Skip to main content
Theatre Hebbel am Ufer in Berlin
Hebbel am Ufer: HAU 1 © Hebbel am Ufer

Hebbel am Ufer HAU 1-3

Avant-garde in three buildings

For avant-garde on stage, you can see the latests movements in theatre, dance and performance at the three theatres of the Hebbel Am Ufer.

Tickets

HAU1, HAU2 and HAU3 are the names of the three different stages where the Hebbel am Ufer group of theatres performs contemporary dance, theatre and performance. Whether on the big stage in the Hebbel theatre or on the small one HAU 3, the productions are always fascinating examples of the latest in theatre and dance. The programme also includes music, visual arts and discussions.

THE HAU

Annemie Vanackere has been artistic director since 2012, and she and her team seek forms of artistic expression for the current social and political situation. The group does not have its own ensemble; instead it invites theatre groups to perform ambitious productions of high artistic quality. International co-productions and projects of the Berlin and (inter)national theatre and dance scene are developed and performed here.

Vanackere’s strategy continues that of the previous artistic directors Nele Hertling – who from 1989 to 2003 quickly turned what was then called the Hebbel-Theater from an empty building to an internationally renowned venue – and Matthias Lilienthal, under whose stewardship it wons the Federal Republic of Germany’s Design Prize in 2007 for its corporate design. The Hebbel am Ufer has already been voted the theater of the year twice in the critical review of the theater magazine "Theater heute".

The three theatres

HAU1 is in the former Hebbel-Theater in Kreuzberg, which looks back on a long history, having been built in the early 20th century in the Art Nouveau style. It is a narrow building in a row of houses. The unostentatious but stylish wood-panelled auditorium has a number of boxes. The Hebbel-Theater was the only theatre that survived the second world war without major damage.

WAU at the HAU

Not just for premieres and festivals – the WAU at the HAU Hebbel is a café in the mornings, a canteen at lunchtime and in the evenings a restaurant with regional and Mediterranean cuisine.

HAU2 was once the home to the legendary productions of the Schaubühne am Halleschen Ufer, before the theatre group moved to the Mendelsohn-Bau on Lehniner Platz in Charlottenburg in 1981. For the next ten years it hosted the Theatermanufaktur am Halleschen Ufer. In 1992 it was repurposed as the main venue for independent theatre groups in Berlin, and has since then also become one of the main venues for dance theatre.

The smallest theatre is HAU3, a courtyard stage with space for only 100 people. In the 1990s, the Polish director Andrej Woron’s Teatr Kreatur played here.

The venues are located in three different buildings in close proximity to each other:

HEBBEL AM UFER – HAU 1: Stresemannstr. 29 in 10963 Berlin

HEBBEL AM UFER – HAU 2: Hallesches Ufer 32 in 10963 Berlin

HEBBEL AM UFER – HAU 3: Tempelhofer Ufer 10 in 10963 Berlin

 

Park am Gleisdreieck in Berlin
Park am Gleisdreieck © visitBerlin, Foto: Philip Koschel

Out and about in the south of Kreuzberg

Perhaps the perfect time to appreciate the area around the HAU is on a sunny Sunday when the streets and parks are full of people taking a walk or just sitting in the cafés enjoying the sun. The spacious park at Gleisdreieck with all its sporting facilities gives the area a truly recreational atmosphere.

Find out more about the city’s neighbourhoods with our Going Local Berlin app.

 

Book your ticket

Find further information here

Direkt zum Inhalt
Hebbel am Ufer
Hebbel am Ufer: HAU 1 © Hebbel am Ufer

Hebbel am Ufer HAU 1-3

Avantgarde in drei Häusern

Avantgarde auf der Bühne. Die neuesten Strömungen aus Theater, Tanz und Performance zeigt das Hebbel Am Ufer in gleich drei Theatern.
Bildtitel und Alt-Texte aller Bilder einfügen

Tickets

HAU1, HAU2, HAU3: Gleich drei Häuser bespielt das Theaterkombinat Hebbel am Ufer und zeigt zeitgenössischen Tanz, Theater und Performances. Ob auf der großen Bühne im Hebbeltheater oder in dem kleinen HAU 3, die Inszenierungen sind immer faszinierende Beispiele der aktuellen Tanz- und Theaterkunst. Darüber hinaus sind Musik, bildende Kunst und theoretische Debatten feste Bestandteile des Programms.

DAS HAU

Seit 2012 leitet Annemie Vanackere das Theater und sucht mit ihrem Team nach Ausdrucksformen in der Kunst für die aktuellen gesellschaftlichen und politischen Verhältnisse. Das Theaterkombinat verfügt über kein eigenes Ensemble sondern lädt sich  Gruppen ins Haus ein und sorgt so für anspruchsvolle Produktionen von hoher künstlerischer Qualität. Internationale Koproduktionen und Projekte der Berliner und (inter)nationalen Theater- und Tanzszene werden hier entwickelt und gezeigt.

Vanackere knüpft an die Ausrichtung der vorangegangenen Intendanzen von Nele Hertling – die in den Jahren von 1989 bis 2003 das damalige Hebbel-Theater innerhalb kurzer Zeit von einer leer stehenden Spielstätte zu einem international renommierten Veranstaltungsort entwickelte – und Matthias Lilienthal an. Das Hebbel am Ufer wurde in der Kritikerumfrage der Theaterzeitschrift "Theater heute" bereits zwei Mal zum Theater des Jahres gewählt und für sein Corporate Design 2007 mit dem Designpreis der Bundesrepublik Deutschland ausgezeichnet.

Die drei Häuser

HAU1 befindet sich im ehemaligen Hebbel-Theater in Kreuzberg. Das Haus blickt auf eine lange Tradition zurück, gebaut wurde es Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts im Jugendstil. Eingereiht in eine Häuserreihe ist es ein schmaler Bau. Der schmucklose aber stilvolle holzvertäfelte Zuschauersaal verfügt über mehrere Logen für die Zuschauer. Das Hebbel-Theater war das einzige Theater, das den 2. Weltkrieg ohne größere Schäden überstand.

WAU beim HAU

Nicht für Premierenfeiern und Festivalpartys: Im HAU Hebbel ist das WAU morgens Café, mittags Kantine und abends Restaurant mit regionaler und mediterraner Küche.

HAU2 war einst die Spielstätte der Schaubühne am Halleschen Ufer, die hier ihre legendären Inszenierungen zeigte. 1981 zog die Theatergruppe in den Mendelsohn-Bau am Lehniner Platz in Charlottenburg. Danach war zehn Jahre die Theatermanufaktur im Theater am Halleschen Ufer beheimatet. 1992 wurde es zur „zentrale Spielstätte der freien Gruppen Berlins“  und entwickelte sich zu einem der zentralen Orte für das Tanztheater.

Das kleinste Haus ist HAU3, eine Hinterhofbühne mit nur knapp 100 PLätzen. Hier spielte in den 90er Jahren das "Teatr Kreatur" des polnischen Theatermachers Andrej Woron.

Die Spielstätten befinden sich in drei unabhängigen Häusern in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft:

Tickets: HEBBEL AM UFER – HAU 1: Stresemannstr. 29 in 10963 Berlin

Tickets: HEBBEL AM UFER – HAU 2: Hallesches Ufer 32 in 10963 Berlin

Tickets: HEBBEL AM UFER – HAU 3: Tempelhofer Ufer 10 in 10963 Berlin

Park am Gleisdreieck
Park am Gleisdreieck © visitBerlin, Foto: Philip Koschel

Der Park am Gleisdreieck ist eine öffentliche Grün- und Erholungsanlage in Berlin-Kreuzberg und Berlin-Schöneberg.

Unterwegs in Kreuzberg Süd

Die Faszination des Viertels rund um das HAU erschließt sich Besuchern spätestens an einem sonnigen Sonntag, wenn die Straßen und Parks mit Menschen belebt sind, die spazieren gehen oder nur in den Parks und Cafés sitzen und die Sonne genießen. Der weitläufige Park am Gleisdreieck mit seinen Sportanlagen verleiht der Gegend echten Erholungscharakter.

Mehr über Berlins Kieze verrät Ihnen unsere Berlin-App Going Local.

 

Tickets

Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen