Skip to main content

Music by Gioachino Rossini, Libretto by Angelo Anelli

Rossini's timeless comedy L'italiana in Algeri is being performed in Berlin for the first time in 14 years - with a young ensemble of singers in the sound of historical performance practice.

KEY VISUAL Eroica
KEY VISUAL Eroica © Antoine Freuchet

Gioachino Rossini's opera is one of the composer's best-known pieces and has lost none of its exciting freshness and energy since its premiere in 1813. Despite this worldwide popularity, Berlin audiences have not been able to experience this opera on stage for 14 years.

An international ensemble of young singers headed by mezzo-soprano Hannah Ludwig, whose voice the New York Times describes as "chocolaty and large, yet with focus and agility", puts an end to this. Another special feature of this semi-staged production is that it is the first time that a Rossini opera has been presented in Berlin according to the insights and practices of historically informed performance, thus providing Rossini connoisseurs and novices alike with a rousing and inspiring evening with the immortal music of the "Swan of Pesaro“.

Eroica Berlin is a young Berlin chamber orchestra founded by Jakob Lehmann in 2015. The unfiltered transmission of emotions and the incorporation of the insights of historical performance practice unite the ensemble, as does the conviction that in today's event and performance culture, the music itself and its content must remain the focus. Eroica Berlin gives guest performances on Europe's leading stages, works with renowned soloists and was accepted into Neustart Kultur's ensemble funding programme in 2022.

Italian with German surtitles

Buy ticket

Additional information
Kindly supported by:
Events
Datum
Theater im Delphi
Datum
Theater im Delphi
Datum
Theater im Delphi

Direkt zum Inhalt

Musik von Gioachino Rossini, Libretto von Angelo Anelli

Rossinis zeitlose Komödie L’italiana in Algeri ist seit 14 Jahren zum ersten Mal wieder in Berlin zu erleben – mit einem jungen Sänger:innenensemble im Klangbild der historischen Aufführungspraxis.

KEY VISUAL Eroica
KEY VISUAL Eroica © Antoine Freuchet

Gioachino Rossinis Oper gehört zu den bekanntesten Opern des Komponisten und hat seit ihrer Uraufführung 1813 nichts von ihrer mitreißenden Frische und Energie eingebüßt. Trotz dieser weltweiten Beliebtheit konnte das Berliner Publikum diese Oper seit 14 Jahren nicht auf der Bühne erleben.

Ein international besetztes Ensemble von jungen Sänger:innen unter der Leitung der Mezzosopranistin Hannah Ludwig, deren Stimme die New York Times als “schokoladig und groß, aber mit Fokus und Beweglichkeit” beschreibt, beendet diesen Zustand jetzt endlich. Eine Besonderheit dieser halbszenischen Produktion besteht darin, dass erstmals eine Rossini-Oper in Berlin nach den Erkenntnissen und Gepflogenheiten der historischen Aufführungspraxis präsentiert und damit Rossini-Kennern sowie -Neulingen ein mitreißender und beflügelnder Abend mit der unsterblichen Musik des “Schwans von Pesaro” beschert wird.

Eroica Berlin ist ein junges Berliner Kammerorchester, welches 2015 von Jakob Lehmann gegründet wurde. Die ungefilterte Übertragung von Emotionen sowie das Einbeziehen der Erkenntnisse historischer Aufführungspraxis vereint das Ensemble ebenso wie die Überzeugung, dass in der heutigen Event- und Performancekultur trotz allem die Musik selbst und ihr Gehalt im Mittelpunkt stehen müssen. Eroica Berlin gastiert an führenden Bühnen Europas, arbeitet mit renommierten Solist:innen zusammen und wurde 2022 in das Ensemble-Förderprogramm von Neustart Kultur aufgenommen.

Italienisch mit deutschen Übertiteln

Ticket kaufen

Zusätzliche Informationen
Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von:
Termine
Datum
Theater im Delphi
Datum
Theater im Delphi
Datum
Theater im Delphi