Skip to main content
Dacing in summer in Berlin
Dancing in summer © visitBerlin, Foto: Günter Steffen

Tango in Berlin

The bandoneón is melancholically playing, the dancers proudly staring straight past their partners and gracefully crossing their legs. Tango is all the rage in Berlin. The city has long since established itself as an important tango metropolis – in many people’s eyes the most important one after Buenos Aires. Whether classic tango argentino or modern tango nuevo, whether in a historical ballroom or in unusual places out-of-doors, Berlin’s tango scene offers a wide range of possibilities for all tango afficionados.

Tango Dance Evenings

Tango dancing at the museum island
Tango night in Berlin - a couple dancing © visitBerlin, Foto: Günter Steffen

There are dance evenings and tango nights nearly every day of the week in Berlin, where beginners can practice their first steps and profis demonstrate their skills. Milongas (dance evenings for the tango argentino, often including introductions for beginners) are offered by dance schools such as the Tango Room or Berlin Milongueros. Here you can also find out when and where the next milongas in Berlin will take place - partly in the cool ambience of old factory halls, partly in the open air. At the Mala Junta dance school, you can participate in tango workshops and courses almost every day. Depending on the weather, there is dancing directly on the Spree at Monbijou Park opposite the Bode Museum (near Monbijou Bridge). And milongas are also held at Pfefferberg during the warm summer months. The Nou Tango School in Mitte likes to invite local and international DJs to the milonga. There are also often live performances by orchestras and musicians. In the Kulturbrauerei, a cultural center in Berlin Prenzlauerberg, the sounds of Tango Argentino can also be heard. Berlin dates are available at tangoberlin.de.

Open Air in Summer

In summer, Berlin's dance scene celebrates outdoors. This year, dancing will take place as part of the Draussenstadt campaign, from August 6 to August 22, 2021, from Monday to Thursday from 6 pm, Friday from 4 pm, and Saturday and Sunday from 12 pm to 10 pm. The meeting point is on Breitscheidplatz near the Gedächtniskirche.

Direkt zum Inhalt
Tango Tanzen an der Museumsinsel
Tanzen im Sommer © visitBerlin, Foto: Günter Steffen

Tango in Berlin

Melancholisch erklingt das Bandoneon, die Tänzer blicken stolz aneinander vorbei und kreuzen anmutig die Beine: Es wird Tango getanzt in Berlin. Längst hat sich Berlin zur wichtigen Tango-Metropole entwickelt – für viele die bedeutendste nach Buenos Aires. Ob klassischer Tango Argentino oder moderner Tango Nuevo, ob im historischen Ballsaal oder an außergewöhnlichen Orten unter freiem Himmel: Berlins Tangoszene bietet eine riesige Auswahl an Möglichkeiten für alle Tango Afficionados.

Tango-Tanzabende

Tango Tanzen an der Museumsinsel
Tango Nacht in Berlin - ein Paar am tanzen © visitBerlin, Foto: Günter Steffen

Fast jeden Wochentag gibt es in Berlin Tanzabende und Tangonächte, bei denen Anfänger ihre ersten Schritte üben und Profis ihr Können zeigen. Milongas sind Tanzabende für den Tango Argentino, oft auch mit Einführungen für Einsteiger. Tanzschulen wie der Tangoraum oder Berlin Milongueros  führen euch ein, die ersten Schritte zu machen. Hier erfahrt ihr dann auch wann und wo die nächsten Milongas in Berlin stattfinden - teils im coolen Ambiente alter Fabrikhallen, teils unter freiem Himmel. In der Tanzschule Mala Junta kann fast täglich an Tango-Workshops und Kursen teilgenommen werden. Wetterabhängig wird direkt an der Spree am Monbijou Park gegenüber dem Bode Museum (nahe Monbijou Brücke) getanzt. Und auch am Pfefferberg finden in den warmen Sommermonaten Milongas statt.  Die Tangoschule Nou in Mitte lädt gerne mal lokale und internationale DJs zur Milonga ein. Häufig gibt es auch Live-Auftritte von Orchestern und Musikern. In der Kulturbrauerei, einem Kulturzentrum in Berlin Prenzlauerberg, erklingen ebenfalls  die Klänge des Tango Argentino. Berliner Termine gibt es auf tangoberlin.de.

Open Air im Sommer

Im Sommer feiert Berlins Tanzszene unter freiem Himmel. Dieses Jahr wird im Rahmen der Aktion Draussenstadt getanzt und zwar vom 6. August bis 22. August 2021 jeweils von Montag bis Donnerstag ab 18 Uhr, Freitag ab 16 Uhr sowie Samstag und Sonntag von 12 Uhr bis 22 Uhr. Treffpunkt ist auf dem Breitscheidplatz nahe der Gedächtniskirche.