Skip to main content
Christmas tree
Christmas tree © Getty Images, Foto: Jasmin Awad / EyeEm

A very British Christmas - Weihnachtsmarkt an der St. George's Church

Christmas market in Berlin on 7/12/19

Christmas like in Charles Dickens’ England: Enjoy traditional English Christmas customs at the atmospheric Christmas market at St. George’s Church.

On the church grounds, romantically lit with torches, the Ghost of Christmas Past comes to life when the carol singers sing English Christmas carols in their historical dress.

Christmas like in Victorian England

Specialities from England, Christmas carols and traditional gift ideas create an atmospheric mood that takes you back in time. The women wear hoop skirts and bonnets, while the men wear suits and top hats. For the children there are fairytale readings and a children’s theatre. The highlight is the performance of the children’s choir.
At the Christmas bazaar you will also find an array of second-hand and homemade items, beautiful gift ideas as well as traditional handicrafts from Great Britain. One stand offers English books at reasonable prices.

English specialities

At the stands you can taste homemade cakes, mulled wine, biscuits, jams and traditional pies. Make sure not to miss out on the English Christmas specialities like mince pies and Christmas pudding. There are bread puddings and fig puddings with brandy whipped cream, Copperfield stew as well as homemade scotch eggs. And of course there are the colourful Christmas crackers that are part of every English Christmas dinner and are pulled with a loud bang to the delight of all.

Programme items

The Berlin Children’s Choir sings Christmas carols and invites you to sing along. The bagpipers also play traditional melodies during their performance. The competition and raffle are especially popular with their large number of prizes.
For the children, the Christmas bazaar offers a special programme with children’s theatre, Christmas fairytales and a large selection of children’s books and colouring books in a separate room.

Highlights of the Christmas market at St. George’s Church

  • Christmas like in Charles Dickens’ England with historical costumes
  • Traditional handicrafts
  • English specialities
  • Children’s choir with Christmas carols
  • Children’s programme with fairytales and theatre

Our tips for your visit to the St George’s Church Christmas market

A visit to the Christmas market in Westend can be combined with visits to other places of interest in a single excursion. The Georg Kolbe Museum can be found nearby. The impressive Olympiastadion is also not far away and offers guided tours. The bell tower provides a fantastic view over Grunewald forest and the western part of Berlin.

If there is snow, Teufelsberg is a popular toboggan run in the otherwise flat Berlin. The listening facility from the Cold War is a popular excursion destination, and guided tours are also offered here.

Fans of architecture can take a look at Le Corbusierhaus, an exciting example of Berlin Modernism. In the evening, a visit to the long-established cabaret Die Wühlmäuse (The Voles) at Theodor-Heuss-Platz is worthwhile.

Opening hours and entrance fees

  • Date: 7 December (2nd Advent weekend)
  • Opening hours: 2:00 pm – 6:00 pm
  • Admission is free of charge.

Transport

If you are arriving by car, please note: The church is located in a residential area and does not have its own parking. We therefore recommend using public transport.

  • S-Bahn (overground train) S3, S9 Heerstraße
  • Bus 104 Hessenalle
  • Bus 218, M49, X34, X49 S Heerstraße

 

 All Berlin Christmas markets at a glance

Direkt zum Inhalt
Weihnachtsbaumkugel
Traditionell geschmückter Weihnachtsbaum © Getty Images, Foto: Jasmin Awad / EyeEm

A very British Christmas - Weihnachtsmarkt an der St. George's Church

Weihnachtsmarkt in Berlin am 7.12.

Weihnachten wie bei Charles Dickens: Traditionelle englische Weihnachtsbräuche genießen Sie auf dem stimmungsvollen Weihnachtsmarkt an der St. George's Church.

Auf dem mit Fackeln romantisch erleuchteten Kirchengelände ist der Geist vergangener Weihnacht lebendig, wenn die Carol Singers in ihrer historischen Kleidung englische Weihnachtslieder anstimmen.

