Skip to main content

We keep you informed during the Corona crises:

 

About the current situation in Berlin

 

Guidelines in view of the corona epidemic in Germany

 

On our emergency page you will find all important information and updates on the current situation in Berlin. We have compiled the addresses and telephone numbers of embassies, consulates, train stations, airports and hospitals for you.

EMERGENCY SITE

Our Service Center can provide you with more information

+49 (0) 30 25 00 25

Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin

Always in time: a world-class orchestra

Classical music at its finest, casual concerts and New Year’s Eve at the circus – the Deutsches Symphonie Orchester is always good for a surprise.

Tickets

The final chord slowly fades away, for a moment the baton stays up, and then wild applause breaks out. The concert is over but the memory of a remarkable evening will remain. That’s when you know you’ve heard the Deutsches Symphonie Orchester in concert.

An award-winning orchestra

Taylor Swift has one, and so does Lady Gaga – but so too does the DSO Berlin: a Grammy, the most important prize in the music industry. The orchestra won the coveted award in 2011 with Kaija Saariaho’s L'Amour De Loin as the best opera recording. Along with the Berlin Philharmonic, the DSO is one of the most important orchestras not only in Berlin but in the whole of Germany, and is considered to be one of the best in the world.

Always in time

Originally, the DSO was a radio orchestra. It was founded in 1946 as the RIAS Symphony Orchestra, and changed its name several times. The DSO got its current name in 1993, and the orchestra has had many well-known conductors, including:

  • Ferenc Fricsay
  • Lorin Maazel
  • Riccardo Chailly
  • Vladimir Ashkenazy
  • Kent Nagano

Ingo Metzmacher resigned as conductor in 2010 in protest against budget cuts. The podium was then vacant until Tugan Sokhiev was appointed in 2012. He went to Moscow in 2017 as principal conductor of the Bolshoi orchestra, and Robin Ticciati, the rising star among young conductors, picked up the baton.The DSO specialises in the classical music repertoire and modern music of the 20th century. And its programme and concert series consistently prove that classical music is never boring.

The Philharmonie rocks: Casual Concerts

It doesn’t always have to be formal - the Casual Concerts are a series of hour-long concerts without designated seat tickets, with a relaxed compère and a casual dress code. The relaxed fun continues in the Casual Concert Lounge, where you can dance to music from DJs and live acts in the foyer of the Philharmonie.

Small is beautiful: the Adamello Quartet

The Adamello Quartet for chamber music was founded by musicians from the DSO and the Mahler Chamber Orchestra to play pieces from the classical romantic repertoire as well as contemporary and little-known works.

Ready for the circus: New Year’s Eve concert     

Every New Year’s Eve the DSO performs concerts at the Tempodrom with artists from the Circus Roncalli. Originally, the idea was only an emergency solution when the Tempodrom was accidentally double-booked in 2003. But the combination of acrobatics and circus skills with classical music and orchestral sounds was a sensation, and ever since then the circus concert has been one of the highlights of New Year’s Eve in Berlin.

Classical for children: Kulturradio children’s concerts with open house

 At the children’s concerts, youngsters not only listen to a special concert, but beforehand at the Open House they can get to know the orchestra world in a fun way by trying out musical instruments and having make-up put on.

Information for schools

Depending on availability, school classes who book in advance receive concert tickets at five euros each, and a special opportunity to sit with the musicians during an orchestra rehearsal. Teachers should contact the visitor service of the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchestra at musikvermittlung@dso-berlin.de.

Tickets

Direkt zum Inhalt

Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin

Immer im Takt: Ein Orchester von Weltrang

Klassik vom Feinsten, lässige Konzerte und Silvesterauftritte in der Manege: Das Deutsche Symphonie Orchester ist immer für eine Überraschung gut.

Tickets

Der letzte Ton verklingt langsam, einen Moment noch verharrt der Taktstock in der Luft, dann bricht tosender Beifall aus. Das Konzert ist vorüber, die Erinnerung an einen großartigen Gänsehaut-Abend wird bleiben, wenn das Deutsche Symphonie Orchester eines seiner Konzerte gegeben hat.

Ein ausgezeichnetes Orchester

Taylor Swift hat ihn, Lady Gaga ebenso – aber auch das Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin: einen Grammy, den bedeutendsten Preis der Musikbranche. Gewonnen hat das Orchester die begehrte Auszeichnung 2011 mit Kaija Saariaho: L'Amour De Loin als beste Operneinspielung. Neben den Berliner Philharmonikern zählt das Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, kurz DSO genannt, zu Berlins, ja Deutschlands wichtigsten Orchestern und spielt auch international in der 1. Liga.

Immer im Takt

Ursprünglich war das DSO ein Radio-Orchester. 1946 wurde es als RIAS-Symphonie-Orchester gegründet, wechselte mehrmals seinen Namen. Seinen heutigen Namen erhielt das DSO 1993. Bedeutende Dirigenten haben das Orchester geleitet:

  • Ferenc Fricsay
  • Lorin Maazel
  • Riccardo Chailly
  • Vladimir Ashkenazy
  • Kent Nagano.

Ingo Metzmacher warf 2010 aus Protest gegen Etatkürzungen den Taktstock in die Ecke. Danach war das Pult verwaist, bis Tugan Sokhiev ab 2012 das Orchester leitete.  2017 geht er als Chefdirigent des Bolschoi-Orchesters nach Moskau. Der Shootingstar unter den jungen Dirigenten Robin Ticciati übernimmt den Taktstock. Das DSO ist spezialisiert auf das klassische Musikrepertoire und auf moderne Musik des 20. Jahrhunderts. Und mit ihrem Programm und Konzertreihen beweisen sie immer wieder, dass Klassik nicht langweilig ist.

Rockt die Philharmonie: Casual Concerts

Es geht auch lässig: In der Konzertreihe Casual Concerts gibt es eine Stunde lang ein Konzert ohne feste Platzkarten, mit lockerer Moderation – und natürlich mit casual Dresscode. Anschließend geht es lässig in der Casual Concert Lounge weiter. Zu Musik von DJS und Live Acts tanzen die Konzertbesucher im Foyer der Philharmonie.

Klein aber fein: Das Adamello Quartett

Musiker des DSO und des Mahler Chamber Orchestra gründeten das Adamello Quartett für Kammermusik. Sie spielen Stücke aus dem klassisch-romantischen Repertoire aber auch zeitgenössische und unbekannte Werke.

Reif für den Zirkus: Silvesterkonzert     

Jedes Jahr zu Silvester gibt es Konzerte im Tempodrom gemeinsam mit Artisten des Circus Roncalli. Eigentlich war die Idee nur eine Notlösung, da das Tempodrom 2003 versehentlich doppelt gebucht worden war. Doch dann wurde die Kombination aus Akrobatik und Klassik, aus Zirkuskunst und Orchesterklang zur Sensation. Und seitdem ist das Circus-Konzert eines der großen Highlights in der Berliner Silvesternacht.

Klassik für Kinder: Kulturradio-Kinderkonzerte mit Open House

Bei den Kinderkonzerten lauschen die Kinder nicht nur einem für sie geeigneten Konzert, sondern können zuvor im Open House Musikinstrumente ausprobieren, singen, sich schminken lassen und so spielerisch die Orchesterwelt kennen lernen.

Infos für Schulklassen

Je nach Verfügbarkeit erhalten Schulklassen nach entsprechender Terminabsprache Konzertkarten zu je fünf Euro bzw. die besondere Gelegenheit, während einer Orchesterprobe unmittelbar zwischen oder hinter den Musikern zu sitzen. Interessierte Lehrer wenden sich an den Besucherservice des Deutschen Symphonie-Orchesters unter musikvermittlung@dso-berlin.de.

Tickets