Skip to main content
The event you were looking for has already taken place. Find many more events, tips and recommendations in Berlin's biggest event calendar on

Part of the concert series Himmelskörper

A horn call from the tower of a medieval town, the rustle of a forest, hunting scenes – Anton Bruckner had such images in mind when he composed his Fourth Symphony, known as the “Romantic”.

In this concert, conductor Daniel Harding will bring out the tonal richness of the symphony.

Before that, we hear the Viola Concerto by Jörg Widmann, which allows soloist Antoine Tamestit not only to explore the dark, warm tone of his viola, but also to demand completely different, surprising sounds from the instrument – percussive, cutting, unsettling.

  • Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Daniel Harding - Conductor
  • Antoine Tamestit - viola
Jörg Widmann
Concerto for Viola and Orchestra
Antoine Tamestit - viola

Anton Bruckner
Symphony No. 4 in E-flat major "Romantic" (2nd version from 1878/80)

Additional information
This event is part of the "Celestial bodies" series to mark the 200th anniversary of Anton Bruckner's birth.

To mark the 200th anniversary of his birth, the Berliner Philharmoniker are dedicating an entire concert cycle to the composer Anton Bruckner, which will extend over two seasons. In addition to his best-known pieces, lesser-performed works will also be presented.

Participating artists
Berliner Philharmoniker
Antoine Tamestit
Daniel Harding