Skip to main content

The Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin under the baton of conductor Patrick Hahn with Sol Gabetta on cello perform works by Crumb, Britten, Elgar and Ives.

Streichinstrumente, Orchester
Streichinstrumente, Orchester iStock, Foto: Cyano 66

Austrian conductor Patrick Hahn makes his DSO debut in this concert. The world-renowned cellist Sol Gabetta takes on the solo part in Elgar's concerto with temperament and differentiated shaping.

Benjamin Britten wrote the 'Sinfonia da requiem' in 1940 as a commission for the Japanese Emperor's Jubilee. The somber mood of the first movement, the haunting second and the cautious appearance of redemption in the finale make the 'Sinfonia' one of the most impressive works from Britten's early creative period.

Works performed:

George Crumb
Black Angels: God-music (Solo: Aria accompagnata)

Benjamin Britten
Sinfonia da Requiem op. 20

Edward Elgar
Concerto for Violoncello and Orchestra in E minor op. 85
  • Sol Gabetta - Violoncello
Charles Ives
Symphony No. 2

Buy ticket

Additional information
Participating artists
Patrick Hahn
Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin
Sol Gabetta
Philharmonie Berlin