Skip to main content
Exterior view of the children\
Exterior view of the children',1280,853 © Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Foto: Yves Sucksdorff

Anoha

The Children's World of the Jewish Museum Berlin

A huge wooden Noah's Ark and 150 animal sculptures for playing and learning: the ANOHA children's world welcomes all children up to ten years of age.

It looks like a bagel, no, like a spaceship: the wooden ark at the new ANOHA children's museum captures the imagination and inspires not only the little guests, but every architecture lover. With the museum’s wooden centrepiece, which measures 28 metres in diameter and seven metres in height, Olson Kundig Architects, the American architectural firm, has created a veritable play paradise.

Anoha, the Children\
Anoha, the Children',1280,853 © Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Foto: Yves Sucksdorff

Mammoth, polar bear, orangutan – all on board

What would Noah's Ark be without animals? 150 animal sculptures, lovingly made by artists from everyday items and found objects, climb and fly around the circular building. They want to be fed and cared for and, like the heavy polar bear, need the children's help to get up on the ark.

Ark of the Children's World Anoha
Ark of the Children's World Anoha © Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Foto: Yves Sucksdorff

The gathering includes giant snakes, predators, and cuddly animals as well as mammoths, unicorns, owls, and cockroaches: large and small creatures, pretty and not so pretty, modern day animals as well as Stone Age animals or mythological creatures. The first message: they are all present and want to be respected and noticed. And the second: we are looking back at the past and ahead to the future.

What does ANOHA in Berlin want to achieve? To make our world a little bit better

The opportunity to play, have lots of fun, learn and wonder – that is what the new ANOHA is offering its young guests. Inspired by the Jewish concept of Tikkun Olam, the focus here is on the respectful coexistence of people, animals and nature.
In the story of Noah's Ark from the Torah, children are the protagonists here in that they decide what to do. And there are no limits to their creativity: teachers provide support at various stations and motivate the children to let their imagination run wild and get active. For example, the little ones can build an ark themselves and try it out on a flume.

Orangutan at Anoha Berlin
Orangutan at Anoha Berlin © Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Foto: Yves Sucksdorff

The history of the museum: Children were involved right from the start

The Children's World of the Jewish Museum Berlin was created in cooperation with the architecture and exhibition firm Olson Kundig in Seattle. The new museum building was erected on 2,700 square metres opposite the Jewish Museum on the premises of an old wholesale flower market.


The perspective and ideas of the target group (children between the ages of three and ten) have been included right from the start: 20 children from six Berlin primary schools form a Children's Advisory Council and have been co-curators of the exhibition areas since 2017. The Children's Advisory Council meets once a month at the Jewish Museum Berlin. There are also all-day workshops in which requests and ideas are formulated and newly planned installations are tested.

What are the highlights of the ANOHA children's world?

  • Huge wooden ark to climb on
  • 150 unique animal sculptures to play with
  • Educational stations for handicrafts, constructing and trying things out
  • Work benches, slides and climbing frames
  • Workshops and guided tours
Creative Play at Anoha Berlin
Creative Play at Anoha Berlin © Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Foto: Yves Sucksdorff

More information

ANOHA is open from Tuesdays to Fridays for nursery and school groups.
It is open to families on weekends, Berlin public holidays and during the Berlin school holidays. Admission is free, but reservations are required.
The easiest way to get to ANOHA is with the U-Bahn. Take the U6 line to Kochstraße. It is then roughly a ten-minute walk. Buses M29, M41 and 248 also stop nearby.

Places of interest in Berlin around ANOHA:

 

 

 

 

 

Opening hours (additional information)

For opening hours please visit the website.

Direkt zum Inhalt
Außenansicht der Kinderwelt ANOHA in Berlin
Außenansicht der Kinderwelt ANOHA in Berlin © Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Foto: Yves Sucksdorff

Anoha

Die Kinderwelt des Jüdischen Museums Berlin

Eine riesige hölzerne Arche Noah und 150 Tierskulpturen zum Spielen und Lernen: Die Kinderwelt ANOHA heißt alle Kinder bis zehn Jahre willkommen.

Sie sieht aus wie ein Bagel, nein, wie ein Raumschiff: Die Holzarche des neuen Kindermuseums ANOHA beschwingt die Phantasie und begeistert nicht nur kleine Gäste, sondern jeden Architekturliebhaber. Das amerikanische Architektenbüro Olson Kundig Architects hat mit dem hölzernen Herzstück des Museums von 28 Metern Durchmesser und 7 Meter Höhe ein wahres Spielparadies geschaffen.

