Skip to main content


The Boulez Ensemble and Zubin Mehta close the 2021–22 season with a program contrasting the classicism of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart with the neoclassicism of Igor Stravinsky.

Zubin Mehta
Zubin Mehta © Wilfried Hösl

Known as “Gran Partita,” Mozart’s Serenade for 12 winds and double bass, written in 1781, not only is one of the composer’s most celebrated chamber music works, but also one of his most substantial, with a performance time of approximately 50 minutes. Stravinsky composed The Soldier’s Tale in 1917 for a traveling theater troupe in Switzerland on a text by Charles Ferdinand Ramuz. “To be read, played, and danced,” as the score indicates, the piece tells of a soldier who strikes a deal with the devil.

At the Pierre Boulez Saal, it will be performed in a concert format with an actor taking on the role of narrator.

  • Igor Stravinsky - The Soldier's Tale
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart - Serenade in B-flat major K. 361 (370a) "Gran Partita"

Buy ticket

Additional information
Participating artists
Boulez Ensemble
Zubin Mehta
Pierre Boulez Saal