Weihnachten wie im viktorianischen England

Spezialitäten aus England, Weihnachtslieder und traditionelle  Geschenkideen schaffen eine stimmungsvolle Atmosphäre, die Sie in vergangene Zeiten zurückversetzt. Die Frauen tragen Reifröcke und Hauben, die Männer Anzug und Zylinder. Für die Kinder gibt es Märchenstunde und Kindertheater. Höhepunkt ist der Auftritt des Kinderchores.
Dazu finden Sie auf dem Weihnachtsbasar viel Second Hand und Selbstgemachtes, schöne Geschenkideen, traditionelle Handarbeiten und Kunsthandwerk aus Großbritannien.  Ein Stand bietet englische Bücher zu günstigen Preisen an.

Englische Spezialitäten

An den Ständen können Sie bei selbstgebackenen Kuchen, Glühwein, Kekse, Marmeladen und traditionellen Pies auf den Geschmack kommen. Englische  Weihnachtsspezialitäten wie Mince Pies und Christmas Pudding dürfen nicht fehlen. Es gibt Bread Puddings oder Fig Puddings mit Brandy Whipped Cream, Copperfield Stew, und selbstgemachte  Homemade Scotch Eggs. Mit dabei sind natürlich auch die Christmas Crackers, jene bunten Knallbonbons, die zu jedem englischen Weihnachtsessen gehören und zur Freude aller mit einem lauten Knall gezogen werden.

Programmpunkte

Der Kinderchor Berlin Children´s Choir singt Weihnachtslieder und lädt zum Mitsingen ein. Traditionelle Melodien spielen auch die Dudelsackbläser bei ihrem Auftritt. Besonders beliebt sind das Gewinnspiel und die Tombola mit vielen Preisen.
Für die Kinder bietet der Weihnachtsbasar in einem eigenen Raum ein spezielles Programm mit Kindertheater, Weihnachtsmärchen und eine große Auswahl an Kinderbüchern und Ausmalbüchern.

Die Highlights des Weihnachtsmarkts an der St. George's Church

  • Weihnachten wie bei Charles Dickens mit historischen Kostümen
  • Traditionelles Kunsthandwerk
  • Englische Spezialitäten
  • Kinderchor mit Christmas Carols
  • Kinderprogramm mit Märchen und Theater

Unsere Tipps für Ihren Besuch des Weihnachtsmarkts an der St. George's Church

Ein Besuch des Weihnachtsmarktes in Westend lässt gut mit weiteren Besichtigungen zu einem Ausflug verknüpfen. Ganz in der Nähe befindet sich das Georg Kolbe Museum. Das imposante Olympiastadion ist ebenfalls nicht weit entfernt, es kann im Rahmen von Führungen besichtigt werden. Der Glockenturm bietet einen fantastischen Blick über den Grunewald und den Westen Berlins.

Falls Schnee liegen sollte, ist der Teufelsberg eine beliebte Rodelbahn im sonst so flachen Berlin. Die Abhöranlange aus dem Kalten Krieg ist beliebtes Ausflugsziel, sie kann ebenfalls mit Führungen besucht werden.

Architekturfans werfen einen Blick auf  das Le Corbusierhaus, ein spannendes Beispiel der Berliner Moderne. Am Abend lohnt dann der Besuch im alteingesessenen Kabarett „Die Wühlmäuse“ am Theodor-Heuss-Platz.

Öffnungszeiten und Eintrittspreise

  • Termin: 7.Dezember (2. Advent)
  • Öffnungszeiten: 14 – 18 Uhr
  • Der Eintritt ist frei.

Anfahrt

Bei der Anreise mit dem Auto beachten Sie bitte: Die Kirche befindet sich einem Wohnviertel und verfügt über keinen eigenen Parkplatz. Wir empfehlen daher, die öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel zu nutzen.

  • S-Bahn S3, S9 Heerstraße
  • Bus 104 Hessenalle
  • Bus 218, M49, X34, X49 S Heerstraße

 

Alle Weihnachtsmärkte in Berlin auf einen Blick