Skip to main content

Literaturhaus Berlin

A lovely place for beautiful writing

This splendid villa close to Kurfürstendamm is the perfect setting for exploring the world of fine writing. Readings and other literary events are held around the fireplace in the villa's parlour.

Tickets

An oasis of quiet in the city. Literaturhaus is located in a nineteenth-century townhouse and is one of Berlin's most important and most beautiful places for literature.
Countless literary events take place each year in the reception room of the listed villa, including readings, symposiums, and writing workshops. The range of event is quite impressive. Literaturhaus Berlin holds readings of poems, poetic lyrics, narrative prose, and novels, as well as essays, diaries, letters, nonfiction, and academic papers. In addition, many of the presented texts are especially written as Literaturhaus commissions.

A colourful past

The villa itself has had quite a history. It was built in 1889 as a fine townhouse and then served as a military hospital during the First World War. It has also been a soup kitchen, a centre for foreign students, a café, a brothel, and a nightclub. But high culture moved in when Literaturhaus Berlin took over the property in 1986.

Even more books and a café

The lower level of the villa is home to the Kohlhaas & Company book shop offering a select range of current literature and classical works to assuage your hunger for more reading. If it's your stomach that's hungry, then the café-restaurant Wintergarten will take care of your needs. In summer, they also serve the tables in the front yard of the villa. An idyllic spot, right around the corner from the hustle and bustle on Kurfürstendamm.

Information for school groups

School groups are invited to book guided tours of the temporary exhibitions at the Literaturhaus (advance booking only, please). The current events schedule with its numerous readings can be found on the Literaturhaus website. Students receive reduced admission to all Literaturhaus events.

Book your ticket

Find further information here

Direkt zum Inhalt

Literaturhaus Berlin

Ein schöner Ort für schöne Literatur

Die prachtvolle Villa nahe dem Kurfürstendamm ist der perfekte Rahmen für schöne Worte. Hier finden im Kaminzimmer Lesungen und Veranstaltungen rund um das Buch statt.

Tickets

Eine Oase der Ruhe mitten in der Stadt. Das Literaturhaus in der Gründerzeitvilla gehört zu Berlins wichtigsten und auch schönsten Orten für Literatur.
Im Kaminzimmer der denkmalgeschützten Villa finden jedes Jahr unzählige literarische Veranstaltungen statt, von Lesungen über Symposien bis hin zu Schreibwerkstätten. Dabei ist vor allem die Vielfalt beeindruckend. Im Literaturhaus Berlin werden Gedichte, poetische Texte, erzählende Prosa und Romane genauso gelesen wie Essays, Tagebücher und Briefe, Sachbücher und wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen. Zudem sind viele der vorgetragenen Texte eigens auf Anregung des Literaturhauses geschrieben worden.

Eine wechselhafte Vergangenheit

Die Villa hat schon einiges gesehen: 1889 erbaut, war sie zuerst Wohnhaus, dann Reservelazarett im Ersten Weltkrieg. Sie war Volksküche, ein Ort für ausländische Studierende, Café, Bordell und Diskothek. Seit 1986 ist der herrschaftliche Gründerzeitpalast ein Museum der hohen Literatur: das Literaturhaus Berlin.

Noch mehr Bücher – und ein Café

Im Souterrain des Hauses gibt es die Buchhandlung Kohlhaas & Company: Ein ausgesuchtes Sortiment an aktueller Literatur und klassischen Werken stillt akuten Lesehunger. Für hungrige Mägen sorgt das Café-Restaurant Wintergarten im Literaturhaus. Im Sommer sind dann auch die Tische im Vorgarten eingedeckt. Ein idyllischer Ort – direkt um die Ecke vom Trubel auf dem Kurfürstendamm.

Infos für Schulklassen

Zu den wechselnden Ausstellungen des Literaturhauses werden für Schulklassen Führungen angeboten, die im Vorfeld gebucht werden müssen. Das aktuelle Veranstaltungsprogramm mit zahlreichen Lesungen kann der Internetseite des Literaturhauses entnommen werden. Schüler erhalten im Literaturhaus zu allen Veranstaltungen ermäßigten Eintritt.

Tickets