Skip to main content
Uferstudios in Berlin Wedding
Uferstudios in Berlin Wedding © Uferstudios

Uferstudios

Contemporary dance at the Panke

There’s more to it than pirouettes – at the Uferstudios, dancers and choreographers show you how exciting contemporary dance in Berlin can be.

Tickets

Perhaps the best backdrop for contemporary dance in Berlin are the old factory halls of the Uferstudios. Between clinker buildings and chimneys, dancers perform exciting choreographies and performances. Whole festivals of dance are even held at the site. New ideas are not just translated to movement – the artists also put on concerts, discussions and talks.

Once a tram depot, now artists’ studios

The large halls and warehouses on the site of the Uferstudios once housed trams and buses. The building complex was designed in the 1920s by the architect Jean Krämer for the Große Berliner Straßenbahn-AG on the banks of the Panke. Today, 14 large studios and ateliers offer international choreographers, dancers and other performance artists new and inspiring facilities for their work. Where everything used to be about innovation in public transport, the focus is now on movement as an art form.

The Uferstudios were ceremonially opened as a centre for contemporary dance in 2010. Since then, they have been a state-of-the-art location for production, rehearsals and training, as well as for public performances and events. There are facilities for freelance artists, as well as for established Berlin dance studios. These include:

  •     The Tanzfabrik with its 30 years of experience in dance production and training. It occupies two studios, where it puts on courses, workshops and festivals.
  •     The Tanzbüro Berlin is a network for the city’s dance scene and provides advice for artists.
  •     The ada studio provides a stage for young choreographers and up-and-coming talent.
  •     The Hochschulübergreifende Zentrum Tanz Berlin (HZT) teaches Bachelor’s and Master’s courses in dance, choreography and performance. The HZT occupies five studios and has a mediatheque, seminar rooms and offices.

Enjoy a coffee after the dance

Next-door Café Pförtner also pays tribute to the site’s former use as a tram and bus depot. In an old converted bus, you can enjoy the dishes while analysing the performances at the Uferstudios. Using natural ingredients, the cooks conjure up treats such as grilled asparagus with hazelnut dressing or white chocolate mousse. There’s a new menu every week. So feel free to come again, because at the Uferstudios too, the programme is always changing.

Tickets

Opening hours

Monday 8:00 – 7:00
Tuesday 8:00 – 7:00
Wednesday 8:00 – 7:00
Thursday 8:00 – 7:00
Friday 8:00 – 7:00

Find further information here

Direkt zum Inhalt
Uferstudios
Uferstudios in Berlin Wedding © Uferstudios

Uferstudios

Zeitgenössischer Tanz an der Panke

Bis auf weiteres sind alle auf dem Gelände der Uferstudios stattfindenden Veranstaltungen abgesagt. - Pirouette war gestern. In den Uferstudios zeigen Ihnen Tänzer und Choreografen, wie bewegend zeitgenössischer Tanz in Berlin heute ist.

Tickets

Die vielleicht beste Kulisse für zeitgenössischen Tanz? In Berlin sind das die alten Werkshallen der Uferstudios. Zwischen Klinkersteinbauten und Schornsteinen führen Tänzer bewegende Choreografien und Perfomances auf. Auch ganze Festivals der Tanzkunst finden auf dem Gelände statt. Neue Ideen werden hier nicht nur in Bewegung übersetzt: Die Künstler laden auch zu Konzerten, Diskussionen und Vorträgen ein.

Damals Straßenbahn, heute Künstleratelier

Die großen Hallen und Lagerräume auf dem Gelände der Uferstudios beherbergten einst Straßenbahnen und Busse. In den 1920er Jahren entwarf der Architekt Jean Krämer den Gebäudekomplex für die Große Berliner Straßenbahn-AG am Ufer der Panke. Heute bieten hier 14 großzügige Studios und Künstlerateliers internationalen Choreografen, Tänzern und anderen darstellenden Künstlern neue und inspirierende Arbeitsmöglichkeiten. Wo früher alles um die Innovation der menschlichen Fortbewegung kreiste, steht jetzt die Bewegung als Kunst im Mittelpunkt.

Als Zentrum des zeitgenössischen Tanzes haben die Uferstudios 2010 feierlich eröffnet. Seither bieten sie einen modernen Standort sowohl für Produktion, Proben und Ausbildung als auch für öffentliche Aufführungen und Veranstaltungen. Freischaffende Künstler finden hier ebenso Arbeitsmöglichkeiten wie etablierte Berliner Tanzstudios. Dazu gehören:

  • Die Tanzfabrik mit ihrer 30-jährigen Erfahrung in Tanzproduktion und –weiterbildung. In zwei Studios veranstaltet sie Kurse, Workshops und Festivals.
  • Das Tanzbüro Berlin vernetzt die Tanzszene der Stadt und berät Künstler vor Ort.
  • Das ada-Studio bietet jungen Choreografen und Nachwuchstalenten eine Bühne.
  • Das Hochschulübergreifende Zentrum Tanz Berlin (HZT) lehrt in Bachelor- und Masterstudiengängen Tanz, Choreografie und Performance. Das HZT sitzt in fünf Studios und verfügt über eine Mediathek sowie Seminar- und Büroräume.

Auf einen Kaffee nach dem Tanz

Den ehemaligen Standort als Straßenbahn- und Bushalle greift auch das benachbarte Café Pförtner auf. In einem alten, ausgebauten Bus können Sie sich die Gerichte schmecken lassen und dabei die Aufführungen der Uferstudios auswerten. Aus natürlichen Zutaten zaubern die Köche mal gegrillten Spargel mit Haselnuss-Dressing, mal weißes Schokomousse. Die Karte wechselt wöchentlich. Sie dürfen also gern wiederkommen. Denn auch in den Uferstudios erwartet Sie immer wieder ein neues Programm.

Tickets

Öffnungszeiten

Montag 8:00 – 19:00
Dienstag 8:00 – 19:00
Mittwoch 8:00 – 19:00
Donnerstag 8:00 – 19:00
Freitag 8:00 – 19:00