Skip to main content
Theatre group Gorillas in Berlin
Theatre group Gorillas © Iris Janke

Die Gorillas - Improvisationstheater Berlin

Audience-driven theatre

Be creative and determine what happens on stage. The Gorillas offer fast-paced improvisational theatre driven by audience demand.

Tickets

Playing without a playbook. The Gorillas create their pieces in the moment in response to audience suggestions and demands. Improvisational theatre at its best, always new, always spontaneous. A fast-paced spectacle of scenes, songs, and stories where the audience decides what happens next.

The Gorillas: a success story

The high art of improv is what drives the Berlin theatre ensemble The Gorillas. Ten actors and two musicians joined forces in 1997 and have since delighted their audiences with spontaneous shows that are devised with the help of the audience at every performance.

The repertoire

Over the years, the Gorillas have developed other formats in addition to the classic improv. Saturdays is cucumber or banana in the Ratibor-Theater. In this cult show, three directors put their actors in head-to-head competition. In The Big 7 , audiences mercilessly pick favourites from the various characters during the first act and then they become the protagonists of an epic stage event in the second act. And in the improv show Ick & Berlin , the audience determines what happens with its answers to such questions as Berlin's nicest U-Bahn station, favourite neighbourhood, or Berlin clichés.
Every spring, improv artists come from all over the world to Berlin for the IMPRO festival. The first German improv championships were held in autumn 2009. Numerous projects of the troupe go beyond the normal stage programme, including an improv school with individual or group seminars and various courses. The improvisational theatre of the Gorillas can be experienced regularly on various stages across the city. The ensemble's main stage is the Ratibor-Theater in Kreuzberg.

Information for school groups

For elementary and secondary school students, the Gorillas offer special shows for students that are adapted to their respective age levels. Acting exercises can also be arranged with members of the ensemble.

Tickets

Direkt zum Inhalt
Die Gorillas
Improtheater Gorillas Iris Janke

Die Gorillas - Improvisationstheater Berlin

Theater auf Zuruf

Werden Sie zum Ideengeber und bestimmen Sie die Handlung des Stückes. Die Gorillas bieten temporeiches Improvisationstheater auf Zuruf des Publikums.

Tickets

Spielen ohne Textbuch. Die Stücke der Gorillas entstehen im Moment, auf Zuruf der Zuschauer. So entwickelt sich ihr Theater immer spontan, immer wieder neu: Improvisationstheater vom Feinsten. Ein temporeiches Spektakel aus Szenen, Liedern und Geschichten, bei dem die Zuschauer zum Mitbestimmer werden.

Die Gorillas – eine Erfolgsgeschichte

Die hohe Kunst des Improvisierens beherrscht das Berliner Theaterensemble Die Gorillas schon lange. Zehn Schauspieler und zwei Musiker haben sich 1997 zusammengeschlossen und begeistern seither das Publikum in unveränderter Besetzung mit ihren spontanen Shows, die sich mit Hilfe des Publikums bei jeder Aufführung neu entwickeln.

Das Repertoire

Im Laufe der Jahre entwickelten Die Gorillas neben dem klassischen Theatersport weitere abendfüllende Formate. Samstags heißt es im Ratibor-Theater Gurke oder Banane. Bei dieser Kult-Show lassen drei Regisseure ihre Schauspieler im Wettstreit spielen und singen. In Das große 7 dürfen die Zuschauer in der ersten Programmhälfte aus verschiedenen Protagonisten, die in der zweiten Hälfte die Hauptrolle eines großen Bühnenepos übernehmen werden, gnadenlos ihren Favoriten aussieben. Und in der Improshow Ick & Berlin bestimmt das Publikum mit Vorschlägen wie Berlins schönste U-Bahn-Station, Lieblingskiez oder Berlin-Klischee das Geschehen auf der Bühne.
Jedes Jahr im Frühjahr kommen in Berlin zum Festival IMPRO Improvisationstheater aus der ganzen Welt zusammen. Im Herbst 2009 fand erstmalig auch eine Deutsche Impro-Meisterschaft statt. Zahlreiche Projekte der Truppe gehen über das normale Bühnenprogramm hinaus, darunter eine Impro-Schule mit Einzel- oder Gruppenseminaren und verschiedenen Kursangeboten. Das Improvisationstheater der Gorillas ist regelmäßig auf verschiedenen Bühnen zu erleben. Hauptsächlich tritt das Ensemble im Ratibor-Theater in Berlin-Kreuzberg auf.

Infos für Schulklassen

Für Grundschüler und Schüler der Sekundarstufen I und II bieten die Gorillas extra Schülershows an, die auf die jeweiligen Jahrgänge angepasst werden. Möglich sind auch im Anschluss Gespräche mit den Schauspielern mit theaterpädagogischen Übungen.

Tickets