Skip to main content

ACUD

It all started with an empty house

ACUD on Veteranenstraße in Berlin's Mitte district is the last surviving culture centre dating back to the heady years after the fall of the Wall. With its cinemas, café, art gallery, and several studios, there's always something going on at ACUD.

Tickets

Rescued after turbulent times and financial ruin, ACUD in Berlin's Mitte district is the last major artistic and cultural centre to survive from the early years after reunification. It houses two cinemas and a theatre, a café, an art gallery, and various studios. If you're in Mitte, you should definitely check it out. The club is also open at night and there's always something happening in ACUD.

Founded when the opportunities seemed limitless

In 1990, the year that saw the demise of the German Democratic Republic and subsequent reunification of the two German states, Galerie ACUD was launched in abandoned apartments located on Rykestraße in the East Berlin district of Prenzlauer Berg. The name ACUD comes from the first letters of the names of the four founding members. But the space quickly became too small and, in 1991, they accepted a unique opportunity to take over the empty house at Veteranenstraße 21, where the ACUD alternative art house soon became known beyond Berlin.

After renovations were completed in 2004, ACUD gradually expanded its offerings, adding a cinema, a club, a café, and gallery spaces. In 2006, a second cinema, the theatre, and the cantina opened.

Rescue in a time of need

After 20 years of rich and varied cultural work, ACUD ran into financial difficulties. The house was at risk of being sold at auction and was only just barely rescued in 2014 by a group of Berlin artists to continue serving as a venue for the arts and other events for the long term.

The ACUD MACHT NEU project, supported by Musicboard Berlin, is a joint effort by musicians, artists, curators, event organisers and residents to revive ACUD and preserve one of the few remaining free cultural spaces in Berlin's Mitte district.

The return of ACUD

The house now has a stage, a gallery, cinemas, a club and concert room, plus a large rehearsal room, a bar and numerous studios. ACUD offers spaces for music, film and performance, exhibitions, lectures, and workshops and stands open to the international and local public.

Tickets

Direkt zum Inhalt

ACUD

Alles begann mit einem leeren Haus

Das ACUD in der Veteranenstraße in Berlin-Mitte ist das letzte große Kulturhaus der Wendezeit. Mit seinen Kinos, dem Café und der Kunstgalerie mit mehreren Ateliers gibt es im ACUD immer etwas zu erleben.

Tickets

Nach turbulenten Zeiten und aus finanzieller Schieflage gerettet, ist das ACUD in Berlin-Mitte das letzte große Kunst- und Kulturhaus der Wendezeit. Es beherbergt zwei Kinos und ein Theater, ein Café, eine Kunstgalerie und verschiedene Ateliers. Wenn Sie in Berlin-Mitte sind, schauen Sie doch vorbei. Abends ist auch der Club geöffnet. Es ist immer etwas los im ACUD.

Entstanden im Jahr der unbegrenzten Möglichkeiten

Im Wendejahr 1990 wurde in leer stehenden Wohnungen im Prenzlauer Berg in der Rykestraße die Galerie ACUD von Künstlern und Freunden der Kunst ins Leben gerufen. Die vier Anfangsbuchstaben der Gründungsmitglieder sind dem alternativen Kunstverein ACUD erhalten geblieben. Schnell wurde der Raum zu klein. Nach Gesprächen mit der Wohnungsbaugesellschaft Mitte und dem Bezirksamt bot sich 1991 die einmalige Gelegenheit das leer stehende Haus in der Veteranenstraße zu übernehmen. Hier wurde das alternative Kunsthaus ACUD bald über Berlin hinaus bekannt.

Nach Sanierungsarbeiten erweiterte das ACUD 2004 nach und nach seine Veranstaltungsbereiche – ein Kino, ein Club, ein Café und Galerieräume kamen hinzu. 2006 wurde das zweite Kino, das Theater und die Kantina eröffnet.

Rettung in Not

Nach 20 Jahren erfolgreicher und vielfältiger Kulturarbeit geriet das ACUD in finanzielle Schieflage. Das vor der Zwangsversteigerung stehende Kunsthaus konnte erst 2014 durch eine Initiative von Berliner Künstlern gerettet und langfristig als Kunst- und Veranstaltungshaus gesichert werden.

Mit dem vom Musicboard Berlin geförderten Initialisierungsprojekt ACUD MACHT NEU wollen Musiker, Künstler, Kuratoren, Veranstalter und Anwohner das ACUD zu neuem Leben erwecken und einen der wenigen verbliebenen kulturellen Freiräume in Berlin-Mitte bewahren.

Das ACUD ist zurück

Im Haus befinden sich heute wieder ein Theater, eine Galerie, Kinos, ein Club- und Konzertraum, dazu ein großer Proberaum, eine Bar und zahlreiche Ateliers. Das ACUD bietet Räume für Musik, Film und Performance, Ausstellungen, Lesungen, und Workshops und soll ein offenes Haus für ein internationales aber auch lokales Publikum sein.

Tickets