Skip to main content

World Premieres by Cathy Milliken and Toshio Hosokawa

Jonathan Harvey’s String Quartet No. 1 was the first work the Arditti Quartet commissioned and premiered following the group’s founding in 1974. There have been several hundred since—making the British ensemble one of the most significant voices in the history of chamber music of the late 20th and early 21st centuries.

Fifty years to the day after its formation, the Arditti Quartet comes to the Pierre Boulez Saal to celebrate its anniversary, staying true to its innovative vision:

in addition to Harvey and Harrison Birtwistle’s The Tree of Strings of 2007, the four musicians will premiere new works by Cathy Milliken and Toshio Hosokawa.

  • Jonathan Harvey - String Quartet No. 1
  • Cathy Milliken - New Work for String Quartet, World Premiere
  • Toshio Hosokawa - New Work for Piano Quintet, World Premiere
  • *** - ***
  • Harrison Birtwistle - The Tree of Strings for String Quartet

Buy ticket

Additional information
Participating artists
Arditti Quartet
Irvine Arditti
Ashot Sarkissjan
Ralf Ehlers
Lucas Fels
Tomoki Kitamura