Skip to main content
Tree "Dicke Marie" in Tegel Forest
Tree "Dicke Marie" © BA Reinickendorf

We keep you informed during the Corona crises:

 

About the current situation in Berlin

 

Guidelines in view of the corona epidemic in Germany

 

On our emergency page you will find all important information and updates on the current situation in Berlin. We have compiled the addresses and telephone numbers of embassies, consulates, train stations, airports and hospitals for you.

EMERGENCY SITE

Our Service Center can provide you with more information

+49 (0) 30 25 00 25

Dicke Marie

A distinguished presence

In Tegel Forest there is a huge oak tree called Dicke Marie. It’s the oldest tree in Berlin and is even older than the city itself.

Dicke Marie – fat Mary – was once the nickname of a cook, but today, it’s the name of Berlin’s oldest living resident. Nobody knows exactly how old Dicke Marie is – and no-one can ask her either. She is thought to be between 800 and 900 years old. If you still haven’t guessed: Dicke Marie is the oldest tree in the Berlin – older than the city itself.

A fabled past

In 1237 Dicke Marie was already watching as the mediaeval town grew up nearby. Later she saw robber barons and kings riding through the woods by Lake Tegel where she lived then and still does today. Many trees have grown up around her to keep her company. The famous poet Johann Wolfgang von Goethe is said to have paid her a visit when passing through. It was only later that the pedunculate oak (Quercus robur) was given the name “Dicke Marie” by two young boys.

How Dicke Marie got her name

Those two boys were none other than Wilhelm and Alexander von Humboldt, who grew up in the palace known as Schloss Tegel, where their tutors taught them statistics, economics, natural law and philosophy. To amuse themselves, they would sometimes wander through the woods, always looking for new adventures. Once, they came across the huge oak tree. legend has it that the boys were amazed by the tree and it reminded them of their cook. From then on, they called it “Dicke Marie” after their sturdily built cook.

Tegel Forest: a popular day-trip destination

From the harbour bridge in Tegel it’s only a few minutes’ walk to Dicke Marie, who is waiting for you in Tegel Forest. When you visit the castle or take a steamer trip, it’s well worth taking time to see the famous oak. The 26-metre-tall tree has an aura of calm and wisdom. If you want to enjoy the countryside even more, you can also visit the nearby Humboldt Oak.

Direkt zum Inhalt
Die Dicke Marie
Baum "Dicke Marie" BA Reinickendorf

Dicke Marie

Voller Anmut steht sie da

Im Tegeler Forst steht eine riesige Eiche – das ist die Dicke Marie. Sie ist der älteste Baum Berlins und sogar noch viel älter als die Stadt selbst.

“Dicke Marie” – so wurde einst eine Köchin gerufen. Heute ist die älteste lebende Bewohnerin Berlins nach ihr bekannt. Das genaue Alter der Dicken Marie ist ungewiss – befragt kann sie dazu aber auch nicht mehr werden. Ihr Alter wird auf 800 bis 900 Jahre geschätzt. Wenn Sie jetzt nur noch Fragezeichen im Kopf haben: die Dicke Marie ist der älteste Baum der Stadt. Älter als die Stadt selbst.

Sagenumwobene Vergangenheit

1237 beobachtet die Dicke Marie schon das Treiben der wachsenden, mittelalterlichen Stadt. Später sieht sie Raubritter und Könige durch die Große Malche reiten. Das Gebiet um den Tegeler See ist die Heimat der Dicken Marie. Es sind viele Bäume um sie herum gewachsen. Einsam ist sie heute nicht mehr. Der bekannte Dichter Johann Wolfgang von Goethe soll ihr bei seiner Durchreise einen Besuch abgestattet haben. Erst später wird die Stiehleiche (lat. Quercus robur) von zwei Burschen auf den Namen „Dicke Marie“ getauft.

Die Namenstaufe der Dicken Marie

Diese zwei Burschen sind keine geringeren als Wilhelm und Alexander von Humboldt. Sie wachsen im Tegeler Schloss auf. Auf ihrem privaten Stundenplan stehen Statistik, Nationalökonomie, Naturrecht und Philosophie. Zur Abwechslung streifen sie gelegentlich durch die Wälder. Immer auf der Suche nach neuen Abenteuern. Dabei kommen sie auch an der riesigen Eiche vorbei. Der Legende nach versetzt der Baum die beiden Jungen in Staunen und erinnert sie an ihre Schlossköchin. Fortan nennen sie die Eiche „Dicke Marie“ wie ihre kräftig gebaute Köchin.

Tegeler Forst: Beliebtes Ausflugsgebiet

Von der Tegeler Hafenbrücke sind es wenige Gehminuten bis zur Dicken Marie, die im Tegeler Forst auf Ihren Besuch wartet. Im Anschluss an den Schlossbesuch oder einer Dampferfahrt auf dem Tegeler See lohnt sich der Abstecher zur berühmten Eiche. Der 26 Meter hohe Baum strahlt voller Ruhe und Weisheit. Wer in den weiteren Genuss der Natur kommen möchte, der kann ebenfalls die nahegelegene Humboldteiche besuchen.