Skip to main content

LIVE 2022

Exceptional musician Chris Thile is a member of the Grammy Award-winning bands Nickel Creek and Punch Brothers - he has recorded collaborations with artists such as Yo-Yo Ma, Brad Mehldau and Michael Daves, as well as six albums under his own name.

CHRIS THILE
CHRIS THILE © Josh Goleman

He is undoubtedly one of those musicians who pushes boundaries. Not only because of his impressive technique and the seamlessness with which he jumps between genres. Above all because of his instrument, the mandolin. As limited in sound and range as it may seem, Chris Thile brings even large halls to a boil with it - described by the Guardian as "that rare creature: an all-round musician who can find his way in any style, from bluegrass to classical".

Chris Thile presents his first true solo album with his latest work, "Laysongs." It's just Thile, his voice, his mandolin and the intention to deal with his own spirituality.

"Laysongs" was written in 2020 during the pandemic lockdown in a converted church in upstate New York and is finally hitting the stage live. The centerpiece of the album is the three-part "Salt (in the Wounds) of the Earth," inspired by C.S. Lewis' "The Screwtape Letters," which Thile premiered in 2018 during a composer's residency at Carnegie Hall.

It was the first (and so far only) music he composed for it to be performed alone, which felt like an opportunity to sing some words that shouldn't necessarily be put into a colleague's mouth. And he had no idea that he was only at the beginning of what was to become a solo adventure, professionally and - who knows - philosophically.

Buy ticket

Additional information
Events
Datum
Heimathafen Neukölln

Direkt zum Inhalt

LIVE 2022 / Support: Lau Noah

Der Ausnahmemusiker Chris Thile ist Mitglied der Grammy-ausgezeichneten Bands Nickel Creek und Punch Brothers – er hat Kollaborationen mit Künstlern wie Yo-Yo Ma, Brad Mehldau und Michael Daves sowie sechs Alben unter eigenem Namen aufgenommen.

CHRIS THILE
CHRIS THILE © Josh Goleman

Er gehört zweifellos zu den Musikern, die Grenzen sprengen. Nicht nur wegen seiner beeindruckenden Technik und der Nahtlosigkeit, mit der er zwischen Genres hin und her springt. Vor allem wegen seines Instruments, der Mandoline. So beschränkt in Klang und Umfang es erscheinen mag: Chris Thile bringt damit auch große Säle zum Kochen – vom Guardian als »das seltene Wesen: ein Allround-Musiker, der sich in jedem Stil, von Bluegrass bis Klassik, zurechtfindet« bezeichnet.

Chris Thile präsentiert mit seinem aktuellen Werk »Laysongs« sein erstes echtes Soloalbum. Nur Thile, seine Stimme, seine Mandoline und das Vorhaben, sich mit der eigenen Spiritualität auseinanderzusetzen.

»Laysongs« entstand 2020 während des Lockdowns in der Pandemie in einer umgebauten Kirche im Bundesstaat New York und kommt nun endlich live auf die Bühne. Das Herzstück des Albums ist das dreiteilige »Salt (in the Wounds) of the Earth«, das von C.S. Lewis‘ »The Screwtape Letters« inspiriert wurde und Thile 2018 während einer Composer’s Residency in der Carnegie Hall uraufgeführt hat.

Es war die erste (und bisher einzige) Musik, die er dafür komponiert hat, um sie allein aufzuführen, was sich wie eine Gelegenheit anfühlte, einige Worte zu singen, die man nicht unbedingt einem Kollegen in den Mund legen sollte. Und er ahnte nicht, dass er erst am Anfang dessen stand, was sich zu einem solistischen Abenteuer entwickeln sollte, beruflich und – wer weiß – auch philosophisch.

Ticket kaufen

Zusätzliche Informationen
Termine
Datum
Heimathafen Neukölln