Skip to main content

Giuseppe Verdi (1813 – 1901)

It is common knowledge that Giuseppe Verdi, by nature a critical man, not only found much to disapprove of in the trends of his day but also subjected his own work to a continuous process of editing and revision.

Don Carlo
Don Carlo © Ruth Tromboukis

None of his operas did he alter, abridge, rearrange or rewrite more intensely than his grimmest work of all – DON CARLO -, whose web of political, religious and social constraints is most reminiscent of the inescapability of destiny associated with Greek drama.

Verdi began writing the opera in 1865, and twenty years were to pass before the premiere in Milan of the four-act version that we are most familiar with today. The composer not only wrestled with the two languages of the piece, each with its distinctive form of expression. He was also at pains to achieve the best possible result by repeatedly cutting, reducing and rearranging. The opera, extensive sections of which are faithful to Schiller’s play, went through no less than seven versions.

In none of the opera’s characters does the light of reason sparkle. Prisoners of their situations, prisoners of their own reins of control and of their own making, above all prisoners of a deadly, ever-looming spiritual power greater even than secular hegemony… Verdi captures the essential helplessness of human beings entangled in this network of terror: at best, death brings release.

Buy ticket

Additional information
Pre-performance lecture (in German): 45 minutes prior to each performance
Participating artists
James Gaffigan (Musikalische Leitung)
Marco Arturo Marelli (Inszenierung, Bühne, Licht)
Dagmar Niefind (Kostüme)
Jeremy Bines (Chöre)
Alex Esposito (Philipp II.)
Robert Watson (Don Carlo)
Etienne Dupuis (Rodrigo, Marquis von Posa)
Gideon Poppe (Graf von Lerma / Herold)
Albert Pesendorfer (Der Großinquisitor)
Byung Gil Kim (Ein Mönch)
Nicole Car (Elisabeth von Valois)
Yulia Matochkina (Prinzessin Eboli)
Georgina Melville (Tebaldo)
Valeriia Savinskaia (Stimme von oben)
Samueol Park (1. Flandrischer Deputierter)
Simon Pauly (2. Flandrischer Deputierter)
Padraic Rowan (3. Flandrischer Deputierter)
Tyler Zimmerman (4. Flandrischer Deputierter)
Philipp Jekal (5. Flandrischer Deputierter)
Byung Gil Kim (6. Flandrischer Deputierter)
Chor der Deutschen Oper Berlin (Chöre)
Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin (Orchester)
Deutsche Oper Berlin
Deutsche Oper Berlin
Deutsche Oper Berlin
Deutsche Oper Berlin