Anoha, die Kinderwelt des Jüdischen Museums Berlin
Anoha, die Kinderwelt des Jüdischen Museums Berlin © Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Foto: Yves Sucksdorff

Mammut, Eisbär, Orang-Utan – alle an Bord

Was wäre die Arche Noah ohne Tiere? 150 Tierskulpturen, liebevoll von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern aus Alltagsgegenständen und Fundstücken gefertigt, umklettern und umfliegen den Rundbau. Sie wollen gefüttert und gepflegt werden und benötigen, wie der schwere Eisbär, die Hilfe der Kinder, um hinauf auf die Arche zu kommen.

Arche der Kinderwelt Anoha
Arche der Kinderwelt Anoha © Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Foto: Yves Sucksdorff


Mit von der Partie sind Riesenschlangen, Raub- und Kuscheltiere ebenso wie Mammut, Einhorn, Eule und Kakerlake: Große und kleine Lebewesen, hübsche und weniger hübsche, Tiere von heute und ebenso aus der Steinzeit oder Sagenwelt. Die erste Message: Alle sind dabei, alle möchten respektiert und beachtet werden. Und die zweite: Wir schauen zurück und schauen nach vorn in die Zukunft.

Was möchte das ANOHA in Berlin? Unsere Welt ein Stückchen besser machen

Spielen, viel Spaß haben und dabei lernen und sich Gedanken machen – das ist das Angebot des neuen ANOHA an die kleinen Gäste. Inspiriert vom jüdischen Konzept des Tikkun Olam geht es hier um das respektvolle Miteinander von Menschen, Tieren und der Natur.
In der Geschichte der Arche Noah aus der Tora sind Kinder hier die Protagonisten, sie entscheiden, was gemacht wird. Und der Kreativität sind keine Grenzen gesetzt: Pädagoginnen und Pädagogen unterstützen an verschiedenen Stationen und motivieren dazu, der Phantasie freien Lauf zu lassen und aktiv zu werden. So können die Kleinen beispielsweise selbst eine Arche bauen und sie in einer Wasserbahn ausprobieren.

Orang-Utan im Anoha Berlin
Orang-Utan im Anoha Berlin © Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Foto: Yves Sucksdorff

Die Entstehungsgeschichte: Kinder von Beginn an dabei

Die Kinderwelt des Jüdischen Museums Berlin ist in Kooperation mit dem Architektur- und Ausstellungsbüro Olson Kundig in Seattle entstanden. Der neue Museumsbau wurde auf 2.700 Quadratmetern gegenüber vom Jüdischen Museum auf dem Gelände eines alten Blumengroßmarktes errichtet.
Von Anfang an wurde die Perspektive und wurden die Ideen der Zielgruppe, Kinder zwischen drei und zehn Jahren, miteinbezogen: 20 Kinder aus sechs Berliner Grundschulen bilden einen Kinderbeirat und sind seit 2017 Ko-Kuatorinnen und Kuratoren der Ausstellungsbereiche. Einmal im Monat tagt der Kinderbeirat im Jüdischen Museum Berlin, dazu kommen ganztägige Workshops, in deren Rahmen Wünsche und Ideen ausgearbeitet und neu geplante Installationen getestet werden.

Was sind die Highlights in der Kinderwelt ANOHA?

  • Riesige Holzarche zum Klettern
  • 150 einzigartige Tierskulpturen zum Spielen
  • Pädagogische Stationen zum Basteln, Konstruieren und Ausprobieren
  • Werkbänke, Rutsch- und Kletterbahnen
  • Workshops und Führungen
Kreatives Spielen im Anoha Berlin
Kreatives Spielen im Anoha Berlin © Jüdisches Museum Berlin, Foto: Yves Sucksdorff

Weitere Informationen

Das ANOHA ist dienstags bis freitags für Kita- und Schulgruppen geöffnet.
An Wochenenden, Berliner Feiertagen und in den Berliner Schulferien ist das ANOHA für Familien geöffnet. Der Eintritt ist frei, eine Buchung ist aber erforderlich.
Zum ANOHA kommen Sie am einfachsten mit der U-Bahn. Fahren Sie mit der Linie U6 bis zur Kochstraße. Danach sind es noch etwa zehn Minuten zu Fuß. In der Nähe halten auch die Busse M29, M41 und 248.

Sehenswertes in Berlin rund um das ANOHA: