Skip to main content

The Czech composer Pavel Haas, who was murdered in Auschwitz in 1944, is the namesake of the quartet playing here as part of our "Homage to Shostakovich". It plays three works composed between 1914 and 1945.

Veranstaltungen in Berlin: Pavel Haas Quartet
© Promo

The prelude is a musical prayer to the patron saint of the Bohemian lands, St. Wenceslaus, written by Josef Suk literally on the eve of the First World War.

Erich Wolfgang Korngold, former Viennese piano prodigy and Hollywood film composer from 1934, dedicated his 1945 String Quartet No. 3 to another prominent member of the California émigré community - conductor Bruno Walter.

The concert program concludes with Dmitri Shostakovich's Piano Quintet, composed and performed in 1940, for which official cultural policy even awarded the long-defeated composer the Stalin Prize. Subliminally, however, this work also reveals an atmosphere of inner and outer tension and threat.



  • Josef Suk - Meditation on the Old Bohemian Choral "St. Wenceslaus" for String Quartet op. 35a
  • Erich Wolfgang Korngold - String Quartet No.3 in D major op.34

Intermission

  • Dmitri Shostakovich - Piano Quintet in G minor op. 57
Additional information

Educational Services

http://www.konzerthaus.de/de/schule
Participating artists
Pavel Haas Quartett
Boris Giltburg (Klavier)
Events
Datum
Konzerthaus Berlin - Kleiner Saal

Direkt zum Inhalt

Der 1944 in Auschwitz ermordete tschechische Komponist Pavel Haas ist Namenspatron des hier im Rahmen unserer „Hommage an Schostakowitsch“ musizierenden Quartetts. Es spielt drei zwischen 1914 und 1945 entstandene Werke.

Veranstaltungen in Berlin: Pavel Haas Quartet
© Promo

Den Auftakt macht ein von Josef Suk buchstäblich am Vorabend des Ersten Weltkriegs geschriebenes musikalisches Gebet an den Patron der böhmischen Länder, den Heiligen Wenzeslaus.

Erich Wolfgang Korngold, ehemaliges Wiener Klavierwunderkind und ab 1934 Filmkomponist in Hollywood, widmete sein Streichquarett Nr. 3 von 1945 einem anderen prominenten Mitglied der kalifornischen Emigranten-Community – Dirigent Bruno Walter.

Am Ende des Konzertprogramms steht Dmitri Schostakowitschs 1940 komponiertes und aufgeführtes Klavierquintett, für das die offizielle Kulturpolitik den lange Verfehmten sogar mit dem Stalin-Preis auszeichnete. Unterschwellig lässt jedoch auch dieses Werk eine Atmosphäre innerer und äußerer Anspannung und Bedrohung erkennen.


  • Josef Suk - Meditation über den altböhmischen Choral „St. Wenzeslaus“ für Streichquartett op. 35a
  • Erich Wolfgang Korngold - Streichquartett Nr.3 D-Dur op.34
Pause

  • Dmitri Schostakowitsch - Klavierquintett g-Moll op. 57
Zusätzliche Informationen

Bildungsangebote

http://www.konzerthaus.de/de/schule
Teilnehmende Künstler
Pavel Haas Quartett
Boris Giltburg (Klavier)
Termine
Datum
Konzerthaus Berlin - Kleiner Saal