Skip to main content

The exhibition guides visitors through Berlin's history from the Ice Age to the present in an easy-to-understand and compact way. Attention: The Märkisches Museum will remain open to the public until December 30, 2022, when the parent building of the Stiftung Stadtmuseum Berlin will close for extensive renovation. Last chance to visit the listed building on the Märkisches Ufer - and with free admission throughout December!

Veranstaltungen in Berlin: BerlinZEIT
Sarah Schmidt / Secret Tours Berlin


BerlinZEIT presents the defining moments of the city: the permanent exhibition in the Märkisches Museum entertains, inspires and offers orientation in German and English for old and new Berliners alike, as well as for all those who want to become one!


Understanding Berlin in an hour!


In just under an hour, outstanding objects, multimedia offers and hands-on stations guide you through the historical moments that have shaped the city to this day. It becomes clear that only change is permanent in Berlin. Berlin's history is always the history of its inhabitants. Even those who are not normally at the centre of a city's history have their say here.

Additional information
Opening hours: Tue - Sun + public holidays | 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

The Märkisches Museum in Berlin will close at the end of the year for several years, during which time it will undergo extensive renovation. Admission is free in December, and the museum will open for the last time on December 30, 2022.

Direkt zum Inhalt

Die Ausstellung führt leicht verständlich und kompakt durch die Berliner Geschichte von der Eiszeit bis zur Gegenwart. Achtung!: Bis zum 30. Dezember 2022 ist das Märkische Museum noch für das Publikum geöffnet, dann schließt das Stammhaus der Stiftung Stadtmuseum Berlin für eine umfangreiche Erneuerung. Letzte Gelegenheit, das denkmalgeschützte Gebäude am Märkischen Ufer zu besichtigen – und das bei freiem Eintritt im ganzen Dezember!

Veranstaltungen in Berlin: BerlinZEIT
Sarah Schmidt / Secret Tours Berlin

BerlinZEIT präsentiert die prägenden Momente der Stadt: Die Dauerausstellung im Märkischen Museum unterhält, inspiriert und bietet auf Deutsch und Englisch Orientierung für Alt- wie für Neu-Berlinerinnen und -Berliner sowie für alle, die es noch werden wollen!

Berlin verstehen in einer Stunde!

Herausragende Objekte, multimediale Angebote und Mitmachstationen führen in knapp einer Stunde durch die historischen Momente, die die Stadt bis heute prägen. So wird deutlich: Bestand hat in Berlin nur die Veränderung. Berliner Geschichte ist dabei immer die Geschichte seiner Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner. Selbst jene, die normalerweise nicht im Zentrum einer Stadtgeschichte stehen, kommen hier zu Wort.

Zusätzliche Informationen
Öffnungszeiten: Di – So + Feiertage | 10 – 18 Uhr

Das Märkische Museum in Berlin schließt Ende des Jahres für mehrere Jahre und wird in der Zeit umfassend saniert. Im Dezember ist der Eintritt frei, am 30. Dezember 2022 ist zum letzten Mal geöffnet.