Skip to main content
Young woman uses street art highlight of the ABOUT BERLIN app.
Young woman uses street art highlight of the ABOUT BERLIN app. © Foto: placeit

ABOUT BERLIN App

The digital city guide with focus on Berlin history

Our story app ABOUT BERLIN brings Berlin history to life. Use the map function to find historical places near you and experience history and stories wherever you happen to be in the city. You also have the option to plan your own individual city tour in advance. 

On ABOUT BERLIN you will find exciting stories and background information on over 250 selected places. Audiobooks and other multimedia elements bring historical moments to life on your personal discovery tour of Berlin. 

Download your digital city guide for free now:

Use our App to explore Berlin on site or discover the capital virtually: ABOUT BERLIN is your personal city guide with lots of insider information!

In the Google Play Store now: Download ABOUT BERLIN In the App Store now: Download ABOUT BERLIN

 

Explore the future through history with ABOUT BERLIN

All stories have been selected by historians or journalists and prepared in such a way that both Berlin beginners and Berlin experts will find interesting suggestions. In addition to the individual stories, you'll find tour suggestions and thematically bundled highlights that provide insights into various time periods and topics, including the Roaring Twenties, the end of the war, the fall of the Berlin Wall and much more.

The time span ranges from 1871 to the future. Learn background information about well-known historical sights such as the Brandenburg Gate or the Reichstag and discover lesser-known sites such as the Kaulsdorf Rectory, the Ice Cellar in Spandau or the Artpark Tegel.

ABOUT BERLIN is your personal city guide for your pocket, full of exciting content and moving stories that also illuminate the unknown sides of politics, society and history from Berlin's turbulent history: Oppression and revolution, idealism and pleasure-seeking, innovation and decay, imprisonment and freedom.

Download now for free for iPhone and Android:

There's many stories to tell. ABOUT BERLIN.

 

How to use the ABOUT BERLIN App

Download the ABOUT BERLIN app to your smartphone for free. You decide which functions of the app you want to use, such as offline maps and location data. The start screen presents a special highlight at the top. Just below that, we make thematic tour suggestions. You can put together your own individual tour using the icon at the top right. If you scroll down further on the start screen, you can search for individual locations. Using the map function, you can quickly discover the historically significant places in your vicinity. 

Vorschaubild
Recommended Editorial Content

Recommended Editorial Content

I agree to have content from YouTube displayed to me. Details can be found in our privacy policy.

“Load content” loads the content once. “Automatically load content for 14 days” automatically loads YouTube content for the next 14 days; a cookie is set for this purpose.

Good reasons to download the app

  • STREET ART HIGHLIGHT - discover the most beautiful murals and wall paintings of the city.
  • FREE - Download the app now for free and get more than 200 stories about Berlin's moving history
  • OFFLINE ACCESS - You can also use images and maps completely without an Internet connection once you have installed the data on your phone.
  • TOUR SUGGESTIONS - Thematic tours take you on a journey through Berlin's history. 
  • YOUR FAVOURITES - Create your own list of Berlin tips that you would like to discover in Berlin and put together your own individual tours.
  • MULTIMEDIA CONTENT - Many stories also come as audio books and with further multimedia experiences
  • NEW CONTENT - We regularly update your digital city guide with new stories and multimedia content - so you can always discover new sides of the capital. 

New: Street Art Highlight

URBAN NATION Museum: ONE WALL project on the façade by Dave the Chimp and Friends
URBAN NATION Museum: ONE WALL project on the façade by Dave the Chimp and Friends © Foto: Nika Kramer

Discover the whole city as a gigantic open air gallery. In our highlight about street art we portrait artists and show you the most beautiful murals in the city. Learn more about the history of the urban art scene, starting with the "heads" of Thierry Noir on the west side of the Berlin Wall to current projects of the URBAN NATION Museum and the Mural Fests that regularly attract internationally known street artists to Berlin.

At the same time, the history of the street art scene is also closely interwoven with developments in the city. Immerse yourself in the history of Berlin and the colorful world of urban art. Discover the most beautiful murals and wall paintings of the city now!

 Discover Street Art in Berlin for free now!

 

There's many stories to tell. ABOUT BERLIN.

Direkt zum Inhalt
Junge Frau nutzt Streetart Highlight der ABOUT BERLIN App.
Junge Frau nutzt Streetart Highlight der ABOUT BERLIN App. © Foto: placeit

ABOUT BERLIN App

Der digitale Stadtführer für Berlin-Geschichte

Unsere Story-App ABOUT BERLIN macht Berlin-Geschichte erlebbar. Finden Sie über die Kartenfunktion historische Orte in Ihrer Nähe und erleben Sie Geschichte und Geschichten, wo auch immer Sie sich gerade in der Stadt befinden. Oder stellen Sie sich vorab Ihre individuelle Stadttour zusammen. 

Auf ABOUT BERLIN finden Sie spannende Stories und Hintergründe zu über 250 ausgewählten Orten. Audiobooks und weitere Multimedia-Elemente machen historische Momente bei Ihrer persönlichen Entdeckungstour durch Berlin lebendig. 

Ihr digitaler Stadtführer: Jetzt kostenlos herunterladen!

Vor Ort in Berlin nutzen oder die Hauptstadt virtuell entdecken: ABOUT BERLIN ist Ihr persönlicher Stadtführer mit vielen Insider-Informationen!

