Skip to main content

New acquisitions for the collection of the National Gallery

Under the title "Under Construction," the Nationalgalerie is showing new acquisitions for the collection that were made possible in recent years primarily with funds from the Friends of the Nationalgalerie. "Under Construction" focuses on works by artists living in Latin America. In the 20th century, numerous connections were forged between Central and South American artists and art centers in Europe and North America, which continue to have an impact today and offer points of contact with the Nationalgalerie's existing holdings.

Neue Nationalgalerie_außen
Neue Nationalgalerie_außen © mulinarius

On the other hand, the exhibition reflects the close exchange with other Berlin institutions such as the Berlin Biennale for Contemporary Art, whose eleventh edition in 2020 showed numerous works by South American artists. Some of these works, for example by Aline Baiana, Bartolina Xixa or Sandra Gamarra, were acquired for the National Gallery and thus secured for permanent residence in Berlin.

"Under reconstruction" the collection has been since the exhibition and research project "Hello World. Revision einer Sammlung" (2018), which reflected on the political and cultural framework of collecting and pursued an expansion of the Nationalgalerie's holdings to include non-Western art movements and transcultural approaches.

Buy ticket

Direkt zum Inhalt

Neuerwerbungen für die Sammlung der Nationalgalerie

Unter dem Titel „Under Construction“ zeigt die Nationalgalerie Neuerwerbungen für die Sammlung, die in den vergangenen Jahren vorrangig mit Mitteln der Freunde der Nationalgalerie ermöglicht wurden. „Under Construction“ legt den Fokus auf Werke von in Lateinamerika lebenden Künstler*innen. Im 20. Jahrhundert entstanden zahlreiche Verbindungen zwischen mittel- und südamerikanischen Künstler*innen und Kunstzentren in Europa und Nordamerika, die bis heute fortwirken und Anknüpfungspunkte zu vorhandenen Beständen der Nationalgalerie bieten.

Neue Nationalgalerie_außen
Neue Nationalgalerie_außen © mulinarius

Zum anderen spiegelt die Ausstellung den engen Austausch mit anderen Berliner Institutionen wie der Berlin Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst, deren elfte Ausgabe im Jahr 2020 zahlreiche Werke südamerikanischer Künstler*innen zeigte. Einige dieser Arbeiten, etwa von Aline Baiana, Bartolina Xixa oder Sandra Gamarra, konnten für die Nationalgalerie erworben und so für den dauerhaften Verbleib in Berlin gesichert werden.

„Im Umbau“ befindet sich die Sammlung seit dem Ausstellungs- und Forschungsprojekt „Hello World. Revision einer Sammlung“ (2018), das die politischen und kulturellen Rahmenbedingungen des Sammelns reflektierte und eine Erweiterung der Bestände der Nationalgalerie um nicht-westliche Kunstströmungen und transkulturelle Ansätze verfolgte.

Ticket kaufen