewichtseinheit als auch metaphorisch auf emotionaler Ebene zu verstehen. Die Serie und das Fotobuch animieren den Rezipienten dazu, über das materielle und immaterielle Gewicht von Fotografien und die Grenzen der fotografischen Darstellung nachzudenken.

Seit der Veröffentlichung seines ersten großen Werkes Sleeping by the Mississippi (2014) zählt Alec Soth zu den wichtigsten zeitgenössischen Fotografen weltweit. Seine fotografischen Serien oszillieren zwischen Dokumentarfotografie und bildender Kunst. Mit seinem Schaffen untersucht er die unterschiedlichen Formen der Fotografie und ihre diversen Präsentationsmodi. Soth ist bildender Künstler und Fotograf, Mitglied der Magnum-Agentur, Blogger, Verleger und Pädagoge - dabei versteht er sich selbst in erster Linie als amerikanischer Fotograf und agiert in der Tradition seines früheren Lehrers Joel Sternfeld. Als Chronist des amerikanischen Lebens bilden die Landschaften der USA - vom Mississippi über die Niagarafälle bis hin zu den Wüsten und kleinen Städten und Vororten - den Ausgangspunkt seiner Serien, in denen er die oft widersprüchlichen Vorstellungen und Facetten der amerikanischen Gesellschaft dokumentiert.

Biographie

Alec Soth (geb. 1969 in Minneapolis, Minnesota) hat über 25 Fotobücher veröffentlicht, darunter Sleeping by the Mississippi (2004), NIAGARA (2006), Broken Manual (2010), Songbook (2015) und I Know How Furiously Your Heart is Beating (2019). In den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten hatte der Fotograf über 50 Einzelausstellungen, darunter Übersichtsausstellungen, die von Jeu de Paume in Paris (2008), dem Walker Art Center in Minnesota (2010) und Media Space in London (2015) organisiert wurden. Soth wurde mit zahlreichen Stipendien und Preisen ausgezeichnet, insbesondere dem Guggenheim Stipendium (2013) und dem Royal Photographic Society Honorary Fellowship (2021). 2008 gründete Soth Little Brown Mushroom, ein Multimedia-Unternehmen, das sich auf visuelles Geschichtenerzählen konzentriert.
Zusätzliche Informationen
Preis: 5,00 €

Ermäßigter Preis: 3,00 €
Termine
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen
Datum
Stiftung Reinbeckhallen