Skip to main content
waterfall in Viktoriapark in Kreuzberg
Viktoriapark with waterfall © visumate, Foto: Sylvia matzkowiak

We keep you informed during the Corona crises:

 

About the current situation in Berlin

 

Guidelines in view of the corona epidemic in Germany

 

On our emergency page you will find all important information and updates on the current situation in Berlin. We have compiled the addresses and telephone numbers of embassies, consulates, train stations, airports and hospitals for you.

EMERGENCY SITE

Our Service Center can provide you with more information

+49 (0) 30 25 00 25

Viktoriapark

Wine and water

A mountain waterfall, a vineyard and a national memorial – you can find it all in Viktoriapark in Kreuzberg.

Kreuzberg is not just the name of the borough in Berlin, but also that of a 66-metre-high hill. On the top of the hill stands a national monument and there is a small, romantic park. Nowhere else in the city can you enjoy the atmosphere of a babbling waterfall.

From a vineyard to a national memorial

In the 18th century, Berlin’s highest hill was known as Tempelhofer Berg or sometimes Runder Weinberg (“Round Vineyard”). Not a lot of people know it, but Berlin was once a wine-growing region, and vines really were grown on Tempelhofer Berg right up to the 18th century. The tradition was revived in 1968, and you can acquire a drop of the Kreuz-Neroberger white wine in return for a donation and sample the Berlin tipple for yourself.

In 1818, the foundation stone was laid for the construction of a national memorial in the Neo-Gothic style, designed by Karl Friedrich Schinkel. The monument was dedicated in 1821 by King Friedrich Wilhelm III. It symbolised the victorious campaign over Napoleon Bonaparte and the liberation of Europe from French domination. The monument eventually led to the creation of the park 73 years later.

A waterfall right in the middle of Berlin

The Riesengebirge – the mountains now known as the Krkonoše on the border between Poland and the Czech Republic – were once the top destination for nobles and wealthy Berliners whenever they had time to spare. The waterfall that can now be admired in Viktoriapark is a replica of a waterfall from those mountains, rendered as accurately as possible using geological studies.

In 1888, Kaiser Friedrich III decided that the monument needed surroundings that befitted it. The park is named in honour of his English wife Victoria. The idea of the waterfall came from Hermann Mächtig, the city’s director of parks and gardens. Made of large rocks, the waterfall is deceptively true to its model in the mountains – the only difference being that the 24-metre-high waterfall is in the middle of the city and powered by a pump.

The beer garden in Viktoriapark

At the foot of the Kreuzberg, Golgatha is not just for beer drinkers. It has a large beer garden and terrace where you can relax and dance in the evening. Another popular place to go is the Osteria No. 1 on Kreuzbergstraße.

Around the corner at Methfesselstraße 7, a plaque commemorates place were Konrad Zuse designed the Z3, the world’s first programmable computer.

If you carry on along Kreuzbergstraße to the east and cross Mehringdamm, you come to the famous Bergmannstraße and the neighbouring Marheineckeplatz, where you can browse to your heart’s content in all the small shops, take a stroll around and enjoy an excellent coffee and cake at Barcomi’s.

Direkt zum Inhalt
Künstlicher Wasserfall im Viktoriapark Kreuzberg
Viktoriapark mit Wasserfall © visumate, Foto: Sylvia matzkowiak

Viktoriapark

Wein und Wasser

Ein Wasserfall wie im Riesengebirge, ein Weinanbaugebiet und ein Nationaldenkmal – all das erwartet Sie im Kreuzberger Viktoriapark.

Kreuzberg ist nicht nur der Name des Bezirkes, sondern damit wird auch ein 66 Meter hoher Hügel Berlins bezeichnet. Auf dem Gipfel des Berges steht ein Nationalmonument – und er ist geschmückt mit einem romantischen, kleinen Park. Nirgendwo sonst in der Hauptstadt können Sie das Plätschern und das Ambiente eines Wasserfalls hören und genießen!

Vom Weinanbaugebiet zum Nationaldenkmal

Im 18. Jahrhundert nennt der Volksmund die größte Erhebung Berlins noch Tempelhofer Berg oder gelegentlich Runder Weinberg. Dass Berlin als Weinregion gilt – ein vielleicht unterschätzter Fakt. Auf dem Tempelhofer Berg wird bis ins 18. Jahrhundert tatsächlich Wein angebaut. 1968 wird die Tradition wieder zum Leben erweckt. Edle Tropfen des Kreuz-Neroberger Weißweins können Sie gegen eine Spende erwerben und sich selbst ein Urteil über den Berliner Tropfen bilden.

1818 beginnt die Grundsteinlegung für den Bau des Nationaldenkmals im neogotischen Stil nach einem Entwurf von Karl Friedrich Schinkel. Das Monument wird 1821 durch König Friedrich Wilhelm III. eingeweiht. Es steht symbolisch für den Siegeszug über Napoleon Bonaparte und die Erlösung Europas von der französischen Vorherrschaft durch die Befreiungskriege. Mit dem Denkmal beginnt auch die Geschichte des Parks, der erst 73 Jahre später angelegt wird.

Ein Wasserfall mitten in Berlin

Das Riesengebirge – heute zwischen Polen und Tschechien gelegen – ist damals für Adlige und vermögende Berliner das Reiseziel schlechthin, wann immer es die freie Zeit ermöglicht. Der heute im Viktoriapark zu bewundernde Wasserfall ist eine Kopie des Hainfalls. Dieser wird mithilfe geologischer Studien möglichst naturgetreu nachgebildet.

1888 beschließt Kaiser Friedrich III. das Denkmal mit einer angemessenen Umgebung zu würdigen. Der Park ist zu Ehren seiner englischen Gemahlin Viktoria benannt. Die Idee zum Wasserfall stammt von dem Stadtgartendirektor Hermann Mächtig. Mit groben Felsfragmenten kommt der Wasserfall täuschend echt an sein Vorbild im Riesengebirge heran. Die Unterschiede zum Original: Der 24 Meter hohe Wasserfall steht inmitten einer Metropole und speist sein Wasser aus einer Pumpe.

Biergarten im Viktoriapark

Am Fuße des Kreuzberges kommen nicht nur Biertrinker zu jeder Stunde auf ihre Kosten. Das Golgatha bietet Ihnen Biergarten und Dachterrasse in einem sowie in den Abendstunden einen Ort zum Ausspannen und Tanzen. Auch die Osteria No. 1 in der Kreuzbergstraße ist kein Geheimtipp mehr.

Um die Ecke in der Methfesselstraße 7 erinnert übrigens eine Gedenktafel an Konrad Zuse, der hier die Z3 einen der ersten Universalrechner der Welt entwarf.

Folgt man der Kreuzbergstraße nach Osten so geht sie jenseits des Mehringdamms in die berühmte Bergmannstraße und den angrenzenden Marheineckeplatz über. Ein Muss für alle die ausgiebig in kleinen Geschäften stöbern, flanieren und bei Barcomis hervorragenden Kuchen und Kaffee genießen wollen.