Jetzt im App Store laden: Download ABOUT BERLIN Jetzt im Google Play Store laden: Download ABOUT BERLIN

Gehen Sie mit ABOUT BERLIN auf Zeitreise

Alle Geschichten sind von Historikern oder Journalisten ausgewählt und so aufbereitet, dass sowohl Berlin-Einsteiger als auch Berlin-Experten interessante Anregungen finden. Neben den einzelnen Storys finden Sie Tourenvorschläge und thematisch gebündelte Highlights, die Einblicke in verschiedene Zeitabschnitte und Themengebiete geben, darunter die goldenen Zwanziger, das Kriegsende, den Mauerfall und vieles mehr.

Die Zeitspanne reicht von 1871 bis in die Zukunft. Erfahren Sie Hintergründe zu bekannten historischen Sehenswürdigkeiten wie dem Brandenburger Tor oder dem Reichstag und entdecken Sie unbekanntere Stätten wie das Kaulsdorfer Pfarrhaus, den Eiskeller in Spandau oder den Artpark Tegel.

ABOUT BERLIN ist ihr persönlicher Stadtführer für die Hosentasche, voll mit spannenden Inhalten und bewegenden Geschichten, die auch die unbekannten Seiten von Politik, Gesellschaft und Historie aus Berlins bewegter Geschichte beleuchten: Unterdrückung und Revolution, Idealismus und Vergnügungssucht, Innovation und Verfall, Gefangenschaft und Freiheit.

Jetzt kostenlos fürs iPhone und Android herunterladen:

Es gibt viel zu erzählen. ABOUT BERLIN.

Jetzt im App Store laden: Download ABOUT BERLIN Jetzt im Google Play Store laden: Download ABOUT BERLIN

So funktioniert die ABOUT BERLIN App

Laden Sie sich die ABOUT BERLIN App kostenlos auf ihr Smartphone herunter. Sie entscheiden selbst, welche Funktionen der App. wie etwa Offline-Karten und Standort-Daten nutzen möchten. Auf dem Startbildschirm präsentiert sich oben ein besonderes Highlight. Gleich darunter machen wir Ihnen thematische Tourenvorschläge. Über das Icon oben rechts können Sie ihre individuelle Tour zusammenstellen. Wenn Sie auf dem Startbildschirm weiter nach unten scrollen, können Sie nach einzelnen Orten suchen. Über die Kartenfunktion entdecken Sie schnell die historisch bedeutenden Orte in Ihrer Nähe. 

Vorschaubild
Third-party content

Empfohlener redaktioneller Inhalt

Ich bin damit einverstanden, dass mir Inhalte von YouTube angezeigt werden. Details können unserer Datenschutzerklärung entnommen werden.

„Inhalt laden“ lädt den Inhalt einmalig. "Inhalte für 14 Tage automatisch laden" lädt YouTube-Inhalte für die nächsten 14 Tage automatisch; es wird hierzu ein entsprechender Cookie gesetzt.

 Jetzt kostenlos für iPhone und Android herunterladen:

Jetzt im App Store laden: Download ABOUT BERLIN Jetzt im Google Play Store laden: Download ABOUT BERLIN

Es gibt viel zu erzählen. ABOUT BERLIN.

Gute Gründe für den Download der App 

  • KOSTENLOS – Laden Sie sich die App jetzt kostenlos herunter und erhalten Sie mehr als 200 Storys rund um Berlins bewegte Geschichte.
  • OFFLINE NUTZBAR – Bilder und Karten können Sie auch ohne Internetverbindung vollständig verwenden, nachdem Sie die Daten auf Ihrem Telefon installiert haben.
  • TOURENVORSCHLÄGE – Thematische Touren nehmen Sie mit auf eine Reise durch Berlins Geschichte. 
  • IHRE FAVORITEN – Legen Sie sich Ihre eine eigene Liste von Berlin-Tipps an, die Sie in Berlin entdecken möchten und stellen Sie sich Ihre individuellen Touren zusammen.
  • MULITMEDIALE INHALTE – Viele Geschichten auch als Hörbuch und mit weiteren multimedialen Erlebnissen.
  • NEUE INHALTE - Regelmäßig erstellen wir für Sie neue Inhalte - so können Sie immer wieder neue Seiten der Hauptstadt entdecken. 

Neue Inhalte: Street Art

Urban Nation Museum - Dave the Chimp and Friends
Street Art: Urban Nation Museum - Dave the Chimp and Friends © Foto: Nika Kramer

Neu ist unser Highlight zur Street Art in Berlin. Entdecken Sie die ganze Stadt als gigantische Open Air Galerie. Erfahren Sie mehr zur Entwicklung der Urban Art Szene, angefangen bei den "Köpfen" von Thierry Noir auf der Westseite der Berliner Mauer bis hin zu aktuellen Projekten des URBAN NATION Museums und den Mural Festen, die international bekannte Streetartists nach Berlin locken.

Dabei ist die Geschichte der Street Art-Szene auch eng mit den Entwicklungen in der Stadt verwoben. Tauchen Sie ein in die Geschichte Berlins und die bunte Welt der Urban Art. Entdecken Sie jetzt die schönsten Murals und Wandgemälde der Stadt!

 Jetzt kostenlos Street Art in Berlin entdecken:

Jetzt im App Store laden: Download ABOUT BERLIN Jetzt im Google Play Store laden: Download ABOUT BERLIN

Es gibt viel zu erzählen. ABOUT BERLIN.