Skip to main content
Kesselhaus
© 44penguins by wikimedia commons

Museum Kesselhaus Herzberge

History of Technology and Medicine

The Kesselhaus still holds the massive boilers in their original location, as well as components and technical and office equipment from 1893 to 1988. A permanent exhibition about the hospital’s architect Hermann Blankenstein is also on hand. The history of medicine displays tell the story of the hospital and the former sanatorium at this site. Artists are also invited to hold showings in the Blankensteinsaal, but there are works of art to be discovered all over the campus.

The Kesselhaus is part of the listed Königin Elisabeth Herzberge (KEH) hospital campus in Berlin’s Lichtenberg district. Both the campus and the Kesselhaus (boiler plant) with its massive technical facilities are a part of Berlin’s rich industrial culture of the past 200 years.

The extensive grounds were built in the popular pavilion style of the era with a Neo-Renaissance design made of red and yellow bricks and is surrounded by the beautiful Herzberge Park. Until 2007, the beautifully landscaped park had been a rather wild mix of industrial wasteland, shops, apartments, and green areas.

Agrarbörse Deutschland Ost e.V. together with Lichtenberg district council, has since initiated a whole series of projects to redevelop the land into a modern urban natural landscape, resulting in a unique biotope all its own. Children especially look forward to seeing the herd of black Pommeranian Coursewool sheep that graze the park on a regular basis.

For more than a century, the boiler plant, built between 1889 and 1893 by city architect Hermann Blankenstein, supplied the adjacent hospital with heating, hot water, and electricity (until 1925). Since it is now no longer needed for this purpose, the staff at the KEH hospital committed to the preservation and conversion of the building.

After three years of extensive refurbishment, a museum was opened there in September 2003. The Kesselhaus still holds the massive boilers in their original location, as well as components and technical and office equipment from 1893 to 1988. A permanent exhibition about the hospital’s architect Hermann Blankenstein is also on hand. The history of medicine displays tell the story of the hospital and the former sanatorium at this site. Artists are also invited to hold showings in the Blankensteinsaal, but there are works of art to be discovered all over the campus.

GDR charm around the Helene-Weigel-Platz

All around Helene-Weigel-Platz, the prefabricated tower blocks are up to 21 storeys high. Take a stroll through the area around Helene-Weigel-Platz after visiting the Kesselhaus : shopping arcades, a large swimming baths with sauna and the historic town hall are all nearby.

Find out more about the city’s neighbourhoods with our Going Local Berlin app.

Opening hours

Tue: 2-6pm, Thu: 2-6pm
Opening hours (additional information)
   
   
   
   
   

Gruppenführungen außerhalb der Öffnungszeiten nach Vereinbarung.

Find further information here

Direkt zum Inhalt
Museum Kesselhaus Herzberge
Museum Kesselhaus in Berlin © 44penguins by wikimedia commons

Museum Kesselhaus Herzberge

Technik und Medizingeschichte

Das Kesselhaus ist Teil der denkmalgeschützten Anlage des Evangelischen Krankenhauses Königin Elisabeth Herzberge (KEH) im Bezirk Berlin-Lichtenberg. Sowohl das Krankenhausgelände, als auch das Kesselhaus mit seinen riesigen technischen Anlagen sind ein Teil der reichhaltigen Berliner Industriekultur aus den vergangenen 200 Jahren.

Das weitläufige Gelände ist in der zeittypischen Pavillon-Bauweise im Neorenaissance-Stil aus roten und gelben Klinkern erbaut und liegt im wunderschönen Landschaftspark Herzberge. Bis zum Jahr 2007 ist der heutige Landschaftspark eine wilde Mischung aus Brachland, Wirtschaftsflächen, Wohnungen und Grünbereichen.

Seit die Agrarbörse Deutschland Ost e.V. zusammen mit dem Bezirksamt in Lichtenberg eine ganze Reihe von Projekten zur naturnahen Entwicklung der Flächen zu einem Modellvorhaben urbaner Landwirtschaft initiiert hat, ist ein richtiges Biotop entstanden. Besonders die Kinder freuen sich immer, wenn sie der Herde schwarzer Pommerscher Landschafe begegenen, die die Flächen hier regelmäßig abgrasen.

Mehr als 100 Jahre lang dient das in den Jahren 1889 bis 1893 durch den damaligen Stadtbaurat Hermann Blankenstein errichtete Kesselhaus der Versorgung des Krankenhauses mit Heizwärme, Strom (bis 1925) und Warmwasser. Seit es nicht mehr benötigt wird, setzen sich Mitarbeiter des Königin-Elisabeth-Krankenhauses für den Erhalt und die Umnutzung des Gebäudes ein.

Nach über dreijähriger umfangreicher Sanierung kann dann im September 2003 als Museum eröffnet werden. Zu besichtigen sind die riesigen Heizkessel an ihrem originalen Einsatzort, außerdem Bauteile sowie technische- und Bürogeräte aus der Zeit von 1893 bis 1988. Eine Dauerausstellung würdigt den Erbauer des Krankenhauses Hermann Blankenstein. Die Medizinhistorische Ausstellung macht mit der Geschichte der Heil- und Pflegeanstalt Herzberge und des Königin Elisabeth Hospitals bekannt. Im Blankensteinsaal stellen Künstler aus. Aber auch auf dem gesamten Gelände sind Kunstwerke zu entdecken.

DDR-Charme rund um den Helene-Weigel-Platz

Rund um den Helene-Weigel-Platz schießen die Plattenbauten bis zu 21 Stockwerke hoch in den Himmel.  Schlendern Sie nach einem Besuch des Kesselhauses durch das Viertel um den Helene-Weigel-Platz: Einkaufspassagen, ein großes Hallenbad mit Sauna und das denkmalgeschützte Rathaus finden Sie ganz in der Nähe.

Mehr über Berlins Kieze verrät Ihnen unsere Berlin-App Going Local.

Öffnungszeiten

Dienstag 14:00 – 18:00
Donnerstag 14:00 – 18:00
Öffnungszeiten (Zusatzinfos)
   
   
   
   
   

Gruppenführungen außerhalb der Öffnungszeiten nach Vereinbarung.

Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen